We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, shame about the Restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, shame about the Restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had booked this expecting to be able to enjoy a relaxed meal in the restaurant but was disappointed to find that the restaurant had closed 2 weeks before our arrival. We ended up having to go into the village of Marinella di Selinunte to eat, which was precisely what we didn't want to do!
We stayed one night to see the Selinunte site and we were well advised by the reception staff about the best way to go about the visit, they provided us with maps and a volunteer took us to the ticket office (although this was completely unnecessary!)
The room was good, spacious and with a good sized and well equipped bathroom but with slightly temperemental air conditioning.
Breakfast was very good, with high quality bread and cakes, fresh figs and other fruit, home made jam and marmalade and many other delights.
I don't think they can justify the 130 Euros price for B&B, it was by far the most expensive place we stayed and didn't merit that rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    56
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
122
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Only booked in for one night and wish out itinerary had allowed more time. Beautiful old mansion, nice rooms with all conveniences, and a view over the olive groves. Quiet, peaceful. Excellent staff (our italian is minimal!).
Wonderful dinner in the courtyard with waitress who took pleasure in explaining the dishes and their ingredients. Tasted as good as she had promised!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week in May 2012 with friends and used it as a base to explore the surrounding area. It would not be possible to stay anywhere with more friendly and helpful staff and we must thank both Donatella and Lia for all their help in making our holiday so enjoyable.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable , quiet and very clean without giving the feel of being in a modern plastic hotel.
Although we only ate there twice the dinner choice was good and Lia is an expert on the local wines. Both the food and drink are reasonably priced as well so you will not get ripped-off by eating at the hotel.
We cannot recommend this lovely little old hotel more highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dog63green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights during a two week tour of Sicily. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in and much better value than all the others. There is nothing slick and fashionable about it (and no swimming pool) - just good old fashioned hospitality in a well restored old farmhouse around a beautiful courtyard with large rooms and good quality traditional furnishing.
Breakfast is served in a huge dining hall looking out into the surrounding olive groves. We were asked on arrival what we liked for breakfast and were served every morning with fresh local bread, fruit, tomatoes, cheese and oil. Our only disappointment was that the hotel restaurant was closed during our stay. However we were given very good advice on other local restaurants worth patronising. The hotel is close to the small seaside town of Marinella where there are many beachside restaurants and cafes.
The main attraction nearby is the archaeological site of Selinunte - the largest (and best managed) in Sicily. It is also easy to get to historic coastal towns like Mazara del Vallo, Marsala and Schiacca and to drive up into the beautiful Bellice Valley.
All the staff were very welcoming and friendly and keen to help you enjoy their corner of Sicily. Although the proprietor and most of the staff speak little English (and may sometimes appear a little eccentric) the person who deals with internet bookings, phone enquiries and general reception duties speaks excellent English and is always ready to help and clarify any mis-understandings.
Overall a most enjoyable and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordtraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

It is an old farm, perfectly refurbished by the owner, a true lover of his country, with a great care of the datails. We had a very large room with 4 beds with a lovely view of the olive trees around. We had a good dinner in the suggestive frame of the yard, with typical Sicily dishes, after enjoying a spectacular sunset from the terrace.
Good breakfast was offered in a very nice room with stone arches.
Excellent quality/rate ratio.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica19467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

Il Cuore de Disinio (http://ilcuoredidioniso.com/), great value for money very simple but elegant. An agroturismo hotel in an old baglio (Sicilian elegant farmhouse), recently converted rooms accessed from the central courtyard where each night there is a great restaurant.

Rooms are simple but large with good quality bedding, air con, bathrooms with showers. Price was very good for the island 67€/night for a double during 7 nights. Breakfast buffet was simple but good.

You are 10 mins from small seaside town Selinute and various beaches. The beach bar La Pinata serves good food and torch lit dinners on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luce1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marinella di Selinunte hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Selinunte
Grand Hotel Selinunte
#3 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Admeto
Hotel Admeto
#5 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#7 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#8 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Esse Selinunte Beach
Club Esse Selinunte Beach
#6 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca

Property: Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca
Address: Strada Statale 115/552./80, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
#4 Family Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the intense silence of the hills and olive trees, in a classic harmony of architectonic structures, relive the suggestions of Sicilian history and culture, the antique glamour of Dionysus myth and his heart, which were dear to the selinuntini. Archeo-farm: to those fond of archaeology will be offered the opportunity to attend mastering courses, valid for university credits. Cookery lessons: in the antique kitchen will be put into practice specific courses which will let you acquaint all the secrets of the Sicilian culinary art. Break Activity: you can go for long walks in the country by bike, attend yoga courses and other relaxing techniques. Tasting and selling typical products: you can savour il pane nero (black bread) of Castelvetrano, with olives and the oil of Nocellara del Belice, the 'Vastedda' (cheese) and other typical products of the Sicilian kitchen. Dining: In a sober and essential Sicilian Surrounding settled up by wide and elegant saloons defined by arches made of brick, here you find the restaurant, serviced to the guests of the Hotel and open to the organization for ceremonies and parties. Our gastronomic proposal, together with a full basket of wines which privileges the best in Sicily, are supported by one of the most famous selection in Italy, it has a range of typical, various and innovative Sicilian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Cuore Di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing