We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, just wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Corte Palmieri
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Gallipoli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Very beautiful small hotel among the maze of streets in Old Town. Standard room was very nice and warm, with sunlight coming through from courtyard. Quiet as well. Rooftop garden breakfasts were top notch. Staff were helpful with dining suggestions, though one restaurant turned out to be a dud.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank nino001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 341 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Travelling solo, I didn't book accommodation for Gallipoli, two earlier enquiries at other places were non starters. Checking tripadviser I thought I would give it a look, looked pricey, but the instantly warm greeting from Romain sold me and the offer of water (flat or sparkling) on a hot afternoon -well that clinched it . A lovely spacious available room on the top level with large deck sold me , its perfect. At this point I didn't care about price, especially after young Romain insisted on carrying my rather unnecessarily heavy bag up flights and flights of stairs. Poor lad . I am sure he is sorry he insisted , but that smile never turned to a grimace despite the Babel like steps . This hotel has rather an Arabic peaceful style about it with cool and shady , blended with hot and dry . I love it . Rooms ar very comfy, bar fridge could be bigger , but that is just me. Any request can be met , a good seafood meal enquiry gets me 5 names and maps . He might be a gourmet inspector on the side, i consider .Romain, a charmer , has been with this hotel 9 years , I'm sure the appealing French accent will never dim. There are two other hotels in the group in Gallipoli and another in Otranto - maybe I could be their permanently touring houseguest ? The breakfast are stylish and very filling and served on the very comfortable terrace . It is an easy walk anywhere , there is a castle side beach (always wanted one of those) little supermarket and plenty of bars and restaurants within meters. The car park is less than 60m away on the harbour side , it is accessed along the quay area, it is spacious and free - don't leave the kids or pets in the car, the heat will bake them very quickly . all over this place is great

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Noiamsparticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a top notch hotel located a couple blocks from the sea in the heart of the city's Centro Storico. You'll never stay in anyplace like it: rather than a single building, the hotel is spread across several ancient dwellings. Each room is different; ours was up some steep stairs but on the top of the building, which provided easy access to the nice roof deck and the breakfast dining area. The staff was extremely helpful and provided local insight (not just the usual tourist info). Hats off to Roman, who pointed us to an amazing restaurant a few miles outside of town in San Simone (ask him about it -- probably our best meal in Italy, and that's saying a lot). Our room was spacious, on two levels. Well appointed bathroom (liked the black tea shampoo), nice linens, and classic furniture plus a mini-fridge and TV. Getting there is a little nerve-wracking if you decide to take your car right up to the hotel's front door because of the narrow streets. I'd recommend parking in the free lot below the historic walls by the sea and taking your bags up the short walk to the hotel. Also, the hotel gives you a free pass to a beach club that you'll need a car to get to. It's a classic Italian beach spot -- loud music, tanned bodies, beautiful sea.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Vesparado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

First of all, all our appreciation goes to Adriana! The wonderful, young and nice receptionist which gave us precious advise about restaurant, food and places. Grazie Adriana da Chivasso!
The hotel is very nice, an old residence from 7th century completely renewed, with beautiful terrace were you can relax especially in the evening which gave a pretty warm atmosphere.
Due to our budget we choose the standard room, which unfortunately have the window inside the courtyard, but if you can afford it take a Superior it might be much worth and for sure you will have a nicer view.
Never the less, the room was nice and clean. Breakfast is in open air at the top of the room, is pleasant and quality fair enough.
First of all, all our appreciation goes to Adriana! The wonderful, young and nice receptionist which gave us precious advise about restaurant, food and

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smagnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on the spur of the moment. The French gentleman who greeted us was exceptionally friendly and helped bring our luggage. He gave us some fantastic advice about where to go in Gallipoli, where to eat and the local beaches. His advice was great and we were glad we followed it. The room itself was beautiful, very comfortable, split level with high ceilings. The hotel has a fantastic terrace with a great view of the port. They also offered complimentary drinks and cake by reception which was a really nice touch. The lady at the desk also arranged an excursion for us which was very good. Great hotel, highly recommended in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJR_004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile reception at Relais Corte Palmieri, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear RJR
thank you for your very kind review!
You have just gone back to your Metropolis, but you are still thinking of our "Kallipolis" !!
There is no remedy ;-) this is a side effect of Palmieri and Salento...
We really hope to see you again.
Cheers!
Romain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It was a a geat stay! The Hotel immediatly spreads a cosy atmosphare and everyone was The receptionist was very helpful. She gave us great advise which bar to go to for pre-drinks and which places are the best for dinner. The hotel is very cosy and has a unique style which fits perfect with the flair of the old town.
The breakfast cant get any better of the roof of the hotel in cosy surroundings and with the best pastry and coffee. We also wanted to enjoy the beach and we go some places recommended and could also visit Samara beach which had sunbeds and umbrellas on a perfect white beach with a senic view onto the old town. The very helpful receptionist also recommended areas in the surroundings which were worth to see and go to with many more restaurant recommendations.
It was a great stay and we really enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrsulaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile reception at Relais Corte Palmieri, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Ursula,
thank you for your very kind review. I have not had the pleasure to meet but I am very happy that you had a good time by us, most of all that Adriana helped you to have this good time, in Gallipoli and also in Salento. I am glad that she managed to transmit her love of the region to you!
Once again, thank you a lot, and maybee we will meet next time!
Romain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Book and enjoy room "Luna", a highlight of our Pulia trip this spring. Best breakfast ever in a hotel, great jam and patisserie. We will go again very soon. Very nice and helpful people.
:...............................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna_beh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalacePalace, Responsabile reception at Relais Corte Palmieri, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Anna_beh,
I know you could read me in french, but I will use the same language as you...
Luna, private roof, sunset, spritz...how can someone not enjoy??!!
I still have in mind the moment that we have spoken on the terrace, just after your breakfast, and the compliment already done.
Thank you a lot, and as we already said, see you in september!
Take care.
Adriana & Romain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallipoli hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Corso
Hotel Palazzo del Corso
#3 of 23 in Gallipoli
249 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 23 in Gallipoli
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Pescatore Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
#5 of 23 in Gallipoli
366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel
#2 of 23 in Gallipoli
401 reviews
2.4 mi away
L'Antico Frantoio
L'Antico Frantoio
#13 of 23 in Gallipoli
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Corte Palmieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Corte Palmieri

Address: Corte Palmieri 3, 73014, Gallipoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Gallipoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gallipoli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gallipoli
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gallipoli
Price Range: $85 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Corte Palmieri 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Corte Palmieri is a wonderful historical house dating back to 1700 situated in the dense maze of alleys, streets and squares of the famous fishing village of Gallipoli. Characterized by sunny terraces and walls covered by colorful bougainvillea, this beautiful unique building, evocates a Moroccan Riad. Prickly pear, Jupiter's beard and citrus trees paint the terraces in the warmer months, where every morning a good morning is given with a buffet breakfast characterized by a wide range of products. Near the picturesque beach of La Purità nd many churches of the old town, Relais Corte Palmieri offers the possibility to enjoy the city center discovering every day a place where you can taste the typical Salento cuisine or drink an aperitif. Ideal place to enjoy the comfort of a beach holiday, the Relais is close to historical sites, cultural places and wonderful landscapes like Lecce, Otranto and Santa Maria di Leuca. The Relais has many agreements with the most beautiful beaches of Gallipoli such as Samsara, Bikini and Sottovento, a wide range of choise, from the most fashionable to the most exclusive beach. Due to its characteristics, the Relais cannot have an elevator. The Relais Corte Palmieri is waiting for you to make your stay different, special ... unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais Corte Palmieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Corte Palmieri Gallipoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing