We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo Tarantola
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Alcamo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Southwest Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“September 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you need a holiday destination that is so totally isolated that communication is non-existent then this is the place for you. As a centre for tourism it is convenient being the centre for western Sicily. However, the breakfast could be improved from simply toasted evening meal bread. The room facilities are basic with no tv, hair dryer, toiletries etc. Evening meals are basic but with no choice of menu - you get what you are given.

Room Tip: Chose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    34
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
80
117
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed two nights and opted for the cooking course during our visit. The setting is very picturesque with the rolling vineyards as a backdrop and offers some excellent walks. Rooms and amenities are basic but clean and comfortable. The cooking course was thoroughly enjoyable but a little on the steep side in terms of cost. Fillipo is an excellent host - kind and considerate throughout our stay. If you choose to stay here it works well as a simple, no frills pad for further adventures in the neighbouring area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delamora75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent the first 3 nights of our holiday at Tarantola and had a most amazing time. The food is fabulous, the hospitality and service is second to none and the surroundings are stunning. A real haven to return to after a day of sight-seeing and excellent accomodation. Although quite remote compared to some Agriturismos, it is within easy reach of some of the best attractions - Segesta Greek temple and ampitheatre, Erice Castle and lovely beaches to the north and west. A very special destination which smoothed our edges and prepared us well for the rest of our trip. We would have loved to have stayed longer and would definitley return in the future. Tarantola's owner, Fillipo, added the final touch by supplying our celebratory bottle of prosecco as a gift!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for only a night (sadly) & spent a morning doing a cooking course with Lucretia & Fillipo our host and the owner of the farm, & it was such fun & awesome cuisine! Belamissio! - There were 4 of us & noone else there - so this was like a private home for us to visit in the middle of the sicilian vineyards - which we saw plenty of as the tom tom brought us to the farm on the back road, but far more interesting. We travelled through to Camporeale & it was all wonderful. The farm felt remote but just down the road there was so much to offer in this region.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms and sure there are similar! 2 at ground level & 2 upstairs for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Athene720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a treat! We spent a wonderful 2 nights here at the start of our Sicilian holiday. It feels a long way from civilisation, but it is very civilised indeed. We were warmly greeted by Lucretia, our hostess and cook, (though cook is too small a word for her talents). First class 5 course meals with fresh local ingredients accompanied by the vineyard's wine is a food lover's delight. Loved the ambience of the place, the Sicilian character of the dining room, the mosaic tiling and the dark wood. We were looked after without being fussed over. I've never been on a retreat, but that's what I imagine a retreat would feel like. Location, though a little challenging to find, is well worth the effort. We had an en-suite room which was very nice and we very much appreciated the efficiency of the air conditioning, because it was very, very hot outside. Having said that, you can still manage to find some shade under the roof of the outdoor dining area where breakfast is served. Would highly recommend.
Fiona and Anthony Vimal

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Agriturismo Tarantola for the first half of our honeymoon because we wanted to relax in a place that would be quiet and non-touristy, and get to see the real Sicily. It definitely lived up to our expectations!

We got lost finding it the first time (make sure you follow the instructions on their website and drive right through Alcamo and on for another 10 minutes or so through winding roads. We thought it was in Alcamo, so were a bit confused the first time!). We eventually arrived very late, very tired and hungry, and were so grateful to Lucrezia who cooked us up a delicious meal even though it was gone 11pm!

If you're looking for proper authentic Sicilian food, this is the place to come! We loved the fact that there wasn't a menu for dinner, you just waited to see what was brought out! Five delicious courses of home-cooked food - fantastic! We also asked for a picnic one day and Lucrezia went off and came back with a yummy cheese and salami roll for us.

It was the perfect combination of feeling like we had the place to ourselves to wander through the vineyards etc, yet if we ever needed anything Lucrezia was always there to help. Even though we knew very little Italian and she didn't speak English, we still managed to communicate (with the help of her English dictionary!). Filippo who owns the Agriturismo is also very friendly and helpful and on our last day, said if we got in to any trouble or needed anything while we were in Sicily, to just phone him, which was really kind.

One important thing here, you really need a car! It's completely in the middle of no-where and I think you'd struggle to find a taxi to take you to and fro each day!

The accommodation is simple, but clean and comfortable. The perfect start to our honeymoon and a place we could really properly relax after the busy wedding!

Thank you Fillppo and Lucrezia for such a memorable stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAH000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Tarantola for two nights and can't recommend it highly enough. Watching the sun go down with a bottle of the vineyard's finest was wonderful. The food was great - no menu, just whatever is prepared. One of us is vegetarian and having told Tarantola beforehand, we were well catered for. The second evening, I had the best pasta/ragu I've ever tasted.
The staff are all friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and the price was very reasonable.
If you are visiting Sicily, we'd recommend taking a couple of days to visit Tarantola. Easy to get to Segesta from here, there's the coast and nature reserves and its simple to get to Palermo as well. And did I mention the wine was fab?

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcamo
12.4 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
#1 of 1 in San Giuseppe Jato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
11.3 mi away
Agriturismo Casale del Principe
10.3 mi away
Agriturismo Tenute Pispisa Segesta
Agriturismo Tenute Pispisa Seges...
#1 of 6 in Calatafimi-Segesta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.3 mi away
Agriturismo San Cataldo
Agriturismo San Cataldo
#1 of 4 in Motta Camastra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
29.2 mi away
Casale Alma
Casale Alma
#2 of 41 in Marsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
25.8 mi away
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
#1 of 20 in Castelvetrano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Tarantola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tarantola

Property: Agriturismo Tarantola
Address: Contrada Tarantola, 91011 Alcamo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Alcamo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Alcamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a bed and breakfast at a working winery near Alcamo in the hills of Sicily's enchanting wine country. Or just drop by our rustic restaurant for a country lunch to enjoy our wine and organic cuisine. Come be our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Hotels.com so you can book your Agriturismo Tarantola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Tarantola Alcamo, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing