We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Modica Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived at the Modica Palace tired and hungry, we had gotten lost trying to find the hotel.
By this time all the restaurants had closed and we were hungry, the staff went out of their way to prepare a small plate of food which was the best lunch we had out entire trip, made even more special since their kitchen was closed and yet they still made the effort to take care of us!
Later found out it is a family business, they make all their delicious cakes and pastries that we enjoyed for breakfast and desserts for dinner.
Even though there is not much to see and do in Modica (except you have to sample the chocolate) I would definately return to this charming and very hospitable hotel!

Room Tip: No spa facitlity
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    199
    40
    8
    7
See reviews for
100
272
4
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Somehow from the photos I got the impression that the hotel rooms and its facilities were bigger than they actually were. I was slightly disappointed when I realised that the children will be sleeping in bunk beds in our medium, not to say, smallish room. However, the staff, service and atmosphere made up for it all and we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel during our one week visit. The staff really went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one, especially the gentleman at the Reception. I would definitely recommend this hotel and visit again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mix27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Most of this hotel looks really stylish. Loved eating on the terrace beside the lovely swimming pool. Our room was one of the older ones with rather outdated, frilly decor - really out of keeping with the rest of the hotel. Bed was comfortable however. Internet was free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuesdaySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very pleased with the hotel which is modern with an art deco feel about it. Being modern the rooms are not particularly spacious but do have all amenities particularly relatively quiet air conditioning so helpful for a good nights sleep. Storage for clothing could be improved particularly for those planning longer stays. We had to retain clothes in suitcases as nowhere to keep them.

The pool is great, plenty of space, good furniture and shady areas if you want to keep out of the fierce sun. Very relaxing.

Restaurant is good and staff very helpful and friendly albeit a little disorganised. First night I was told they didn't have a wine list which was not true, and on another night drinks which were requested did not materialise. But these are minor issues.

The location is in the suburbs so a car really is needed as no indication of any shuttle service. However it is near two highways so easy access to Modica and the surrounding towns, Ragusa in particular being worth a visit.

All staff were unfailingly helpful which was appreciated.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies which overlook the pool area but also the outside dining space. Nice if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Reception really cool, rooms fine
Dining very haphazard
Need to pull their finger out on that account.
Got unordered things, but orders did not make it to the table.
Staff did not have English in the dining room, but Italian did not make the difference either.
Dining experience a bit of a disaster.

Room Tip: Location off the beam
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Really helpful and pleasant staff, excellent pool and grounds, rooms very good. Everything very clean and modern. Location is out of the way and you do need transport as there is no longer a shuttle bus, but I'd certainly go back and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveASWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012


Modern well designed hotel. The pool area and the surrounding lawn are perfect for relaxing.... provided noisy local guests are not around.
The lawn is vaste, we would suggest to create an area far away from the noisy lot for couples like us who appreciate a quiet environment (we actually moved our deck chairs under a tree far away from the pool) 
The surroundings are pretty ugly but the Hotel itself is an oasis, once inside it could be Kenya or any other fancy location.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Modica Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Mister,

thank you for your precious comments. It's very important for us to receive feedback from our guests.
We believe your suggestion is a very good one in order to improve our facilities and to give a better service to our guests.
We are looking forward to see you again,
Best Regards,

Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
3.8 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.6 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#17 of 17 in Modica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
5.1 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
6.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Modica Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modica Palace Hotel

Property: Modica Palace Hotel
Address: Via Vanella 106 | Polo Commerciale, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Modica
#4 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#6 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#6 Family Hotel in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Modica Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Modica Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modica Palace Hotel Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing