We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one's ordinary trattoria”

Locanda del Colonnello
Ranked #5 of 229 Restaurants in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not one's ordinary trattoria”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

For someone who is not familiar with the town of Modica, La Locanda del Colonnello is hard to find, in an alley off the main street near the Hotel Palazzo Failla in Modica Alta. Rest assured it's worth looking for. Under management of Accursio Craparo, a Michelin starred chef, this restaurant offers a different take on various dishes prepared with the freshest of local produce. The restaurant is open for both lunch and dinner and reservations are recommended.

During our last visit we opted for the 4 course menu which comes at the reasonable fixed price of EUR 35 per person. This is not a set menu as one is free to choose any of the antipasto, pasta, meat/fish, dessert dishes on offer. Each dish was beautifully presented with a taste to match. Staff are very friendly and service cannot be faulted.

During the past year we have had the opportunity to visit Modica on a number of occasions and probably we ended at the Locanda at least 7 or 8 times. We left extremely satisfied every time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    290
    72
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sicilian food in small starred restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This great restaurant may be hard to find down an alley off the street. But find it! It was recommended to us by locals and a guide. They knew what they were recommending. It's a small place with great service. I met the chef who emphasized that he's the cook-- meaning he is the one preparing the food and not just giving orders to others. Really a very pleasant personality. The soups as first courses were excellent. My ravioli and my wife's pasta were spectacular. This restaurant was filled with locals for lunch. Our only regret was we were moving on and could not return for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbugCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top Class Restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really inventive food, the broad bean puree with grilled octopus was outstanding. Great service from the chef and waiting staff. A beautifully designed restaurant, you can also eat in the courtyard.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great restaurant, great food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went here after good reviews on tripadvisor and after a tip from our B&B. Were lucky to get a table without reservation. The small courtyard with tables outside is beautiful. The food is simple, traditional food, fresh and seasonal, cooked in a refined way. The presentation of food and tables is really beautiful, the staff is attentive and discrete. Would go here again any time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Super lunch at a Michelin starred Restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a real jewel, in a small corner in the town of Modica, Sicily. We had lunch in this very fine Michelin rated restaurant. For a Michelin restaurant the price was just right for lunch. The service was great. I had a roasted chicken which was cooked to perfection. The food was very much superior, compared to most restaurant, we visited. I would suggest this place to my friend. It is real hard to find, but worth the effort to get there. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesterWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda del Colonnello also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Locanda del Colonnello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing