We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location but the chef over complicates the recipes and avoid the meat...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Terrazze Campailla

Terrazze Campailla
Ranked #86 of 221 Restaurants in Modica
Price range: $0 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but the chef over complicates the recipes and avoid the meat...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Started promisingly as the place is in a superb spot and the staff are lovely and friendly. They mean well but tend to get a little over ambitious in tems of the dishes - deep fried pasta?! Rack of lamb was also deep fried (inexplicable) and the steak was hugely over cooked despite me asking for it medium rare. My wife's fish was also not great. A shame really as we were willing them to come up with the goods on the plate to match everything else.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    64
    30
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, incredible view on the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We found this restaurant by chance, while wandering around the narrow streets and climbing stairs of the old town of Modica. It is located in a historical building, with nice frescos on the ceilings inside, and two small terraces with a fantastic view on the town.
The chef, Mr.Urso, welcomed us and explained everything about the building and also found the time during the evening to tell us insider information about Modica and the region.
The menu is small but very interesting and stimulating. The quality of the food very good. The service excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank visit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a fantastic restaurant; great food, impeccable service and what a view! We found the restaurant towards the end of our stay and ate their twice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, interesting take on Sicilian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Loved this restaurant, the service was great, interesting food, don't miss it while in Modica!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank passion4hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

read about this on Trip Advisor comments for Ragusa and so glad we did as instructions how to find were invaluable and we weren't disappointed we had a fabulous set lunch for 25 euros making it the best value meal we had in Italy. We went on a Friday lunchtime and there were only 2 other diners it took us ages to get the attention of the chef but it was worth it we were presented with a massive octopus salad to start that was beautifully presented on a wide white plate then i think 3 more courses and little petit fours we were stuffed, we got the waiter to choose the wine and that was delicious he brought 2 for us to choose from and we jst had a glass. We sat outside on one of the terraces in the shade as it was boiling in the sun and really enjoyed ourselves as had whole terrace to ourselves with a fantastic view of the valley where the earthquake separated the town. Would definitely go back if ever in Modica again

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank halycondays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrazze Campailla also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to Terrazze Campailla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing