We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot in the middle of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Insula Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #44 of 182 Gallipoli B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic palazzo. Our room had an antique feeling (actually it had a separate sitting room) but it had an air conditioner and an electronically controlled window. It was very large and the bathroom was modern. The owners were super nice (it helps if you speak Italian). There were great terraces and you could have breakfast out there if it was not too hot. Every morning, they would fetch us any fresh-baked pastry we desired. I had cream-filled croissants, plus coffee, fruit, and cereal. We could park for free in the harbor and it was a 5 minute walk from there. The only big caveat is there are a lot of stairs to climb if you have luggage -- there is no elevator. We thought the price (before the main season started in July) was fair.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

In the centre of the old town a charming piece of an old style Palazzo next to the Duomo. Easy to reach by car and drop off luggage, but for the day there is free parking at short distance at the harbour front. Climbing the stairs to the frontdoor is not for wheelchairs. Spacious reception and all rooms 6 m high ceilings and tasteful decorations. Our two couch sitting room was 23 m2, the bedroom 24 m2 with a vaulted ceiling and mirrored cabinets, the bathroom 5m2 with decorative tiles and a chandelier, and the terras with plants 55 m2. Plenty breakfast by the very friendly host in a separate room, and afterwards a tour of the house with museum kitchen and huge ballroom for receptions. We could well manage conversation with some English and Spanish and a few words of Italian. One of the most relaxing days of our tour. Hughly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Right in the centre of the pedestrianised centro storico and housed in a former palazzo, the high, vaulted ceilings and old furniture really give the place character. Our room led onto a lovely shared terrace, though we had it to ourselves most of the time. Loved the location-it's on the main thoroughfare which is teeming with people for the evening passiegata so it has a great buzz about it (we were there in the height of it's tourist season). The bedrooms seem to be to the back of the building though, so once you're in your room there is complete peace and quiet.

The breakfast was lovely, a typical light continental breakfast with fresh fruit. The staff were friendly, bear in mind that no-one spoke English (that's goes for Gallipoli in general). That shouldn't be seen as a drawback though, we were visiting their country after all so its up to us to make the effort with Italian. You just might want to bring a phrasebook.

We arrived by bus from Lecce and it was a maybe a 15-20 min walk -the distance from the train station would be less, maybe 10 mins. Once in the historic part, it's very easy to find as its on the main street. I think a lot of people drive when in Puglia so I don't know where you could park your car.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This b&b is in the heart of Gallipoli in a charming building with a beautiful common terrace. It's run by a friendly and helpful family. Rooms are pretty basic comfortable though.
Parking and getting the luggage is a bit complicated since the place is in not accessible area by car, still you can manage it. During summer though you're likely to find a long line to get to the parking and drive a bit to find a spot.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pappone78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in B&B insula in Gallipoli. The B&B is on one of the main streets of the historic town. At arrival we got a room with private bathroom, but not in the room. We were not very happy with that, altough the room was very nice and big, so next day we could change to a room with private bathroom in the room. This room had a entrance to a terrace. The rooms have airconditioning and are furnished with antique furniture. One disadvantge for us was that the beds are short and have a footboard, so if you are tall, thats a problem. Parking is free in the port area. The owner was very friendly and the price is good!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mir-Rdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Despite no skills of english the staff tried to be as helpful as possible, once even a dicitionary was taken out to describe exactly how to park in Gallipoli old town! Adorable. But while booking there was an english speaking person to confirm our reservation so everything we needed to know was clear before we went.
Rooms are spacious and some of them opening to a lovely courtyard terrace decorated with cute clay pottery and tasteful seating area! Perfect for late-night wine-sipping and stargazing.
Breakfast - although so italian and too sweet for northern taste - was served so lovingly along with a great cup of espresso or cappucino. And yoghurt was available, a great plus. In addition a possibility to sit outside with breakfast on another glorious terrace inside the walls with look-out to main street in old town.
Location - it cant be more perfect for Gallipoli - it is in the very centre of the old town and only steps to the sea. Only trick - dragging your suitcase(s) along the cobbled streets:-)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiTallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Irene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gallipoli hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 23 in Gallipoli
226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Conchiglie
Hotel Le Conchiglie
#1 of 1 in Lido Conchiglie
94 reviews
5.4 mi away
B&b Terra E Colori
B&b Terra E Colori
#50 of 182 in Gallipoli
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barone Liberty Luxury Spa
Barone Liberty Luxury Spa
#19 of 182 in Gallipoli
84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
Grand Hotel Costa Brada
#5 of 23 in Gallipoli
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 33 Baroni
Hotel 33 Baroni
#6 of 23 in Gallipoli
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insula Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insula Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Antonietta de Pace, 56, Gallipoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Gallipoli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Gallipoli
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Insula Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing