We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food”
Review of Ristorante La Gazza Ladra - CLOSED

Ristorante La Gazza Ladra
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Inside Palazzo Failla Hotel, one of the most interesting late-Baroque jewels of the area, you'll meet the sophisticated charm and elegance of the restaurant La Gazza Ladra. The intimate, essentially elegant black and white 'salotto' was inspired by the colours of the magpie, the bird from which the restaurant derives its name. With the gentle but genuine touch of the chef David Tamburini guests are taken to an unexpected Sicily, both ancient and modern at once, by meals made up of special ingredients fuelled by fascination. In summertime, the dinner is served in the quiet and private lemon garden, where the guests can relish the scents and the cool evening breeze.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Last minute visit arrived and place completely empty. Staff were fantastic and made us feel really welcome.Food was of first class exactly what you would expect from a 1 star Michelin establishment.Atmosphere was lacking but food made up for that. Not cheap !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank adie23454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Sicilian meal”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I and our twelve-year-old daughter ate at La Gazza Ladra on the evening of June 29. We chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisor and knowing it was a Michelin starred establishment. We also knew that the chef who was present when the restaurant had been awarded its star was no longer at La Gazza. We arrived with no expectations, and were absolutely blown away.

First of all, I would like to comment on how gracious and attentive the staff was to our daughter. They were very accommodating, offering to make her a special meal, and addressing her as "signorina," much to her delight. They replenished her bread often and with good humor, as she was intrigued by all the options.

She chose two courses, a starter of cuttlefish with black garlic sauce and lemon gelatin, followed by an entree of rabbit with Marsala and raisins. She was delighted with both dishes, and I am afraid she will never have cuttlefish as delicious again -- it is quite a difficult fish to prepare well.

My husband and I had the "Black and White" tasting menu with a wine pairing. The staff was not bothered that our daughter's meal was paced differently than ours. I was very impressed with the entire selection -- starting with the octopus and potatoes all the way to the sea breem with pistachio sauce -- all was extraordinary. Traditional Sicilian ingredients and flavor pairing were elevated to a top level. The pasta with smoked eggplant was one of the best pasta dishes I have had anywhere, ever. The risotto with mussels was also exceptional. We had four wine pairings with the meal, and each selection was a window into the terrific quality of Sicilian wines.

I cannot speak more highly of this restaurant. I think it holds its own with other world class restaurants we have visited. Kudos to the new chef, he has clearly taken La Gazza's reputation and expanded it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLP0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A+ for food, C- for atmosphere”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was the Michelin star that brought us to this restaurant. Perhaps restaurants seeking the Michelin accolade have to adopt a reverential attitude to food, but the downside is that the process is taken so seriously that it can be at the expense of enjoying the overall dining experience. The dining room was elegant but so few tables were occupied that the atmosphere was a bit glum. The servers were helpful, friendly and enthusiastic but they were battling against the odds in such an empty room. The food was imaginative and each course was described accurately. As we don't know anything about Sicilian wines we sought the advice of the waiter. His recommendation was excellent. The chef came out to talk to us a couple of times and his enthusiasm was obvious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Okay but not special!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We dined here on a Saturday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is a lovely setting and the staff were very welcoming and attentive with good and helpful English. We opted for the hotel guest offer (3 courses for 50 Euros). Whilst waiting we had a delightful amuse bouche of roasted baby aubergine. For our 1st course we chose ravioli of black pig and lemon linguine with shrimp. Both dishes were outstanding being imaginative and inventive with memorable flavours. But the monkfish and cod 2nd courses were uninspiring and miniscule portions even for a michelin starred restaurant. The cod was overcooked whilst the monkfish lacked flavour. The pudding courses of a Modica Chocolate Mount Etna and a Lemon Semi Freddo were also disappointing even though they looked fantastic. We accompanied our meal with a good Gavi (30 Euros). In summary it was a very pleasant experience but as keen foodies it was a bit of a mixed bag for us and not as memorable as it should have been .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Creative and well executed meal”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We enjoyed a dinner at La Gazza Ladra in early June. For entrees we had grilled cuttlefish with sweet garlic cream and cedar salad, and red prawn yellow pepper chickpea croquettes. For mains we enjoyed a pigeon breast, leg and liver with onions and olives, and a sirloin with eggplant coal lard. For desserts we had a dish called Etna consisting of a meringue with dark chocolate mousse, strawberry sauce and an ash sponge cake imaginatively presented. The service was wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emmybean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Gazza Ladra also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing