We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
221
51
15
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
51
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomthe main streetsan giorgiofamily portraitsinner courtyardhistoric characterpainted ceilingantique furnishingscomfortable bedold mansionpastriesbeautiful familycharming b bminute walkcatania airportexcellent locationmodica bassa
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 292 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Located a few minutes walk from the centre of Modica, this well furnished hotel was our base for three days. Spacious and well attractive bedrooms rooms, an excellent breakfast and the he fullness of the owner and family helped make this a lovely stay. Parking is on the street but we found free parking spots just outside the hotel quite easily. Free wi-fi. Good places for evening meals nearby. Lots of stairs...it is a former Pallazzo, after all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was my 10th trip to Italy (third to Sicily) and I always look to stay in budget B&Bs and inns in a convenient location. I stayed six nights here, and of all the places I've enjoyed over the years, this one tops them all. As a former Sicilian aristocratic palace, the atmosphere is just to die for. The ceiling in my room must have been 15 feet high, but it's especially grand in the breakfast room and other common areas. My room was quite large by budget B&B standards, and very clean and comfortable (even the bed, which was softer than most in Italy). Very quiet at night. The wi-fi was fast and reliable. The family sets out a spectacular breakfast every morning, with lots of variety. I can't believe how little I paid to stay here, it's an incredible bargain. Located right on one of the town's main streets, a short walk from the bus stop. This place is just perfect - there is absolutely nothing about it that I did not like.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location on main street - easy for parking. Sweet courtyard with tables on first floor for guest use. Rooms lovely with large bathroom and comfy beds. Immaculate throughout. Good wifi - different connections for each room so never congested. Ask on arrival for the password. Lovely breakfast in splendid old-style decor rooms. Very romantic and comfortable.

Room Tip: Walls are thick - old palazzo is sturdily built - no noise at all.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJOJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed one night in the room on the first floor, facing inside courtyard. If we had to spent more time in this room, it would have been too dark, but for one night it was OK. Wi-fi worked well, heating too, beds were comfortable, breakfast was tasty and rich, with nice Italian pastry. Owners were very nice and caring. Very nice family palace where one could feel the history all around. Well positioned in the center, parking not easy, but possible nearby. Nice little details like small Modica chockolades in the room :-) Be sure to come on time for breakfast, otherwise you may find some things missing :-(

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monikey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

everything and more...booked online and was unsure as what to expect stayed in room 7 which is the converted vaulted cellars with a small terrace at the front.....plenty of room and excellent facility with towels changed daily and a comfortable bed!!! Chocolates on the pillow and the breakfast was great with local pastries, fresh coffee, and blood orange juice in luxuriant surroundings of a fantastic view and fantastic room....the hosts especially Sara were more that helpful and on our last day gave the use of a room as our flights were not until 8pm....a home from home!! and Modica has all the charm of Sicily with beautiful churches, palazzo winding streets noble winning poets!! who needs to go beyond! spent 3 days there and watched Italy go by

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrD247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews