We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth pulling your luggage up the hill for”
Review of Le Magnolie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Magnolie Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Modica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

A small boutique-ish hotel with a different flower painted on the vaulted ceiling of each of its rooms (we stayed in La Gerbera, a kind of daisy?). From the rooftop of the hotel, we could look out at Chiesa di SanPietro, Chiesa di San Giorgio and above to Modica Alta.

The heating took quite a while to kick in but put out good heat once it got going. Heated towel rack is a nice touch. Bathroom fan was a bit loud and turns on with the light so you have to hear it whirring if you want to leave the light on overnight.

Nice breakfast spread which included cold meats and cheese.

Excellently located for exploring Modica, and not too bad if you're driving. Park on Umberto Corso I and pull your luggage up the steep alley (about 2-3 min.).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

My new wife and I stayed here as a part of our honeymoon and we were really impressed by the staff and the effort they made to make us feel welcome. I tipped them off about the nature of our trip and they decorated the bed with rose petals and gave us a complementary glass of prosecco on arrival. It was a lovely start to a wonderful stay.

The hotel itself is relatively small, tucked away in a small and steep side street. But once inside you are treated to very generously sized rooms. Each one is uniquely decorated and the room that we had was named Marguerite after the chrysanthemum fresco painted onto the ceiling. The staff kept the room and large ensuite immaculately clean and well stocked. We never used the sky tv facility so can't say anything about that but then there was so much to see in the streets and alleyways around the city just minutes away that this didn't matter. Admittedly the hotel had very few facilities. There was no WiFi access (thick stone walls prevented that) but there was free internet access on request. There was a laptop for this purpose in their lounge area. The terrace area was our own private dining area during the day as there were so few guests staying whilst we were there during the week that there was noone to contend with. And the view was fabulous as the photos attest. The price for all of this was very reasonable and I'm glad I found this hotel as the closest contender would have been considerably more expensive. A great spot for visiting the city centre. Poor for car parking although they do have free parking a 10 minute walk away. Also good for convenient eating out in the evening. Several good restaurants a few minutes walk away. None of the rooms have a great view of anything more than the side street that the hotel is in but the roof terrace makes up for this.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is a clean, nice and simple hotel in a quiet alley just off Corso Umberto I, in the centre of Modica. What makes the hotel special is its roof terrace, which has a great view of this superb town. Be sure to get the one table there that really has a view, and ask the staff to bring you a prosecco or two at sunset. Quite magic! However, if you do not get that table, or skip the terrace altogether, the hotel is no more than average.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArneOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This hotel was a very special experience. Lovely staff, comfortable room, great breakfast,
Nice terrace to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day.
Good location in the gorgeous town of Modica.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJHKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Small hotel. Extremely clean. Rooms are small but adequate ( check their website which has accurate room areas). Good bathroom. Good breakfast.
We visited in the hottest part of July and the common areas were quite musty as the a/c was not on and the windows closed. The room was fine as the a/ c was on. The a/ c was a floor mounted type so it was hard to avoid a draught In a small room. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloucester68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Finding the hotel was a bit of a struggle and not for the fainthearted considering all the steps but perfectly doable and well worth it.
We were 5 and had booked 4 rooms which were all different in layout. Mine was facing the tiny alley of the hotel.
We spent most of our time outdoors in Modica so very limited time was spent in the hotel itself. We did enjoy some evening pre-excursion drinks on the roof terrace of the hotel which had a great view of Modica.
The hotel had organised a winetasting experience for us in Frigintini at a very hospitable family who run an organic vinyard, TerraSol. It was very interesting and worthwile.
The breakfast was not a grand affair but perfectly OK.
I'll be very happy to return to to modica and to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaDrutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This is a charming small and stylish hotel, quite recently converted to a very standard, right in the centre of old Modica. We were warmly welcomed, and offered a choice of two rooms. They were large, comfortable, and unique, in that they had high domed ceilings decorated with modern frescoes - skilfully performed and not overdone. Our shower room was spacious, with a large shower, and beautifully appointed. The hotel had a pleasant breakfast room, and offered a good varied breakfast (including locally made chocolates!). There was also a nice lounge area and a small atmospheric bar cut into the base of the rock against which much of the town is built. There was a roof terrace with spectacular views across the old town - especially lovely at night. The only downside was that the hotel is on steep lane, too narrow for normal traffic (and thus very quiet), which means carrying your bags up and down from the main road below: it's definitely worth the effort. Parking was not easy, but the staff gave good advice and provided timed parking tickets when needed. The only view from the rooms was up and down the lane (which is well-lit at night).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoestring21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Modica hotels
2.1 mi away
Modica Palace Hotel
Modica Palace Hotel
#4 of 18 in Modica
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Modica
Hotel Relais Modica
#13 of 18 in Modica
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Failla
Hotel Palazzo Failla
#1 of 18 in Modica
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#2 of 18 in Modica
541 reviews
4.1 mi away
Borgo Don Chisciotte
Borgo Don Chisciotte
#18 of 18 in Modica
613 reviews
6.1 mi away
Le Magnolie Resort
Le Magnolie Resort
#1 of 1 in Frigintini
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Magnolie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Magnolie Hotel

Address: Via Campailla 25, 97015, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Modica
Price Range: $75 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Magnolie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is the first Boutique hotel in Modica, the capital of southeast Sicily. Le Magnolie is a small palazzo dating from the 1700s, set in the heart of the city’s historical centre. It has seven comfortable rooms, where guest can experience the true Sicily, our work commitment, a warm reception in the large communal areas of the hotel, our love for tasting the wine from our antique cellar, admiring wonderful “ halved pomegranates” on the roof-deck, from where there is a magnificent view of lower and upper Modica. The large elegant rooms are equipped with:: Telephone- hairdryer- mini bar- safety deposit box- satellite TV- Sky- Pay TV air conditioning system-heating- high speed ADSL internet connection (free of charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Magnolie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Magnolie Hotel Modica, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing