We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Attractions”
Review of Hotel De Mohac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel De Mohac
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel de Mohac was very comfortable, exploring the town with it's incredible views, magnificent! Food was made with great produce from the area, and filled us, chocolate was to die for and the towns fork were helpful & polite

Thank Leonie Cooper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were in Modica for a family wedding, and the groom organised for all the out-of-towners to stay at the Hotel de Mohac, so we didn't really have a choice. Luckily for us he chose one of the friendliest hotels we've ever stayed in. On the plus side, excellent location a minute's walk from the Corso Umberto I (Modica's main drag, where most of the shopping and dining opportunities are situated), quirky decor (we were especially taken with the 40 foot rubber plant outside the reception area, over which we could also look out from our private balcony) and an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price. Being picky, on the minus side it's not terribly modern and there was no bar (minibar in room), but as previously stated you are literally sixty seconds' stroll from Corso Umberto I with plenty of pleasant bars and restaurants to choose from. The reception staff were especially helpful (I needed a manicure for the wedding and the receptionist rang round several to sort this out).

Room Tip: They have various kinds of room e.g. doubles, singles and family rooms - less romantic but much chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrsineJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel De Mohac is right in the centre of Modica, off the main drag Corso Umberto, above 'Information' . The room was very comfortable and they provided a delicious traditional breakfast. The staff were very helpful and we really enjoyed our stay there. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose a basic room that was more than adequate but the french doors opened onto a small laneway t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleF273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had no problem finding the hotel once we rang and got easy instructions from English speaking staff. The hotel is 100 metres from Saint Pietro church, 50m off corso umberto up a flight of stairs. The room and bathroom are large and very comfortable. We all slept well in good beds with nice pillows. Breakfast had fruit, hams as well as sweets.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

An elegant and charming hotel as named! -- From the entry doorway to the Office room, to the flight of stone steps leading to the first-floor mezzanine sitting patio with a beautiful large rubber tree and open sky above a tent-cover. Our room was comfortable with all needed services and workable Wi-Fi, A nice bathroom with a tiled shower. We were able to greet distant family members on the picturesque patio. This was a fine hotel experience! A fine Continental Breakfast in a lovely and historical dining room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johnes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff were very helpful, didn't find parking a problem, found the Hotel a problem until we asked some friendly officers of the law, and we were right in front of the street that lead to the door, after that it was a dream, when looking for hotels in Europe you must remember small streets lead to big hotels, enjoyed our stay loved Modica breakfast was good, bed was good, bathroom little small, but bit hard in the older Hotels, didn't even mind the stairs to our room, good exercise.
Yes would go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leonie Cooper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

the location is very good for modica. the hotel itself is however rather simple. some people here write that it's like a 5 star hotel; we wondered why it has 4 stars? we also found it strange to fill out a form in the evening how many rolls etc we would like to have for breakfast the next morning.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank traveler b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modica hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais Modica
Hotel Relais Modica
#14 of 18 in Modica
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#1 of 18 in Modica
505 reviews
2.0 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grana Barocco Art Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
#10 of 18 in Modica
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
FerroHotel
FerroHotel
#6 of 18 in Modica
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Mohac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Mohac

Address: Via Campailla 15 | Angolo Corso Umberto n. 127, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Modica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range: $69 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Mohac 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored from an ancient nobility palace de charme of the fifteenth century, it is the ideal start point to visit Modica one of the most characteristic town of Sicily. The monuments in baroque style are UNESCO heritage.Our Hotel, rich in comfort and furnished with elegance, is situated in the historic centre. Inside the Hotel was found a well of the sixteenth century about 20 meters deep and a cave of some five thousand years ago (one of the first sites inhabited by Modica)The warm and relaxing atmosphere in the hall, the comforts of the rooms, the hospitality of our staff and the care in the details will give your stay in Modica a fantastic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel De Mohac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Mohac Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing