We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic hotel on the waterfront” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Very basic hotel on the waterfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The best feature of this hotel is that it is on the waterfront with a view of the beach (I'll post a photo). We had a front room and turned off the air conditioning at night and opened the door to the balcony. It was quiet enough in early July and we could hear the waves. It went a bit downhill from there. The hotel furnishings are basic and dated. Our room had an old bar fridge which was unplugged and unstocked. There was an old cathode ray television with a set-top box (also unplugged) which had no reception. There is no lift, so be prepared to carry your bags up. There was wifi in the lobby but nowhere else. Breakfast was fine but there was no buffet and no cereal. The gentlemen who
worked at the hotel were a bit surly and unwelcoming but fortunately the lady was much friendlier. Check out was at 10.30am! For all the criticisms, this is probably the best hotel in the town. If you're here for the archaeological site you might consider driving in and out the same day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    33
    20
    11
See reviews for
40
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is well located on the seafront right next to the spectacular ancient city ruins of Selinunte (a short walking distance away). Our room had a sea view and a shared terrace. The room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. The reception were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was the best we had had on our entire trip in Italy and definitely worth paying the extra 7 euros for. The hotel also owns the restaurant on the seafront opposite. The seafood was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent a week in the Hotel Miramare as the guests of its' most friendly and helpful owners, Sebastiano and Beyer Garzia and can only sing it's praises as an excellent, reasonably priced hotel, in one of the most pleasant areas of Sicily. We had a large, well equiped, clean room, with a picture window looking out to sea and a door leading onto a large balcony. The only adverse comment I would make is that the A/C is not as goos as it should be. Very quiet late at night, the hotel is located a few minutes walk from the town centre, where there is plenty of local entertainment and several good restaurants and bars. Opposite the hotel is an excellent, well priced restaurant, where you can eat "al fresco" or indoors if you wish. We have visited Sicily many times over the last seven years and will definately be going back to the Miramare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyEnviroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eu, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Marinella is a delightful unspoilt place with a good beach and the Miramare has to be the very best place to stay. The archaeological zone of Selinunte is within walking distance. Beya, the Miramare's charming owner, is the perfect hostess. Very clean with excellent modern bathrooms, air conditioning, and a superb breakfast. We stayed two nights and hope to return one day for a longer stay. The hotel restaurant on the beach opposite the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colombel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ninfa, Sicilia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is wonderfully centrally located, right next to the Selinunte Acropoly , and I found the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. I had a double room room it was well-appointed and clean. And the terrace, which is only open to guests of the hotel, provides a great view of the Acropoly and the sea in front of it--a wonderful place for watching sunsets. It was a good value, very professional, very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josefina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

I stayed with my teenage daughter for 6 nights and we had a lovely room with fantastic terrace and view. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we really appreciated the laptop provided in the lobby for internet access.
We will be looking forward to going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in April. Room was clean and comfortable, with a private balcony overlooking the sea and a view of one of the temples, Perfect location: across the street from the beach and an easy walk to the ruins and good restaurants. Beach, ruins and a nice hotel made the town a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PJLWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marinella di Selinunte
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#7 of 12 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Admeto
Hotel Admeto
#5 of 12 in Marinella di Selinunte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Selinunte
Grand Hotel Selinunte
#3 of 12 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#9 of 12 in Marinella di Selinunte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eracle
Hotel Eracle
#1 of 1 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca
Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epo...
#4 of 12 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Pigafetta 2, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miramare 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miramare Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing