We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect panini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of la bottega italian gourmet - CLOSED

la bottega italian gourmet
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Description: panineria aperitivi
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Perfect panini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

On a frustrating day in Modica, our first choice lunch venue was fully booked and everywhere else was either closed or closing at 2pm. So, La Bodega on Via Castello turned out to be an oasis in the food desert. It's a small, simple panineria - one of a chain of two family owned restaurants- but the panini: they were so good. I mean hit-it-out-of-the-ballpark good, and head and shoulders above the soggy, squashed offerings found in UK coffee chains. We chose two from a choice of over 30. The panini were stuffed full of cheese, meat, sausage, salad and pickles, and the bread - warm, rounded and oh,so crunchy! Outstandingly good, and substantial enough for a decent lunch. And, if you're thinking that's all well and good but when am I going to find myself in a small town in Southern Sicily - don't despair. Its sister restaurant is in New York City!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little place for a good value tasty lunch/light dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in this delightful little place for pannini, chips and a couple of beers. The sandwich choice was pretty epic - definitely something there for everyone. We stuck with local cured meats and cheeses and were not disappointed. Pannini and chips were piping hot and served with a big smile. We also had the chance to gawp at the hamburgers ordered by the family at the table next to us. This was a super place for a relaxed lunch but it would do very nicely for a smaller dinner for those who overindulged earlier in the day!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyWhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were looking for something a little different on this evening and decided La Bottega could give us that. A really friendly young waitress helped us through the menu and we decided to go for a salad and a panini, washed down with a couple of glasses of prosecco. La Bottega isn't a big place but it has a big heart and we had a very pleasant hour or so eatiing and drinkibng with the locals. The advertising suggests it is connected to a similar house in New York City. We will try that out when we are there next.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice sicilian flavors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were walking downtown and were looking for a light lunch in Modica, Sicily and come across this tiny tratoria. We chose a "salami misti" to have à variaty of different salamis and it was very interesting. We then had à "trecolore insalata"' Maude of radichio, endives, arugula, black olives and shaves of parmesan. It was also very tasty and satifying. Both were accompaniedby crostinis.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la bottega italian gourmet also viewed

Frigintini, Modica
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing