We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”
Review of Casa Talia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Talia
Ranked #8 of 69 Modica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Really impressed with Casa Talia. The owner has done a fantastic job of renovating the buildings with a contemporary feel. The views are simply stunning and the breakfasts in the garden were wonderful.

I disagree with some of the earlier posts regarding the zero hospitality. I found the owner to be perfectly friendly and on hand should any issues arise. We had a small issue with the power which was resolved immediately.

This is a B&B with a relaxed vibe. I don't expect the owner to be visible at all hours. The idea is for peace and tranquility and this was achieved admirably.

If we do have the opportunity to go back to Modica, I would definately stay at Casa Talia.

Room Tip: Due to the clever architecture most rooms had access to outside space with beautiful views of Modica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCJCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 193 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had only a short time to explore Modica, but Casa Talia's location and view helped us get the most out of it. The host and staff were very helpful and pleasant, the room was a smart mix of very old and very modern - allowing for a little taste of life in the former Jewish quarter of an ancient city (but with the comforts of an Ikea-meets-Architectural-Digest-facelift).

Modica is fun to explore, but NOTHING here is accessed without negotiating lots of steps (stairs) and / or steep(ish) hills and / or very limited parking (if any at all). We enjoyed our visit very much, but would point out that Casa Talia is perfect only if easy accessibility isn't a consideration for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 244mahnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Casa Talia wins awards for architecture / interior decor and deserves every one... But as far as hotel/B&B hospitality, they fail.
We arrived to a very cold and brief greeting (no name introduction or smile) and were very quickly shown our room, handed the key and left on our own. We were not shown the common garden & sitting area for the guests nor were we advised of how to reach the staff if we needed anything during our stay.
Our room was nice - the rough exposed rock walls against the modern decor is done well. Our terrace was the best part - the view of Modica was spectacular and we loved relaxing out there.
The location of Talia is key... It is perched high up on the cliff so you get the most amazing views and it is only a short walk down many stairs to reach the main road.
Our stay in Modica, was very memorable and enjoyable, but as frequent travelers, we were shocked and very disappointed by the unaccommodating and unwelcoming attitude that we experienced at Taila.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpfp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were prepared to have difficulty finding this place based on other reviewers, but Marco's e-mailed directions were perfect. This place is really amazing...never seen anything like it. And that view is just not to be believed. In warmer weather I imagine one would just sit outside and gaze. Our weather was a little chilly and rainy. The walk down from Casa Talia to the town is indeed quick, but the walk back up pretty brutal if you're as out of shape as I am. Luckily we were never in a hurry.
Breakfast was lovely, and Vivianne ready to help us find restaurants and directions. Both Marco and Vivianne seemed warm and friendly. We weren't concerned about their availability during the day. Our second morning it was warm enough to eat breakfast in the garden and that was truly a delight. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who will enjoy the unique place that this couple have created.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Agree wholeheartedly with previous review re directions to Casa Talia - absolutely impossible
to find without - and owner must get very frustrated at having to talk guests in on their mobiles!
V. interesting layout and staggering views - however not great hospitality - communal room mostly closed - except at breakfast - and impossible to get a drink in evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank merlanderiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Amazing place!!!!!! Amazing owners!!!! Loved it!!! First time I'm Sicily will defo be going back

Room fantastic but what makes it is the view from the terrace. Simply stunning. We stayed for 1 week and never tired of it

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrya121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

“Vivianne & Marco are terrific hosts. This is a little gem and oasis among the stone cottages and meandering stairways of Modica Alta. A treat for those who appreciate architecture and interior design. The architecture and interior design are creative and beautiful creating a cozy and romantic atmosphere. Details such as colorful vintage tiled flooring, wrought iron fixtures & headboards, a waterfall shower with a wood floor, creative lighting armatures, amazing views through a glass windowed doors from our bed, comfortable large bed, in an old stone cottage including our own patio overlooking the city!
Probably most appreciated of all was the lovely gardens which serve as a common area to meet other guests with plenty of intimate seating among trees of pomegranate, lemon and plum, all scented by flowers.. and of course astounding views. The breakfasts are locally produced baked goods, fruit & espresso/cappucini with a view of one of Southeast Sicily's Baroque treasures that is unparallelled.
However, it would be nice if the inside common areas were open all day with access to staff for questions and the breakfast could also include some of the wonderful local dried proscuitto or salami. Be prepared to walk and hike the hundreds of stairs down to the Modica Bassa and back after dinner. Especially good excercise after all the fabulous Sicilian food!
Highly recommend eating at Locanda Colonnello for an exceptional dining experience on the opposite Modica Alto, Gourmet chocolate shop Antica Dolceria Bonajuto and Atelier di Arte for the unique & international award winning ceramics of Gloria di Modica. NOT TO BE MISSED is a visit to the nearby Baroque town of Scicli for a visit to Gli Aromi di Russino - a herb plantation with views to the sea and special events run by Dr. Russino himself. Also a visit to the Neolithic Grotto dwellings situated on the cliffs above the city is an experience.”
Janne & Carolyn, Sweden

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9dakota9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
505 reviews
4 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
550 reviews
2.2 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
32.6 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Il Cavaliere
Palazzo Il Cavaliere
#10 of 69 in Modica
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Talia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Talia

Address: Via Exaudinos 1/9, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range: $174 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Casa Talia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Talia Hotel Modica
Casa Talia Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing