We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Sicilian food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Tarantola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Tarantola
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Alcamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sicilian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Today we had a fantastic And delicious Sicilian meal at Agriturismo Tarantola!
Antipasta, pasta, meat, salad, fruits and sweets....
A beatifull place and nice scenery....
We will come back the next time in Sicilia!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank edwin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    33
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
79
116
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got to Tarantola for wine tasting and ended up staying for the night. It is so beautiful to walk in the middle of the farm, so isolated and beautiful. Dinner was great and it was freshly made from things that grow in the farm. The location is perfect situated not so far from Alcamo and easy to get to Scopello, Zingaro and Segesta. Highly recommended for a long stay or just for a night to feel the real authentic atmosphere of Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbalzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came to Tarantola Wine Farm on a Vacation and spent 3 days there. I will definitely return. Three days was not enough. We stayed at several B&B's , all agree we definitely consider Tarantola great value
for the price and exactly the atmosphere we had wanted.
Our room was charming, nice and cool ( yes there is air-conditioning). We had a lovely patio and table and chairs to sit out side our room and drink a bottle of wine, snapping pictures and watching the sunset and moonrise. Friendly Cats and Kittens strolling by.
Surrounded by flowers, fruit trees, vineyards, the sounds of songbirds and the gentle sound of the bells
on the resident goats by the pond. Fillipo and his staff were available for any of our needs. We had a slight problem with the Wi-Fi , though nothing too serious. They were especially patient with me as I tried my sparse Italian on them :)
We had our breakfast there each morning and dinner two nights. The food was excellent, at dinner, each course freshly prepared and presented , "Sam" told us what we were eating, the variety was wonderful. I especially enjoyed a dessert one night of Melon topped by a Cherry Sauce made with delicious Port Wine. Not to mention the other freshly made soft baked Sweet cheese cookies, homemade Lemoncellos and yummy Espresso or Cappuchinos.
A Naturalists paradise, off the beaten path, spectacular wine country and grounds, this is a must "stay place" in Sicily! Thanks to Google translate we spent our last evening getting to know the staff better, which makes it that much harder to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you want to see (and be involved in) the way authentic Sicilian food is produced, then this is the place for you. Filipio is an excellent host, who explains things along the way with his charming and deceptively skilled staff backing him up.Just look at the colour of the tomato paste. Knead the dough. Smell the herbs. Wow! He will keep you happy with lovely coffee and his own local wines, so do not fear the gentle encouragement to participate. Take in the venue, which is a dreamy world away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Now, I thought that the local organic ingredients would produce wholesome but ordinary food. Wrong. A 'cheese-less' pizza to die for, crispy squares which were totally addictive, a pasta and aubergine pie that would be the centre-piece of any gourmet meal and exquisite giant beef olives stuffed with bread, pancetta, mortadella and all sorts of lively vegetables, made up an impressive feast in every sense. A warning then.....do not have breakfast before you arrive. I also promise that you will enjoy Filipio's wines, with crisp whites and the rich Nero's, of which he is justly proud.To obtain a bit of credibility, I announced that I make my own limoncello at home. The local varieties were then produced for tasting - no contest. If you get the chance, take a sip of the bright green fennel varient - superb. A totally enjoyable and genuine experience was had by all.
Stewart Boyd and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stewart_boyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you need a holiday destination that is so totally isolated that communication is non-existent then this is the place for you. As a centre for tourism it is convenient being the centre for western Sicily. However, the breakfast could be improved from simply toasted evening meal bread. The room facilities are basic with no tv, hair dryer, toiletries etc. Evening meals are basic but with no choice of menu - you get what you are given.

Room Tip: Chose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed two nights and opted for the cooking course during our visit. The setting is very picturesque with the rolling vineyards as a backdrop and offers some excellent walks. Rooms and amenities are basic but clean and comfortable. The cooking course was thoroughly enjoyable but a little on the steep side in terms of cost. Fillipo is an excellent host - kind and considerate throughout our stay. If you choose to stay here it works well as a simple, no frills pad for further adventures in the neighbouring area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delamora75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent the first 3 nights of our holiday at Tarantola and had a most amazing time. The food is fabulous, the hospitality and service is second to none and the surroundings are stunning. A real haven to return to after a day of sight-seeing and excellent accomodation. Although quite remote compared to some Agriturismos, it is within easy reach of some of the best attractions - Segesta Greek temple and ampitheatre, Erice Castle and lovely beaches to the north and west. A very special destination which smoothed our edges and prepared us well for the rest of our trip. We would have loved to have stayed longer and would definitley return in the future. Tarantola's owner, Fillipo, added the final touch by supplying our celebratory bottle of prosecco as a gift!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcamo
11.3 mi away
Agriturismo Casale del Principe
12.4 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
#1 of 1 in San Giuseppe Jato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
119.3 mi away
Agriturismo San Cataldo
Agriturismo San Cataldo
#1 of 4 in Motta Camastra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Agriturismo Tenute Pispisa Segesta
Agriturismo Tenute Pispisa Seges...
#1 of 6 in Calatafimi-Segesta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
121.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Granaio
Agriturismo Il Granaio
#1 of 45 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Case Brizza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Tarantola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tarantola

Property: Agriturismo Tarantola
Address: Contrada Tarantola, 91011 Alcamo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Alcamo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Alcamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a bed and breakfast at a working winery near Alcamo in the hills of Sicily's enchanting wine country. Or just drop by our rustic restaurant for a country lunch to enjoy our wine and organic cuisine. Come be our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Agriturismo Tarantola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Tarantola Alcamo, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing