We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“gorgeous hotel!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have recently returned from our stay in this hotel.

The hotel is gorgeous! Its located in the upper section of Modica & is a short walk from the lower town centre. We loved the walk into the lower part of town as the scenery was breathtaking, however beware its a lot of steps :)

We stayed in room 104 which was also gorgeous. The room had a Baroque style & offered ambience. With huge ceilings that were covered in artwork it was truly something special!

The service offered by the hotel was top notch. The staff were always kind & helpful.

The buffet style breakfast offered by the hotel was very unique and nice. We enjoyed the variety. The hotel also has a comfortable café which was a great spot to grab a coffee. We found the coffee to be very good & also very reasonably priced.

The only downside was that I felt the bed was a little too firm for my liking. That said, it wouldn't stop me from staying here again as the hotel is just so inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    80
    26
    1
    5
See reviews for
53
318
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A charming hotel ,ideally positioned to wander around Modica Alta. Beautifully decorated and spotless. The staff were delightful and very helpful. Both restaurants were excellent with friendly staff who made us feel very welcome, delicious food and tasty wine. Breakfast was extensive and excellent and set us up for the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms were delightful, ours, in the annexe allowed us to reach the restaurant effortlessly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Palazzo Failla is situated in Modica Alta, a quiter area of Modica in the upper part of town, with a good selection of good trattorie.
The hotel is a traditional Sicilian palazzo with fine furniture and very elegant ambience. There is a lovely sitting room by the reception filled with books, an ideal place to relax after a day strolling Modica's winding streets.
Breakfast is continental and varied, served in silver cutlery. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities, including fast and free wifi.
The staff is welcoming and discreet and they even offer free shuttle services to the bus station and the centre of town in Modica Bassa.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a first rate hotel, big enough to have good facilities and small enough to offer a personal service. I had booked in for two nights but ended up staying four. Good location in Modica Alta, charming little area, I managed to park my car outside each day. There are a number of room options, top floor quite small and just a skylight but a modern bathroom and good AC. Rooms on the first floor are very elegant, high ceiling, balcony and large bathrooms and there are 4 rooms over the road in a courtyard area, they are very well appointed, huge bathrooms, quiet, basically you get what you pay for!
Breakfast was first class, good assortment of breads, fruit, pastries etc. The staff are excellent, particularly the ladies on reception are very helpful, they go out of their way to offer great service.
There are a number of places to eat nearby, there is a Michelin star restaurant in the hotel, you can eat outside on the patio area, there is a lovely restaurant opposite where the new rooms are, up a nondescript alleyway but once you walk up there you will be glad you did, very inventive cuisine, you can eat outside or in the courtyard. About 400 meters up the road is Taverna Nicastro, rustic cooking and a bit of an institution I believe. If you get bored with those there is an excellent savoury pastry shop just next door which sell items to die for, just a couple of euros each!
On Sunday we were offered a free tour of the main area of Modica, which ended up at the main church, the owner of the hotel then picked us up to bring us back to his hotel.
What probably makes this hotel so good is the owner is always around, he doesn't speak a lot of English but keeps an eye on the detail, a charming man.
Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and truly enjpyed it. Nice rooms and very friendly staff. They are always doing their best to make sure the stay is sucessfull.

They even picked us up from the lower part of the city after we had been sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneVetaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Episkopi, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this superb hotel, very romantic and excellent service. Palazzo Failla also hosted and catered the family wedding we were attending. Would recommend to other friends to visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this wonderful hotel in the red wallpapered room mentioned in another review. The room was very private and comfortable and the bathroom was palatial with stars on the ceiling and the most wonderful shower. The owners and Julia treated us like royalty and couldn't have been more attentive and helpful. The staff was wonderful. Breakfast was the best of our trip. I would return to this special hotel tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
3.8 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
494 reviews
2.5 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
621 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
626 reviews
6.9 mi away
Balarte Hotel
Balarte Hotel
#6 of 18 in Modica
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Torre Del Sud Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Failla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Failla

Property: Hotel Palazzo Failla
Address: Via Blandini 5, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#4 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#5 Family Hotel in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Failla 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Failla Hotel is a four star hotel, located in a beautiful XVIII century building, not an unusual example in Modica indeed, which has been perfectly restored thanks to local skilled craftsmen. The Faillas, showing the typical hospitality of their land, decided to open their house to their guests. The moment you enter, you can feel a fascinating atmosphere given by the light scent of the ancient stone walls and the pitch stone floor, typical of this area. The exclusive furniture and refined decorations will give the final touch to an unforgettable stay. Palazzo Failla Hotel is located in Modica Alta, in Via Blandini, near two of the most beautiful architectural examples in Modica, such as St. George's Cathedral and the Earls' Castle. It's an ideal starting point to visit both Modica and the whole area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Failla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Failla Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Failla Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing