We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Relais & a room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Relais Modica
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I spent one night in Modica at Hotel Relais. Modica is a gorgeous and wonderful city, and Hotel Relais made the stay that much more special. I really did have a room with a view; from the terrace, room and from the bed! It was quite special. Antonio and Francesca, the owners, are the perfect hosts and so wonderful. I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Relais and hope to return one day. Thank you for making my time in Modica very special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChrisH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 109 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

After the terrible experience of being robbed, arriving at Modica was so wonderful, even with the rain. Modica is a pretty little town, with wonderful churches, divided into two parts: Modica alta and Modica bassa. The Hotel is in Modica bassa. And the room we were given had a wonderful view to Modica alta and its old Cathedral.

The bedroom was very nice and spacious. The people at the hotel were so nice and friendly! I just give an example to confirm this: the day we left, we were supposed to leave before 8.00 a.m. Yet, Francesca was so nice, she prepared us breakfast and drove us to the railway station in a very sweet and gentle way. How can you not like it?

Room Tip: Once again, this is a very personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonorSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I only stayed here for one night during our trip to Sicily, but we wished we would have stayed for more. The hotel is situated right in the heart of historical Modica and offers stunning views of the adjacent hillsides. The rooms are comfortable and well furnished and the breakfast was delicious.

The staff of this hotel is what made our trip truly memorable. Antonio and Francesca were very friendly and speak perfect English. They provided excellent suggestions for dinning and sight seeing. They were very accommodating and offered to serve us breakfast after the typical hours. They even served us a bottle of sparkling wine that our friends had arranged in advance!

I will be staying here on my next trip to Modica.

Room Tip: Ask for the room next to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Houjk259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a fantastic hotel. The room was clean and spacious with a really nice view of the town. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and made for a really sound sleep. The hosts Francesca and Antonio were accommodating and really helpful for things to see and how to get there. This part of Sicily is lovely and staying here made it all the more enjoyable. I can't wait to return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank furb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

With a memorable view of Modica and the wonderful welcome from Francesca and Antonio we will not forget our 4 nights at the Relais. The room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast quite acceptable. We were treated like family by Francesca who went out of her way to resolve a problem we had with collecting a hire car (a warning to anyone renting from Europcar - their idea of "downtown" Modica is a 15 minute car journey away and they would not deliver to the hotel.Taxis are almost non existant so this is an unacceptable service).
This Hotel was a perfect base for visiting Modica, Noto and Scicli with good restaurants in town. Do not miss the local chocolate makers!!

Room Tip: Room 5 has spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Good hotel just off the main street in lovely Modica. Had 3 days here on second visit to Sicily. Town very interesting and not very touristy(yet, though Ryanair have just started flights to nearby Comiso). Best feature were undoubtedly Francesca and Antonio who were really friendly and helpful with very good English. Great to have our breakfast in the morning sun on our balcony. Facilities could benefit from a little update.
And yes, those steps which there is no easy way round...

Room Tip: Get a balcony with view of the ancient town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We could not have had a better welcome anywhere than that provided by Francesca, who offered late in the evening to help us carry our many bags up the many steps from the street to the lodging--the ONLY possible drawback of this hotel. (Without luggage, it's just another beautiful Italian hill-town climb.) Francesca sent us to the right restaurant, brought breakfast to our balcony overlooking the fabulous view of the town and its cathedral, phoned the owner of our next stop in Ortigia for the best directions, and (for those like us, who follow the Sicilian TV series) sent us the best way to Scicli for us to sit in the chair of Commissario Montalbano's boss under the tapestry of Veronese's painting of baby Moses saved from the water.
Our room (#5?) had a view of the cathedral perfect at all hours of the day or night. It also had the most comfortable bed and beautiful appearance--all for $110 on April 4.

Room Tip: Choose a room with cathedral view and balcony to have breakfast on (4 or 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cirevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modica hotels
2.2 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
#10 of 18 in Modica
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
I Tetti di Siciliando
I Tetti di Siciliando
#14 of 18 in Modica
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
3.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Modica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Modica

Address: Via Campailla n. 99, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Modica
#8 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range: $88 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Modica 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Modica is an Hotel "de charme" facing the Barocco in the town centre of Modica, from where You can easily reach on foot both the most beautiful monuments and the best restaurants and trattorias of the town. Our Hotel is an ancient noble palace completely restored 6 years ago, belonged to the Countess Mormino-Monelli and to the sicilian writer Vitaliano Brancati. You can see us on the web-siteWe just have 10 exclusive rooms all accessorizedwith private toilette-TV SAT-climatization- hair dryer- telephon, free internet point in the reception hallHotel Relais Modica is situated at 43 steps from the main road (Corso Umberto ).To reach the reception you can look for a parking along Corso Umberto , near the Theatre Garibaldi: there you’ll also see a small square where there is the Banca Intesa . At the corner of the bank you’ll see the stairs which brings up to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Relais Modica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Modica Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing