We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy Local Food”

Osteria dei Sapori Perduti
Ranked #19 of 229 Restaurants in Modica
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
portomaso, st julians
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoy Local Food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went here on recomendation from Angelo of Blu ModicAmare and we really enjoyed the local food. If you would like to taste what the locals eat this is the place. The service was also good and very helpfull waiters. Very well priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salvinoF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    1,018
    408
    152
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful local food”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here with our driver, Gabriello Ferrara who was an excellent guide from Syracuse, (+ 393396834020). The ambience was wonderful, as was the food. The staff were helpful and the choices were really good. I had a wonderful vegetarian soup. While the others set down to big meat dishes. The house red was good and the whole experience was topped off by coffe at the bar for those who wanted it. We never had the feeling we were a captive market with our guide. And he was so kind and thoughtful making sure we were looked after.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cords52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Food at best average, service very poor, several things were missed off the order which we had to chase and we waited a long time for the first dish to arrive. There are better places to eat in Modica.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surreyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tea Gardens
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate early. The welcome /service we received was fine however the food was poor. The rabbit was tough; the veal stew was not tender and our normally hungry companion didn't finish his mixed meat plate.
Certainly not good enough to make another visit despite the prices being low compared to other restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chez R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emd47
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bad food and terrible service”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here on our second day in Modica as we wanted to try traditional Sicilian food. I would say we are open minded when it comes to experimenting with flavours, so we decided on veal stew and cuts of pork, both in rich sauces. Neither of us enjoyed the food. It is very inexpensive compared to many of the other restaurants and once you taste the food you can tell why. Most of my partners plate consisted of lumps of chewy fat. He did well to eat as much as he did. Mine was a tad better, but not much. This place was recommended by our hotel concierge, he must have shares in it!! Give this one a miss :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dei Sapori Perduti also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Ispica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Osteria dei Sapori Perduti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing