We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional restaurant”

Osteria dei Sapori Perduti
Ranked #18 of 231 Restaurants in Modica
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Modena, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice traditional restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been here with a group of 19 people.
When I booked I have also arranged a fix menu for 25 € per person and they served us: a mix of starters + 2 first dish + 2 second dish + 1 side dish + 1 dessert + house wine and water with no limit + 1 coffee + 1 digestive liquor.

Starters were awesome. Muccu soup wasn't the best, parmigiana was nice the rest ok.
This is the opinion of an Italian half sicilian, my international friends who were in sicily for their first time were amused by the food.

The staff was nice, friendly and welcoming. They even called me to give us back 25€ because I paid for too many people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    1,037
    417
    159
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A True Taste of Sicily”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

They always say look out for places that the locals eat, and this was definitely the case here, absolutely full to the brim every night!

This is the best restaurant in Modica, barring the michelin excellence of La Gazza Ladra - which is an exceptional (and expensive) treat. Set right in the main drag of the wonderful Baroque old town, sprawling out over the street, this place just buzzes with the hum of efficient waiters and friendly conversations. It has a great, pictured, descriptive and translated, menu of traditional Sicilian fayre, a great selection of REAL food.

They only have one starter - their Antipasti - a selection of twelve mouthwatering nibbles that's a great introduction to the art of eating Italian, superb for sharing.

Their Primi are an extensive selection of rustic pasta dishes with a farmhouse feel... delicious!

Their Secondi are a veritable meat feast (with a good selection of veggie dishes chucked in!) again with a genuine local feel.

The wine list is extensive, with pairings recommended in the menu... but I'll admit that the house white and red are superb and so cheap!

Try this place at least once when you visit Modica... But be warned: it gets busy, so booking is recommended of a Friday and Saturday or get there about 8.30 if you don't want to queue.

This place is great value as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank butlera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

i travelled for 2 1/2 weeks around Sicily and this was by far the best place I ate, except for the few home cooked meals that were prepared for me during my travels.

The flavors of the dishes that we had were well balanced and worked well with each other. I cannot say enough.

Highly recommend!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mipa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You must eat here”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Carmelo - the owner is a man with zest for life, love for Sicily and beautiful family. In this very, very busy testaurant one of his daughters will take your order and Carmelo will oversee the sitting of his guests.
You can eat fast and leave and complain that it was busy or food wasn't ready in 5 minutes or.... you can dine like Sicilian. All night is ahead of you, enjoy Carmelo's delicious house wine, order 3 course dinner ( you can afford it for € 6.30 a plate) and once tourists start leaving and Carmelo is not busy anymore start the conversation .... and maybe ... maybe he will take you for a magical ride in his restored Piaggio through narrow steep alleys of Modica Alta. And by magical I really mean the main highlight of your Sicilian vacation.
Oh, and by the way - the food is good. We travel to eat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Multto bene!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fantastic food, great wines, lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. An absolute must for everyone travelling through or staying in Modica.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tvamraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dei Sapori Perduti also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Ispica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Osteria dei Sapori Perduti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing