We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Relais Modica
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Relais Modica was a great location to stay overnight in Modica. The rooms were good size, clean, and comfortable. We had a great view of the historic center of Modica. Plenty of shopping, sights, and restaurants nearby. The owners, Antonio and Francesca, were friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The only drawback is a big flight of steps to reach the inn, but if you have a driver to help you with your bags part way, Antonio was kind enough to help us the rest of the way. There are 9 rooms, with nice period details. Great bargain for the price!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank davidxray122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Relais Modica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Modica very much. The hotel is located in the heart of historic Modica and you have a spectacular view from the balconies and the terrace.
Francesca, the owner of the place, is a wonderful host. She told us a lot about the south of Sicily and all her tips were special and proofed itself valuable. The atmosphere at the hotel is very friendly and it's a real family environment. Breakfast tasted good and was plenty, especially when served at the balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThomasK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We arrived without a reservation and were lucky to get a rooms in this charming family run little hotel. The main thing about this place is the friendliness of the owner - Francesca, who recommended a place to eat, what to visit, and even helped me plan the rest of my trip in Sicily. The rooms themselves are not fancy, but they get the job done, and we had a good night sleep. most rooms have balconies with great view of the old city. Mind you there are a lot of stairs to be climbed, you have to handle the luggage yourself on the stairs from the street to the gate, and parking can be tricky - but other than that I would highly recommend the place. Breakfast is european style - pastry and cofee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying two nights at this lovely B&B. Wasn't sure what to expect, but from the beginning of my contact with Antonio, he was a pleasure to deal with. It didn't change when we got there. The rooms were large and very clean. Loved the breakfast room and Antonio and his wife were more then helpful. Lots of steps to walk up to the entrance but Antonio still carried our two hugh american bags up at one time. Location is great in the hear of the city. Rooms overlook the cathedral. A city and a hotel not to miss. A true feel of the culture in this city and a great base to travel to Noto and the surrounding areas. I have already recommended it to friends. Love the people in Sicily. Did find that beds in all the places we stayed were very hard. Not like what we are used to here in the US. The three New Yorkers with the big bags.

Room Tip: Ask forf the view of the cathedral. It beautiful during the day, but at night it can't be beat.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingobop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I arrived in Modica by taxi on a rainy night in late September from the ferry terminal at Pozzallo. We clambered up the street to the Hotel Relais Modica. The flight of stairs to the Relais was a charming introduction to Sicily. My wife and I were instantly entranced. We were met by Lorenzo who made us feel so welcome.The room was spacious and the next morning the view from the balcony overlooking Modica toward the Cathedral San Giorgio was fabulous. My wife and I even climbed the 250 stairs from Corso Umberto to San Giorgio!
We met Antonio, the owner, at breakfast, who gave us any information we sought. My wife was so impressed that she left remarks of gratitude in the guestbook in Vietnamese, her native language. We stayed at Relais Modica ten days later to find that our last night on Sicily was every bit as appealing as our first night. Antonio and Lorenzo, piacere, you are the best!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66mygod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I do not typically stay at B&Bs. Reluctantly, we stayed at Hotel Relais Modica (HRM) only because it was recommended by a good friend. After our stay, he remains a good friend. HRM is centrally located in Modica (which, by the way, is a city not to be missed if you are in the southeastern part of Sicily). The view of the city from the balcony of our room was wonderful, particularly for photographs, and changed from morning to dusk as the angle of the sun changed. The room itself was well-appointed, spacious and quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was more than ample for our taste. My personal favorite part of our stay was interacting with Antonio Modica, the gracious proprietor of the hotel. His knowledge on almost any subject is astounding and made for enjoyable conversation. His friendships with many local merchants turned to our advantage in a few instances, such as when my eyeglasses required adjustment and he sent us to his optician friend. His knowledge of the area made it easy for us to sightsee using roads that did not show up on our GPS unit which apparently had out of date software. Other reviewers have complained about the many steps leading from the main street to the hotel entrance. If steps bother you, much of eastern Sicily and the Amalfi coast will bother you. As for me, I am a septuagenarian, yet I relished running those steps.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iceman017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Relais Modica for 3 nights. Its very, very clean. The breakfast is a bit basic, cereal, croissant & bread rolls etc but that wasnt a big deal for us, there was plenty of it. The owner Antonio cannot be more helpful, he was a charming man. Exactly the same applies to Lorenzo who was also wonderful, recommending tours, bars, restaurants. Our room was lovely and comfortable and the shower was fantastic. Brilliant views from the balcony. 3 nights wasnt long enough. The stairs are a bit of a setback, they are steep and there are alot of them!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
2.2 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
645 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Torre Del Sud Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
450 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Ada
Hotel Villa Ada
#2 of 6 in Pozzallo
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Modica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Modica

Address: Via Campailla n. 99, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#11 Family Hotel in Modica
Price Range: $88 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Modica 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Modica is an Hotel "de charme" facing the Barocco in the town centre of Modica, from where You can easily reach on foot both the most beautiful monuments and the best restaurants and trattorias of the town. Our Hotel is an ancient noble palace completely restored 6 years ago, belonged to the Countess Mormino-Monelli and to the sicilian writer Vitaliano Brancati. You can see us on the web-siteWe just have 10 exclusive rooms all accessorizedwith private toilette-TV SAT-climatization- hair dryer- telephon, free internet point in the reception hallHotel Relais Modica is situated at 43 steps from the main road (Corso Umberto ).To reach the reception you can look for a parking along Corso Umberto , near the Theatre Garibaldi: there you’ll also see a small square where there is the Banca Intesa . At the corner of the bank you’ll see the stairs which brings up to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Relais Modica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Modica Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing