We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B but can improve”
Review of Casa Talia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Talia
Ranked #9 of 69 Modica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed, you cannot beat the location, view is just stunning, and B @B decor and style/design is beautiful, a little more rustic balanced with charm and flare. You can easily walk down into town, Modica such a lovely town to explore, including walking back at night. Breakfast was adequate, fresh juice was a delight, changed daily, for example fresh squeezed apple juice or grape juice, nice fresh muffin, and healthy yogurt with cereal/granola. A lovely intimate spot to relax. However, here are some suggestions for improvements which would make it an even better spot.

1). I realize B&B is not a hotel, so you sacrifice some of the amenities or services, however, it would be helpful if someone was available for advise or questions at times. After breakfast, you no longer see the owner, unless a new guest arrives, and even then it might be for a split moment. While you have his cell phone, most travelers especially those traveling from another country might not have cell phone readily available, and also it at least for me, made me feel as if I am intruding. A guest should not have to feel this way.
2). The shower in our room could not maintain constant hot water; it was a constant stream of five minutes of hot water followed by five minutes of cold water. I am not looking for perfection but at 200 Euro a night it is not right. It is non negotiable for me.
3). Wifi was so so, unless you walked over to the terrace of the rooms on the other side, towards the front gate, you really cannot rely on it. This is not a big issue for me as much as the other points mentioned but something for guests to be aware, unless wifi is upgraded or moved to an additional spot, don't count on it. I know we are on vacation, but when we reviewed and made a choice we assumed wifi would be available. It made it difficult for My husband who was unable to check on work and for me as I wanted to explore what places to checkout including restaurants it was impossible. being that you are in B@B this was more crucial as it was not like I had anyone around to ask for guidance.
4). As mentioned by others, it is impossible to find the place, including with GPS. While Marco was trying to help navigate on the phone at this point I would expect Marco to understand and make some improvements including something as simple as on their website including direction, tips on what to avoid, helpful landmarks on where to turn or what to use to gage if you passed the turn. This is so easy to do. It is not a great way to begin your stay getting lost only few kilometers away.
5). We informed the day before our departure to Marco that we will need to leave by 8 am or 8:15 in the morning the next day, he said no problem, will be able to check out in the morning. We packed our luggage and carried suitcases back to the car, it would of been nice gesture and customer service if someone would of offered to assist, whether to walk halfway and wait with luggage, as one has to park the car 200 meters or so away. No one around, when we finally got to the breakfast room, the kitchen staff ran our credit card and just walked away. Now, I am fluent in 2 languages, I don't expect people to be fluent in English, however, if you are relying on your staff to deal with the guests at checkout, then they should be able to to hold basic conversation to assist the guests. I understand running a B&B is not easy, 24/7 job and everyone deserves a break, but these are some of the rough edges that can make a difference. Also, it would of been a nice touch to be offered to take for the road the yogurt or muffin, nothing was offered, the kitchen lady just walked away, left a very strange and rather cold feeling.
6). It might be nice to have a meeting area, sort of a small lounge, consider keeping the breakfast room open all day, with light music and library. This would improve on some of the points made above around Wifi, easier access to staff if needed, but overall provide a more welcoming but yet intimate environment.

Overall Modica is a town not to be missed. Casa Talia, while beautifully designed, has some rough edges but some that I feel can be easily improved to make it an even more memorable place. All in all, we enjoyed our stay! Thank you Marco.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TalKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 193 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Finding Casa Talia is the first challenge. Most Sat Navs will send you to the wrong place and Marco (the owner) needs to find you somewhere in Modica. It is hard to understand why directions are so vague on the website.

Once this first challenge was mastered, we were shown our beautiful room (Mediterraneo) with ensuite bathroom. The architecture and design of Casa Talia is extraordinarily beautiful. Modern, but also traditional. It is no surprise that Marco and his wife are architects and have an excellent eye for the restoration of these old houses. In addition to the beautiful rooms that are each different and have all some outside space, the view from Casa Talia over Modica is truly spectacular. The rooms are comfortable with a minibar, but be prepared for a very hard mattress. We really loved our room though.

Breakfast is in the garden of the owner's house. Opening times are strict and whilst the breakfast is beautifully served, it is at times less than generous. Overall, we felt not very welcome by the hosts and their staff. And herein lies the problem-we felt that the owners don't really enjoy interacting with the guest. There are no recommendations for day trips, beaches, restaurants etc. in the room. Marco is helpful when asked, but never offers more than the answer to a specific question. This is unfortunate, as Casa Talia could otherwise be truly spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Heavenly! Couples only retreat, where the view from your balcony is of the graying rooftops of sweet Modica. Breakfasts in the garden, followed by a short walk downhill to corso umberto, and we instantly relaxed into daily Sicilian life. The only sadness is seeing so many of Modicas beautiful palazzos and homes bordered up. But, it is a heavenly city and well worth two or three nights at least. Make sure you try the amazing food at Torre d'orientale before you leave.

Room Tip: Honeymooners yes, families no
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We simply loved Casa Talia. Its perched position with sweeping views of surrounding Modica and its beautiful design ensure it is a very special place indeed. Our room backed onto a shared, prettily tiled terrace bathed in sun from morning to late afternoon. There's also a shaded communal garden to retreat to when the sun gets a little too hot. Parking was not a problem at all (ok a little walk but easy enough) and Casa Talia is clearly signposted. Marco's English is also very good!

I found the place thoughtfully designed yet homely, a wonderful mix of old and new design. We loved the exposed beams, colourful yellow and green tiled floor, spacious shower and stone walls. The design and care taken with Casa Talia mean it is quite unlike the other places we stayed in Sicily-this makes sense when you learn that Marco the owner and his wife are both architects, originally from Milan. There are rows of design magazines which Casa Talia has featured in and it's not difficult to see why.

We only stayed for one night but my lasting memory will be of a pistacchio muffin enjoyed outside surrounded by stunning views and the sweet smell of honeysuckle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanib0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

First we had to ring Marco as we got completely lost in Modica. As we found it, we came across him looking for us. He and his wife are very welcoming and friendly. The B & B is lovely. We had the most amazing view from our room and a private terrace. The breakfasts were good and served in a lovely garden.
It is worth the effort to find it and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wonderful B&B in a wonderful location overlooking Modica.

Pros
Location
Views
Breakfast
Walking distance to town via lots of steps
Ambience
Green gardens chairs and general air of relaxation

Cons
Only really the difficulty finding it. Do not believe your GPS...it tries to send you down narrow alley ways with steps! It would be helpful if Marco gave clearer instructions or perhaps directed you to a neighboring street. Other than this minor hair raising experience everything else was wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdelaideLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Marco welcomed us and combines cool and congenial. The rooms are all different and are basic in a charming way - ours was effectively a converted cave and was well furnished and a unique place to sleep (in a good way). Breakfasts were superb and so were Marco's recommendations on restaurants, beaches and everything else. An unusual place to stay in a great town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#1 of 18 in Modica
513 reviews
4 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#2 of 18 in Modica
559 reviews
4.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
686 reviews
2.2 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Giardino dei Mandarini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Talia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Talia

Address: Via Exaudinos 1/9, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range: $178 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Casa Talia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Talia Hotel Modica
Casa Talia Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing