We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate shop ever”

Antica Dolceria Bonajuto
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
New York
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best chocolate shop ever”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were treated to a full sampling of chocolates, cookies and cannolis at this wonderful shop. Not only was the chocolate the best we ever had, but the cannoli was the best we ate in Sicily. Worth a detour to visit this shop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GracieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    323
    68
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best canoli ever! And the chocolate is very good too.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This small dolceria that makes authentic modica style chocolate is an absolute 'must visit' if you are in the region. We have been eating canoli around Sicily since we arrived and L'Antica's canoli was out of this world. We tried chocolate, pistachio and the classic ricotta filing (yes, 3 different types and all amazing). They fill the canoli fresh with each order and you can have half/half in one canoli. The wafer biscuit was unlike anything before and the filling so good!! I noticed some people did a small tour of the chocolate/pastry making facilities at the back. The staff were also delightful! Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrenmao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
655 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Looked about the same as everywhere else on the street”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ended up sampling and eating chocolate across the street at another similar offering when there was a large group in this store and only one staff member helping them. Their sample offerings were also less than we saw elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best cannoli”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The best cannoli I tried till now. Also very good orange peels. Chocolate is good, but not so special. The staff is friendly and the place is decorated as a small museum, so it was not only tasty, but also interesting

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“chocolate that is truly exceptional”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The place to come for chocolate. Our conference group was brought here by our guide and it was well worth it. Lots of free samples. Colleagues bought masses to take back as presents and I wish I had too instead of pasta reale from Catania. In the end bought only a big box of pepperoncino chocolate - amazing - and truly delicious biscuits with chocolate and meat that naughty monks used to eat to break lent. A must visit next time in this gorgeous city, but I'll make sure I have lots of space in my luggage.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank andrewking2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Dolceria Bonajuto also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Antica Dolceria Bonajuto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing