We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B Santa Vernardia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B&B Santa Venardia Gallipoli
Ranked #8 of 181 Gallipoli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This a lovely b&b. We spent about a week here and we're looked after like family by the hosts Loredana and Guiseppe. The room was impeccably cleaned every day and the breakfast was not only delicious but a great way to meet the other guests who were all really friendly. As the previous reviewer says, the hosts are always happy to chat but also have absolute respect for your privacy. Loredana's father, Antonio, is also great to chat to about the local area and practice your Italian. Id recommend hiring a car as most other places like Leuca and Otranto are very easy to get to should you want a break from Gallipoli's excellent beaches. By the way, make sure you pick up some of their home produced olive oil so you can continue to enjoy the Puglian cuisine once you get back home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for B&B Santa Venardia Gallipoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for 1 week in July this year and absolutely loved it. There are 3 en-suite rooms neighbouring eachother, each having an outdoor area for dining/relaxing. There is also a wee outdoor kitchen area for washing any plates etc which was very useful. The room was extremely clean and very well maintained. The en-suite was spotless also with a good shower. One of the best things for me was the mosquito mesh over the windows and door which was discreet and fantastic at keeping them out! The air-con was great too. It felt really private if you so wanted it to be but was also easy enough to chat with other guests in the outdoor area or at breakfast. The couple running the place are wonderful, very kind, friendly and well-informed about good restaurants/beaches etc to visit. They were happy to chat to you but also respected your privacy if you just wanted to be left to relax. There's also a beautiful cat and wee dog which again are happy to receive some attention but also to leave you alone if you'd prefer. There were also a couple of friendly donkeys in the field. The whole place felt very secure, private and peaceful. Wonderful, I couldn't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elinor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

It's a very beautiful B&B in Gallipoli. We stayed there for 2 weeks, and for we were same than live in family. Giuseppe and Loredana are friendly. Breakfast is very good.The B&B is a beautiful and quiet countryside near to the center. The rooms are very clean. If you want to go to Gallipoli choose this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

A friend of ours recommended this place and we are very happy we took the recommendation. Santa Venardia is extremely peaceful and is located a very short walk to the beautiful beach. Along which, you can walk all the way into old Gallipoli, passing the modern part on the way. All the rooms and communial spaces are perfectly kept and warmly decorated. The hosts are really friendly and welcoming...they make the kind of a experience you xould expect from a small B&B. The property is filled with olive trees that produce some amazing olive oil...we know that first hand! All in all; we had a great time. Gallipoli itself is a very charming and beautiful city. I would recommend visitng Gallipoli and staying qt Santa Venardia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Santa Venardia for two weeks and loved it. The rooms are impecable, the service is great and the hosts are warm and generous. The property has a lot of green space lined with beautiful olive trees (some over 200 years old!), which produce delicious olive oil. There are also small garden areas around that are perfect to sit and read. It is very quiet and peaceful and only a 7 min walk to the beach. To get to the town center is very easy. There is a bus stop just a 10 min walk from the property or you can get there on foot and take an afternoon "passeggiata" along the beach, which I highly recommend (30 minutes). I could go on talking about how quaint the city of Gallipoli is, but you should really see it for yourself this B&B would be a great place to stay if you are looking for a relaxed and authentic experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I couldn't adequately sum up in words how lovely and quaint Santa Venardia really is. I would reccommend it to anyone looking for a quiet and tranquil haven near a really cute and extremely-old-yet-still-functioning southern Italian city (Gallipoli.) We journied from Washington, D.C. and stayed for a life-changing month. The three rooms are all spotless and bright with beautiful added touches scattered here and there...for instance: the hand-embroidered, crease-less sheets, the elegant antique mirror in the yellow room, and of course, large windows to let the gorgeous sunshine of Puglia shine in! Outside, you will find a spacious table and a couple of benches (every room has access to one of these sets) if you so choose to enjoy a meal outside. The rooms are connected through a little pathway, but all still allow for privacy. The bed and breakfast is literally a 10 minute stroll from the most beautiful beaches (we went every day) and about a 25 minute walk to the center of Gallipoli...very do-able.

But greater still, is perhaps the warmth and hospitality of the family that owns the b and b...Very rarely does one meet such genuine, personable, and sincerely kind-hearted people. My favorite parts of the trip included talking to Giuseppe and Loredana and learning more about a beautiful culture and country!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gretacarlson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My partner and I had a very short stay (4 nights) here in September, sandwiched in between our very hectic work/study schedules and feared it wouldn't be enough time to unwind. It was great! Salento is an amazing place, as it's like going back in time in certain respects (chilled lifestyle, only eating food in season...) and yet going forwards in time mentality-wise. It felt like people had their priorities just right. The B&B itself is lovely - we woke up in an Olive grove after a great night's sleep and then spent a good hour (probably more like 2!) putting the world to rights with the owners at breakfast. I can't get over how chilled I was from the first morning. I usually avoid breakfast conversations like the plague, and don't get me wrong - they aren't compulsory, if anything, we instigated them, as there was so much to say and ask and observe - but the atmosphere was so uplifting and the pace of life much more human-friendly that I positively leapt out of bed every morning! Non-Italian speakers won't miss out, as despite their shyness in doing so, the owners speak quite good English and are full of useful information.
Salento isn't enormous so a visit to Lecce is a 'must' and try to do as much of the coast line (North and South) as you can. Gallipoli is a great, gorgeous little town - park in the massive car park at the port.
The most outstanding bit of the trip was the food. Unbeliveably delicious. My partner's Roman and we've eaten all around Italy but we were still bowled over. If you're vegetarian, you'll be in heaven. My partner's a fish lover and he was in his element. The meat was apparently good, too! In Lecce we ate at Nonna Tetti and I honestly can't believe there's anywhere better on the planet. We had burrata (devine), fave e cicoria (how can it be so delicious??), another veggie pasta dish with strong ricotta (yum) and my partner also had liver/bacony/sausagey things - I had to tell him off for expressing his delight in such a loud manner... Also in Lecce, pasticiotti - wonderful.
If you're in need of some autumn sun or suffer from autum/winter gloom, apparently November is the month to go, as Salento is still sunny and the fact that it's flat means you see sun everywhere!(??).
We'd thoroughly recommend this B&B - it isn't in the centre of Gallipoli, but it's a 5 minute drive and there aren't any olive groves in the centre!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fagiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallipoli hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria Palace Hotel
Victoria Palace Hotel
#2 of 23 in Gallipoli
397 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 23 in Gallipoli
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B del Lungomare
B&B del Lungomare
#14 of 181 in Gallipoli
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
B&b Terra E Colori
B&b Terra E Colori
#50 of 181 in Gallipoli
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Lido
Bed & Breakfast Lido
#97 of 181 in Gallipoli
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Suite del Dormiglione
Le Suite del Dormiglione
#75 of 181 in Gallipoli
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Santa Venardia Gallipoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Santa Venardia Gallipoli

Address: Strada Vicinale Santa Venardia, 4, 73014, Gallipoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Gallipoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Gallipoli
Price Range: $47 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B Santa Venardia Gallipoli 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The atmosphere is truly that of a family-run B&B. Surrounded by olive trees, barely a stone's throw from sandy beaches, and a couple of hundred metres from the historic city centre of Gallipoli, you can pass the time completely relaxed yet within comfortable distance of everything that our city can offer. Here at the Bed and Breakfast Santa Venardia you can choose to stay in a room with an independent entrance which comes with air conditioning and central heating, refrigerator, television and a bathroom with shower or bathtub. Otherwise you can partake of the comfort of an apartment with attached kitchen, bathroom, veranda and garden. In the summer you can have breakfast in the garden. In the winter it is taken on the veranda. The estate is discretely and securely fenced and has parking spaces for cars. It is possible to bring pets provided advance notice is supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Santa Venardia Gallipoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing