We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Don Mauro
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Friendly staff, nice pool area, calm surroundings, good breakfast. Several interesting sightseeing options in the neighbourhood. Good dinner.

Rooms can get a bit chilly in November but an extra blanked solves that easily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely hosts (speaking Italian, English, and German).
Location: very peaceful.
Accessible: We found it with our navigation system.
Rooms: Big, cool, with cooler.
Bed: we did not like the mattress but this is a question of taste.
Bathroom: Very clean and accessible for wheelchairs.
Pool: Lovely, new, music (if you want, you can also switch it off).
Restaurant: 10 minutes by car.
(Half-)Day trip: This accommodation is perfect if you like to visit Syracuse.
Or just rest a day!
As German I loved the breakfast because of the fantastic fresh bread (Broetchen).

We stayed there 6 months ago. Today I registered at tripadvisor and one of the first things I wanted to do is to give Don Mauro a good review!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZiggyM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a perfectly relaxing place, and our host family speak American, German, and Italian at least! The rooms are private and a great size. The brand new swimming pool is luxurious and the rural location is great for sleeping in or talking into the night. And close enough to four or five excellent day trips. Check out Noto, Ortygia or Avola Antica, as well as Syracuse. There is plenty of parking, and an outdoor kitchen. The breakfast was quite enjoyable with Bavarian, German and French guests. It is easy to find, #19 just follow the signs to Floridia and then to Don Mauro.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiChiinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was the perfect relaxing and peaceful pause in a busy Sicily itinerary: the pool amongst the orange groves was beautiful; the rooms were large and airy and the hosts were welcoming and full of information about where to visit and how to get there. We didn't want to stray too far from the pool so we ate at a restaurant about 5 minutes drive away between Floridia and Solarino, then we returned for a glass of wine under the grape vines and orange trees. The farm is a part of Sicily that you might not experience if you only visit the coastal cities, but it is only a very short drive from the main drag, so it is really worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Agriturismo Don Mauro for two nights and were very impressed. The room was really big with a beautiful bathroom. There was even a little fridge which was very handy. It was the best breakfast we had while in Sicily. I loved the fresh bread and homemade jams. It kept us going for the day. We made us of the newly built swimming pool which was great as it was quite hot when we were there. We had a little trouble locating the Agriturismo as Floridia has many one way streets that are somewhat confusing. It might be an idea to email ahead to get detailed directions. Syraceuse is about 15 minutes away by car and well worth the visit. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinkPady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Originally we planned to stay only one night with Don Mauro but we liked it so much that we extended our stay to two nights. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is nice. Don Mauro is only 15 minutes by car from the sites in Syracuse and the hosts are very willing to advise you on practicalities. The farm is nice and the newly built swimming pool completes the experience. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in December 2008 and loved it. The farm was beautiful and peaceful. The owner and his wife speak English fluently and are very kind and helpful. They allowed us to check in much earlier than the usual check-in time on the day of our arrival and made a delicious breakfast for us. The room was very clean. We enjoyed walking around the farm and eating oranges right off the trees. I have already recommended this hotel to my family. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmySMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floridia
9 mi away
Agriturismo Sant'Elia
Agriturismo Sant'Elia
#2 of 4 in Cassibile
190 reviews
5.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Frescura
Agriturismo La Frescura
#18 of 105 in Syracuse
143 reviews
5.9 mi away
Agriturismo La Perciata
Agriturismo La Perciata
#16 of 105 in Syracuse
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Agriturismo Val Di Noto
10.4 mi away
Agriturismo Pozzo di Mazza
Agriturismo Pozzo di Mazza
#10 of 105 in Syracuse
81 reviews
2.7 mi away
Italiana Resort
Italiana Resort
#2 of 5 in Floridia
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Don Mauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Don Mauro

Address: Cugno di Canne 19, 96014 Floridia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Floridia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Floridia
Price Range: $60 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Floridia in the province of Siracusa, immersed in beautiful, peaceful Green surroundings full of citrus trees and secular olive trees. You will be welcomed by Mr.Scalora and his wife in the Don Mauro Agriturist Farm. The house was recently restored. They offer hospitality in rooms with onsuite bathrooms. It is central location for visiting Siracusa, Pantalica Noto and the famous Fontane Bianche Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Don Mauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Don Mauro Floridia, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing