We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Palazzo in Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Il Cavaliere
Ranked #11 of 65 Modica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Le Castellet, France
1 review
“A Real Palazzo in Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a week's tour of Sicily. Delighted to have had the chance to stay in a genuine old "palazzo", a part of which has been transformed into a B&B. Usually, you only get to see these fine buildings from the outside.

The hosts were really excellent. Very warm and friendly, but serious people very much in earnest about their business. And, as others have noted: the breakfast was indeed excellent.

Located in the heart of town; free access to internet (computer supplied); no reserved parking but readily available just outside the building.

Strongly recommended.

Many thanks, Sara and Family. Colin O'Sullivan

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    44
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
48
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Palazzo II Cavaliere for three nights in early September and loved every minute. It is a very charming and historical family residence in a very lovely town. Our hosts were delightful, they were incredibly warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious especially the home made torte. We highly recommend a stay in Modica at Palazzo II Cavaliere B&B De Charme, it was a highlight in our two week holiday in Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The house it self is a nice looking decorated old familyowned place but the room we had a room for 4 people (because nothing else was available we knew that when booking was made ) lacked charm. It felt like a dormatory. Clean and spacious but so boring and with out a fresh feeling to it.
Family very very friendly,speaks good English breakfast typical italian with sweet things but tadah there was toast that was nice! Location good. no noise at all but our room was in the back cortyard so our window opened in a very small sort of atrium styled part of the house / backyard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to spend a few nights as part of our 2 week tour of Sicily.

Our room was lovely and clean, a little on the small size but then we opted for one of the cheapest rooms. Lovely view onto the courtyard and good sized bathroom.

Sara was helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived, as was the rest of her family. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty- the fresh pastries were the best and I ate way too many.

I loved the courtyard entrance complete with a retro yellow fiat 500!

I would highly recommended this place....oh and the traditional building and tiled floors were beautiful! x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A very nice old building housed us in a pleasant atmosphere between the high culture and tradition of the Modica city. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. Clean and centrally located. Free wi-fi in lounge area at 1st floor. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francofera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Located in a beautiful ancient palace, right in the center of Modica, this B&B was a great surprise. The owner, son of the family is very friendly; The place is magnificient (decorated ceilings), the rooms are nice and cosy (with a complimentary Modica chocolate on your pillow). And decent price for a very comfortable price

Room Tip: One of the room has no window, but is still very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calimelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk (Belgium)
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a wonderful room in a most charming house. The owners are very friendly (and they speak english). Of the six -highly recommended- places we stayed in Sicily during our holidays, this really was our favourite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herman v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modica hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Mohac
Hotel De Mohac
#9 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relais Modica
Hotel Relais Modica
#12 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Modica Old Town Rooms
Modica Old Town Rooms
#1 of 65 in Modica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Il Cavaliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Il Cavaliere

Property: Palazzo Il Cavaliere
Address: Corso Umberto I no 259, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Il Cavaliere 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Palazzo Il Cavaliere is housed in a recently refurbished 18th-century building, located in the very centre of Modica, right in front of the Cathedral. It features elegant rooms, furnished with antique Sicilian furniture.The comfortable rooms offer free wired internet, air conditioning, and a private bathroom with shower. Some have views of the Cathedral.Breakfast is served daily in the elegant common living room which boasts frescoed ceilings, has free Wi-Fi, and overlooks Saint George’s Cathedral. Selected restaurants in town offer discounted rates to guests of Palazzo Il Cavaliere B&B De Charme.The bus to the airport and the surrounding cities stops 100 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Il Cavaliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Il Cavaliere Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing