We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views, amazing place, amazing people...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Maria a Poneta
Elyachin
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing views, amazing place, amazing people...”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We spent a week with Susanne and Ricardo in mid-March and believe it would be hard to find a more relaxing, comfortable and beautiful place to call "home". Their spot is tranquil and extremely well-kept with attention to every detail, including periodic check-ins to ensure we were well taken care of. The location is lovely and very centrally located, enabling easy day-trips. The breath-taking views make it hard to leave the property and for those who love horses... there are plenty to gaze at. Lovely, lovely place. Far better than any hotel!

Room Tip: I think you can safely depend upon Ricardo! Just tell him what you're looking for and he will m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLKagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Would highly recommend. After much searching on the internet we found this lovely apartment located in the middle of the area we wanted to explore. We enjoyed returning to the apartment each evening, having a relax and swim by the pool, then dinner. We stayed for 8 nights which was plenty of time to discover the region. We rented the Vico apartment as it was available and we only needed one bedroom. There is a bed in the gallery but it would probably be quite hot in July/August. The apartment was well equipped with a stove top and oven, though no microwave. When we arrived there wasn't a kettle (a must for the tea drinking English) but Riccardo provided one by the next day. There is a washing machine in a laundry room attached to the main house and a free standing air dryer in the apartment, also a hairdryer provided (one less thing to pack). The patio area is close to the pool but a high bay hedge provides privacy. The patio doors can be closed or left open. Good to have the option as there were a few mosquitoes around in the evening. There is a large grocery store about 10 minutes drive away in Poggibonsi, with a large fresh fruit and vegetable area, bakery and deli, everything you could want. On arriving Riccardo gave us an information sheet with suggested local restaurants, shops and sites so it was easy to find our way round. We visited St. Gimignano and Sienna (30 minutes drive away), Florence (40 minutes) and Pisa & Lucca ((90 mins). We flew into Pisa and rented a car, which worked out well. We were glad we brought our SatNav with us though, that took a lot of stress out of driving, particularly in Florence. If a self catering rental in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, with a pool, is what you're looking for you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granitemangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

S.M. a POneta è veramente un posto bellissimo. Già quando si apre il cancello che dà accesso all aproprietà, e si entra nel lungo viale delimitato dai cipressi, in fondo si scorgono le torri di San Gimignano, nei pascoli i cavalli tranquilli e sereni... il cuore riposa.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SilviaFCMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. I don't even know where to begin. The property is perfect. Absolutely no complaints. We (2 adults and a 1 year old) stayed in the Barberino apartment and it was everything we hoped it would be. Very spacious, great patio, wonderful furnishings, etc. This apartment was great for us, but could easily fit a larger family or another couple comfortably. The hosts, Riccardo and Suzanne, were wonderful and helped with anything we needed while staying with them. They had a baby crib and high chair available for our daughter so we didn't have to travel with them, which was a huge help. We also had the chance to visit their other property, Il Paganello, for a wine tasting with Riccardo and it too was a perfect Tuscan setting. Riccardo's wines are wonderful and shipped some back with us to enjoy back at home. The location is central to almost all the Tuscan highlights so you can easily travel all over.

I only wish we could have stayed longer. We'll have to return soon and stay at Il Paganello next time so we can compare.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nads1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2011

WOW!!! If you are looking for a Tuscany experience and hospitality that is top of the line than this is the place. Riccardo and Suzanne go out of there way to ensure you trip to Tuscany is all you want it to be. We asked for help with private cooking lessons, tours of historic wine cellars as well as state of the art wine production and they delivered everything we asked for. Everything I imagined and hoped for. Our apartment was a dream. The grounds are beautiful and the area is so charming. You are within 30 minutes of some of the most popular places to visit in Tuscany. San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena and Firenza are all within an hour drive. Riccardo is very knowledgable about the historic sites and whatever we wanted he had solutions. What a wonderful place. I only wish we could have stayed longer. By all means, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmilsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debsferguson
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The property was really fantastic. We are a family with an 18 month baby, he adored playing in the garden, playing in the pool, and visiting the horses every morning. We didn't even need to head out to explore to have a great time with him!

The apartment was lovely (we stayed in the Vico apartment). Perfect for a couple with a baby.

Our only real complaint is that we had specifically enquired about WIFI access as we both need to work while we travel, and WIFI is crucial for us. We were assured that all apartments have WIFI. However, when we arrived, we were told that in fact our apartment did not get WIFI, but that you had to sit out by the pool or on the terrace of one of the apartments in the main house, so there was a direct line of sight to the antenna.

This was unacceptable to us as we had to be near our son, and you cannot work effectively out by the pool (in the cold and the rain on some nights), as there is no power supply.

Riccardo did his best to try to find an alternate solution for us, running a cable from the main house, through our window and into our apartment. However, we then had cables running all around the apartment (dangerous for the baby to pull and trip over) and we could still only get one computer at a time to hook up to internet as it was a land connection and not Wifi. Which meant that only one of us could work at a time, and we had to take turns. it made for an extremely stressful holiday, as we ended up having to work until the middle of the night most nights because we had to share the computer.

We would not have booked this apartment if they had been up front with us on the Wifi limitations.

Otherwise, if Wifi access is not of great importance to you... then I'd highly recommend Santa Maria a Poneta.

One other note to any families with young children... beside the main house is a children's playhouse. My son happily went inside to play, and instantly a nest of wasps from inside the playhouse swarmed him. I had to dive in and pull him out. He was uninjured, but I was stung. PLEASE don't let this happen to you. It could have been disastrous. The playhouse is not kept up, don't let your children play near it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricbord, Owner at Santa Maria a Poneta, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Deborah
thank you for your review, and your good words about our property.
Unfortunately, as you know, we had a bad storm which damage all our wi-fy sistem.
We try to do our best for guarantee to you the use of internet access, even if it was not a wi-fi access.
We have a daily care of the pool area and of the big gardens but in the countryside it is quite normal to have some animals, especially in the summertime.
If there are some problems, we prefer our guests make direct complaints because we can try to solve them. As you know we have a very helpfull staff.
Hoping to guest you again, we will do our best for guarantee to you a good stay, as we do for all our guests.
best regards
Riccardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at the Santa Maria a Poneta for a week in August. We had the San'Appiano appartment that is just perfect for a couple. A nice and well maintained little appartment with a nice bedroom, a small sitting room, a well appointed kitchenette and a bathroom. Everything clean and welcoming. The only small negative point is that there is only a small fridge with no freezer making it impossible to keep frozen food or ice-cream.
When at the house, we took all our meals in the very pleasant veranda. Nothing better than breakfast in the veranda on a sunny morning.
The pool was very pleasant and never crowded and was like a magnet after returning from a visit in beautiful (and hot) Tuscany.
Santa Maria a Poneta is very central and we visited Florence, Sienna, Pisa, San Gimignano, Volterra and many other places while staying.
Riccardo and Susanna the owners are leaving on the grounds and are just perfect hosts, discreet, helpful and very sympathetic.
Santa Maria a Poneta is a beautiful place that can definitely be recommended :-).
Thanks again to Riccardo and Susanna.

Raoul and Pascale

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.4 mi away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quercia al Poggio
Quercia al Poggio
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fattoria Sant'Appiano
Fattoria Sant'Appiano
#7 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fattoria Casa Sola
Fattoria Casa Sola
#6 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Borgo Poneta
Borgo Poneta
#12 of 32 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria a Poneta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria a Poneta

Property: Santa Maria a Poneta
Address: Strada di Poneta 50/a, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Santa Maria a Poneta, rental holiday apartments in Tuscany facing Sangimignano. Traditional farmhouse with trained horses & pool, for a relaxing vacation in Italy near Florence and Siena ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Santa Maria a Poneta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria a Poneta Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing