We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, couldn't have asked for more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel, couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This resort is set in the beautiful Sicilian countryside. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this resort. It is peaceful and relaxing, the gardens are beautiful, lemon and olive trees form an orchard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank V1771SHElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambiocavallo, Direttore at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear V1771SHEl,

it has been a pleasure to having you at Cambiocavallo! We could read from your review that you enjoied your stay...and it makes us extremely happy!
We really hope to see you again.....Val di Noto is too beautiful to be visit only once!!

Thank You

Kind Regards

Ignazio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    48
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
119
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent one week at the very charming Cambiocavallo and we are very pleased with the stay! Friendly and superb English-speaking staff, which is very important for us since our Italian is virtually non-existant. :) The location is beautiful with all the fantastic surroundings! We enjoyed the food as well! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambiocavallo, Direttore at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Daniel,

thanks a lot for your fantastic review! It has been a pleasure to have you at Cambiocavallo!
Every night, at our restaurant, we prepare something special from our sicilian food tradition ..and we are glad that you liked it!
We wish you all the best...and we really hope to have you back next year!
Greetings from Ignazio and all the staff of Cambiocavallo****Unesco Area & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff tries to help you with al your questions en all your wishes. They are very kind and they speak very well English. It was disapointing that the pool still was closed. We had a great dinner, in restaurant CioMod, on the way to Modica.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ineke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This small hotel is in a lovely location surrounded farms and beautiful countryside - we spent a week there. While this place has a lot of potential we felt it didn't quite meet the mark.

The breakfast was fine, but a little disappointing. The food tasted like it had all come from a local chain supermarket (during a season when there was beautiful and fresh fruit being sold by the tonne at the side of the road) and just lacked a little excitement.

Similarly, the rooms were fine but perhaps focused on style over substance. The beds are possibly the hardest we've ever slept on! The walls were incredibly thin so light (or even medium!) sleepers will struggle. The bathroom looks great but the decking in the shower is impracticle and at times dangerous as you wobble about the place. The bathroom would also benefit from an extractor fan.

The pool area is beautiful and has the potential to be very relaxing but there are a large number of flies and the road going passed the hotel is surprisingly busy.

The staff are very friendly when approached and we greatly appreciated them ordering us some of the best pizzas we've ever had to be delivered to our room!

Everything about this little hotel was fine but to make it great it needs to take a few steps up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLawrences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here only for one night. The place was a good location for us for a stop between Siracusa to Agrigento. Unfortunately the address wasn't correctly recognised by our sat nav. It took us a while to notice and so we did a long detour before finally arriving at the hotel. Unfortunately you need to book dinner at the hotel in advance, which we hadn't and we didn't want to get back in the car to have dinner in Pozallo. However the hotel managed to arrange some cold cuts, cheese, bread and some Caprese for us and with a bottle of wine and water we enjoyed that on our patio. Our dinner was charged with 36 euros, which I think was a very fair price. However, the menu looked nice(r) (you can chose a seafood menu or a meaty one both were very reasonably priced) so I would recommend to inquire about the options before arriving so that you could book dinner too. The room was pretty IKEA feel like and all rooms have a patio. The garden and the pool are very nice and it all looks pretty newish. Breakfast was served outside and the choice was good considering that the place is very small. It had a family feel to it, you can get some regional advise and if you have a special wish they will accommodate if they can. So all in all a very pleasant stay at a very reasonable price. The downside of this place is that it is on a main road, so if you are a little noise sensitive you wouldn't want to stay more than one or two mights here.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a main road with some traffic also during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we decided to stay some place for 6 days to relax at the beach and to visit Modica and Scicli, we gave a lot of thought (and research) to our choice. We chose Cambiocavallo as we thought it would be nice to have a pool and the serenity of the countryside. Certainly the great reviews on Tripadvisor helped.
The hotel is an oasis- attractive and comfortable. You enter through a lovely garden with palm trees. Our room had a nice terrace facing the pool which we so enjoyed after a trip to the gorgeous towns or the wonderful beaches. A great way to end the day.
Our room was pleasant-big bathroom, firm bed.
Breakfast was delicious-all that you could want-pastry, cakes,cheese,meat.cereal,yoghurt,toast,marmalade,fruit. Dinner is also available and is very tasty and very reasonable.
We had the pleasure of meeting the charming owner, Salvatore, the talented architect who designed this handsome hotel.
As for the staff, they all made us feel at home, kind, informative, and attentive. It was 6 days of bliss in large part due to their generous spirit.
A visit to remember. Thank you to all our friends at Cambiocavallo !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambiocavallo, Direttore at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Buzzie7,

it has been a pleasure for us having you at Cambiocavallo.
Thank you for your great review.....and for your tasteful gift!!!!
We really hope to see you again...
We wish to both of you all the best for your life.
Thank you again...
Best Regards

Ignazio , and all the staff of Cambiocavallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I just left and feeling a bit sad!! I had a wonderful time at Cambiocaballo. Staff very friendly and attentive, always with a smile. THe hotel is perfect for relaxation. Breakfast is delicious, a good selection of bread, ham, cheese and fruit.
Convenient location for Modica and Ragusa plus nearby beach. I would come back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAXC1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambiocavallo, Manager at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review. We have really appreciated your nice words about us and our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you at Cambiocavallo another time.
Best Regards

All the Cambiocavallo's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
5.8 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balarte Hotel
Balarte Hotel
#6 of 17 in Modica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.8 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
13.4 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
102.5 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort

Property: Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort
Address: C da Zimmardo Km 5 | Provinciale Modica-Pozzallo, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Modica
#3 Family Hotel in Modica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#5 Luxury Hotel in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Val di Noto, in the territory of Modica, a UNESCO World Heritage city, is Cambiocavallo Unesco Area & Resort 4-star hotel by the charm of a charming hotel, in the countryside of iblea in a strategic position, 4 km from the crystal clear sea and at about 1:30 h from Malta. Born from the careful restoration of an old "posada," a resting place for travelers on horseback, is now a modern hotel with all amenities, surrounded by a lush garden Arab-Mediterranean. The hotel, fully renovated with a conservative intervention, it maintains the charm of the structure while the decor is inspired by the design criteria and research in contemporary minimalist lines and sober colors, an elegance that is, calibrated thanks to the inclusion of some traditional features: ceilings warps with reeds and wooden beams and stone walls still visible, others with lime plaster in warm colors to please the eye and the comfort of the guests. A place where modernity and innovation are combined with a typical unique and precious to give life to a unique way of conceiving the hospitality ... a sort of Concept Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambiocavallo Unesco Area Hotel
Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing