We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but you need a car to visit the historic centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We found a good deal online for this hotel. We were very happy with it: comfortable, big and quiet rooms, supercomfy bed, big bathroom, excellent service, free wifi, free carpark, huge breakfast selection (especially for cakes/patisserie, not so much for savoury food, as in continental/British breakfast). One downside: the hotel is in 'new' town, in a not-so-exciting area, quite far away from the historic centre, so it's ok if you have a car, but not the best option if you want to visit the old town. Moreover, this is more of a hotel for conferences, so to speak, so if you want to get a flavour of local life or a romantic getaway, this is probably not your best option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InColdBlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 454 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

a really cool place, together with my wife we decided to spend a birthday here we even got a room with a big bed and a nice window of the city, beautiful surroundings where every day we strolled great place, I am impressed by the city, very friendly staff made ​​us feel at home and this low price great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel during our around-the-Sicily trip. I have to admit I did not pay much attention to this hotel when making the reservation, I only cared that it was in Modica and that it had good TA reviews. So I was in for a big surprise when we arrived to the hotel and I have to say it was a very pleasant one.

The hotel is located on the outskirts of Modica, so you'll need a car to get to the city center comfortably. There is a big parking lot in front of the hotel, so we had no trouble parking. It's fairly easy to find, even though there are no signs leading to the hotel (or we just missed them).

The checkin was fast and very pleasant - the whole staff was always helpful, smiling and very nice (which is not that common in Sicily, so it's a big plus).

We had a corner room on second - it was very large (probably the largest hotel room I ever stayed in), had a comfortable double bed, a couch, table, wardrobe and was equipped with TV, A/C, minibar - everything you would expect in similar hotel and more. It was fairly new and was very nicely designed. The bathroom was clean, well working with a large shower stall and all we needed - towels, shower gel, toothbrushes and toothpaste, sewing kit, shower cap and more stuff I don't even remember. To put it shortly, we were simply amazed at the level of comfort provided in this hotel.

We slept well, there was no light or noise to disrupt our rest.

We unfortunately did not try the breakfast, but the restaurant looked very nice.

All in all, this hotel was the highlight of our stay in Sicily and I would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for high value accomodation near Modica.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CZ_gASK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We pretty much liked everything about Torre Del Sud. Receptionists, Room, Shower, Breakfast variety and Air con, were all very good and made for a comfortable stay. At one stage we could hear some people talking through the walls but it didn't recur when we went to bed,thus we had a good nights sleep.We ate at the Hotel restaurant on our last night and, though a bit pricey, was very good food.
It is a fairly long walk to the old town of Modica but the trade off was easy parking and a quite stay which we valued very much.
Would choose this hotel over any other in Modica if we ever return with a car again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yani51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, the hotel itself is a new build, but a building site accross the street,and it is in a residential area.
The room was a bit dark,lights on at noon,but it was spotless and fresh.
The staff went out of their way to help with ant problem you had,from maps to what was roundabout.
The receptionist did say to use the car as the area was run down and some street lighting was not working.
Breakfast was lovely, everything and more you could want.
But one bad problem was for us the noise in the building, we were next to the lift and could hear everything , also upstairs dragging chairs along tile floors at all hours,not funny.
This is just our opinion,but give it a go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed one night. Pros: Atractive, modern decor. Very comfortable bed. (The best bed of the 12 hotels I stayed at in Italy or the 10 in Spain.) Very attentive staff. (They even helped me navigate the internet to buy airline tickets from Palermo to Rome.) Free Wi-Fi. Fine breakfast. Cons: A little out of the way. A pool and a fitness center would have made this a great hotel. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosAngelesJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This Hotel is situated a little bit outside the old centr but quality is excellent. Superior double room only 90 eur and the room was very nice. Very good value for money. Only minus comes from the behaviour of the nightshift receptionist who tried to hit my partner ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modica
0.7 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
652 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
532 reviews
1.4 mi away
FerroHotel
FerroHotel
#6 of 18 in Modica
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
499 reviews
2.7 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
608 reviews
6.2 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Del Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Del Sud Hotel

Address: Corso Sandro Pertini 42, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Modica
#1 Business Hotel in Modica
#2 Romantic Hotel in Modica
#2 Family Hotel in Modica
#3 Luxury Hotel in Modica
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Del Sud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Torre del Sud Hotel is located in the modern part of Modica city, just minutes away from the city centre and from the main cultural and architectural landmarks of the city.Easily reachable trough all the main roads that link the Province of Ragusa with all the airports and harbours, the enviable setting of the hotel, ideal for the business travellers, also serves as a strategic tourists’ gateway to visit the Vallum of Noto’s Baroque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Torre Del Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Del Sud Hotel Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing