We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!!”
Review of FerroHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FerroHotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Although the FerroHotel is tucked away behind the railway station, it is very easy to find if you enter Modica from the north, just watch out for the signs - we drove from Syracuse via Palazzolo Acreide. The hotel appears to be isolated but it is in a very quiet location and not far from the town centre (a very easy 10-15 minute walk). The hotel itself is ultra modern with very trendy decor. We could not fault the rooms, although you can hear noises from other rooms at times because of the tiled floors. When you check in, the friendly staff provide a free map of the town and free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. A very good breakfast is provided in the restaurant, including freshly made coffee. We only stayed for 2 nights but could have easily stayed longer - Modica is a fabulous town with a great atmosphere. Plenty of cafes, bars and shops surrounded by a mass of history.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

Ferro Hotel is a brand new hotel, located close to the abandoned train station. It is super quiet at night. The room is a comfortable size, and well equiped. Breakfast was the best one we'd had at any hotel on the island. Highly recommended and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

OK, FH was one of the hotels during our 14 days stay in Sicily. We liked it so much and it is on our Top 3 list. Design hotel on the old 'Binario 4' in Modica where you will be offered a 'cioccolata di Modica', very good breakfast (excellent restaurant - minimalistic design of the restaurant with the old locomotive dominating the room, reminding you how it was before...), spacy rooms, electric bikes for hotel guests etc. By the way, let me say after 7 days it is not easy to go through the day after tipical Italian breakfast (you know, sugar+sugar+sugar+su...). I mean, we adore Italy and the lifestyle, especially cuisine, but we started to miss things like eggs and prosciutto which are more exception than standard in most of the hotels. In FH it is standard (they even serve almond milk which is deliciouuuus).
I am telling you, you will like it. The reason more - FH is completely different than the accomdation you would expect at the old 'binario' (platform).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We booked a superior room, but got a standard room. When we complained about this, we where told that the standard room was "upgraded" to a superior du to an extra chair in the room.
Unfortunately this did not match the description found on the hotel webpage.
Staff was lacking English skills, and not willing to find a solution to our problem.
Unfortunately we had such a bad experience with this hotel, so we decided to check out the day we arrived.

The room had a foul smell of sewage. Cleaning was lacking in the bathroom, where hair could be found on the floor and in the shower, where edges also was foul of lime and dirt.

The hotel is relatively new and with a central location next to the train station, but quite a walk from the centre of Modica, especially on a hot day.
Free WiFi only works in the lobby area. Parking is free outside the hotel.

Room Tip: A standard room offers same comfort as a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippinu, Direttore at FerroHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Guest,

we are truly sorry for not being able to provide a quality service.

But we must point out that we have two types of Superior rooms: a room type with special furniture and other, the one assigned to You, larger than six square meters and with a large picture window in the bathroom.

It had never happened an error of inattention, as you can see from the many previous comments, and for this we apologize again.

FerroHotel is the renovation of a "white elephant", an abandoned building for years, which made the environment much more ugly.

Many guests, for this, to have upgraded the environment, we appreciate every day.

We hope you will accept our apologies, best regards

the hotel manager
luca guerrieri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Two years ago we discovered the FerroHotel which is situated near the seldom used train station. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is modern designed, comfortable and quiet. A very good breakfast and a helpfull and friendly staff did help us to spend a nice stay at Modica.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alberto_8177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Hotel has a modern design located next to a disused platform of Modica railway station. No need to be alarmed by location as it is particularly quiet. I think all rooms are the same. Beds were extremely comfortable and rooms had lovely bathrooms and showers. Full satellite TV available. Good breakfast.
There was free high speed internet but staff did not seem to know how to get you signed on.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-and-Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The staff was helpful and mindful. They helped us with any problems we had and made us enjoy a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rikkagersnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modica hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#2 of 18 in Modica
514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Principe d'Aragona
1.8 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
#10 of 18 in Modica
41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
570 reviews
1.4 mi away
Torre Del Sud Hotel
Torre Del Sud Hotel
#3 of 18 in Modica
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FerroHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FerroHotel

Address: Via Stazione s/n, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Modica
#6 Luxury Hotel in Modica
#7 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range: $87 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FerroHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chosing a theme, a concept, for a Hotel means a strong aim at a qualified upgrading. That’s why FerroHotel has decided to create a particular atmosphere in its interior design, revolving around the Concept of a Train, a means of transport almost forgotten. Its rooms, the Hall, the Restaurant and its Bar have been furnished with objects calling the charming theme of the railway station and its platforms: thus the Traveller of the Past may revive in the new atmosphere of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your FerroHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
FerroHotel Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing