We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely 4 day stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Il Granaio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Granaio
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely 4 day stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

If you need to relax this is one lovely agriturizmo. The pool adds to the atmosphere especially at night when it is lit up. The owners very friendly and helpfull. Very Clean. They will be opening a Spa soon. Although you need a car, it is very close to most of the other towns. We were impressed as to how much Sicily has to offer.

Room Tip: for persons with disabilities they have special rooms. Ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mle1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    39
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
109
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We really couldn't fault this charming agriturismo and felt sorry to have to leave. The food is good, honest, hearty Sicilian fare, the rooms were modern and clean, the pool impressive for an agriturismo, but what really stood out for us were the warm and generous hosts. They were attentive to our every need, always smiling and genuinely hospitable. This place is a real gem, if you're in the area don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Staying for 2 nights on a round trip to Sicily we enjoyed this wonderful location 10 min away from Modica. The room (including the bathroom) were impaccably clean. The outdoor pool was large and fitted well into the beautiful garden (unfortunately, we could not use it due to heavy rainfalls). The athmosphere is very warm and personal. Be sure you have dinner there: away from slow food hysteria we have had superb traditional meals with local ingredients that met highest standards. Giogio explained his mother's cooking in detail which was highly interesting. Breakfast was nice as well (with Khakis and pomegranates from the garden). So if you are out for a relaxed location away from impersonal hotels and addicted to excellent food make sure you stop here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doceasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Il Granaio is more of a hotel than an Agriturismo - the standards here are excellent, from the quality of the accomodation to the facilities available.
However, the real treat is the food - do make sure you eat here as the dinner really is sensational and I guarantee you won't walk away hungry! Although the wine is not included, there is a wide selection of very good wines, including local.
One word of warning - do not rely on their own website map to find the place - it is a lot further outside Modica than it looks!
The family was extremely welcoming and the restaurant proved popular with the locals with proved for entertaining evenings in...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank streamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Charming hosts, lovely relaxing rural location well situated for beaches, historic towns and archaeological sites.
Lovely family who are very friendly and helpful and very welcoming. We were impressed by their kindness and thoughtfulness.
Fantastic pool in peaceful rural location, but only a few minutes by car from facinating town of Modica.
Good room, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean bathroom.
Best breakfast of anywhere we stayed in Sicily. The hosts took great pains to introduce us to local Sicilian dishes at dinner, and recommended good wine!
Wonderful relaxing stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

This farmhouse was recommended by two people - and we all know certain recommendations tend to be talked up. We were so lucky that we took our friends' advice.

Much to our surprise we were given one of il Granaio's sleek newly refurbished rooms, complete with jacuzzi, which would not be out of place in a five-star hotel.

But what makes this agriturismo a cut above the rest is the general serenity, the relaxed atmosphere on the lawn around the pool, but most of all the food on offer.

We abandoned any idea of dining in restaurants in town after we were treated to dinner at the resort restaurant on the first night.

Co-owner Giovanni is a master at explaining in every detail his mother's cooking - typical Sicilian - fresh, versatile and packed with original produce. Il Granaio takes dining to a new high, with no frills.

We will certainly return.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthling70_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

‘The Granary” is a typical Agriturismo, set amongst beautiful Sicilian countryside, near the town of Modica. The welcome is friendly and the rooms are large and clean.

There is a swimming pool on site, which is a lovely place to take a dip, however be warned it’s not heated so it gets a bit chilly outside of the summer season.

Make sure you eat there a couple of nights as well. Rustic traditional Sicilian meals, all home cooked and delicious.

Our only criticisms would be that the walls between rooms are a bit thin, meaning you can hear your neighbours if they are noisy. Also the website pictures are slightly misleading. We were expecting something a little bit more luxurious. However taken on its own merits The Granary is a lovely place to base yourself and explore the south east of Sicily.

  • Liked — beautiful countryside and excellent food
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Margoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
3.2 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
8.7 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo Case Brizza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Agriturismo Terra dei Limoni
73.1 mi away
Agriturismo San Cataldo
Agriturismo San Cataldo
#1 of 4 in Motta Camastra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo La Badia
Agriturismo La Badia
#9 of 45 in Modica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Granaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Granaio

Property: Agriturismo Il Granaio
Address: Contrada Palazzelle, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Il Granaio 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Il Granaio features an outdoor pool, its own restaurant and a quiet location in the countryside just outside of Modica. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available here. Il Granaio offers air-conditioned rooms decorated in a rustic style. Each one has an en suite bathroom and views of the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo Il Granaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Granaio Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing