We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home. Great Host.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Doria il Torrione
Ranked #6 of 11 Pinerolo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 5, 2013

You’ll definitely need a GPS to navigate to this hotel. I suggest arriving when the light is still out because the villa is located in the middle of a farm where street light is sparse and no signs for direction.

After arriving at the front of the Villa, separated by a gate I couldn't find a way to get in. I tried pushing the one of many door bells on the wall without any response. I had to call the villa to have someone to open the gate for me to get in. I was told to park my car in the courtyard. The hostess was very nice and friendly. She spoke a little bit of English and was very pleasant to talk to. I was given a large room on the first floor within the courtyard. The room was huge and homey. There was a small stove and real fireplace where wood was ready available. The weather was quite cold in February and the furnaces kept the room warm. Bathroom was adequate with a washing machine available. Overall, the room was very homey and quiet.

There were bicycles available to use at no charge to ride into the city or around the back of the Villa. It was very peaceful strolling in the park. I was told it’s 2 kilometers around the park. There was a large pond in the back with geese and ducks. Quiet, peaceful, and a place to get away from it all.

There is no restaurant in the villa but breakfast is served. There is no checkout. I was told to just leave the key in the room and I can leave whenever I wish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights last fall. What a great place! Very quiet and relaxing and they serve a very nice breakfast. Make sure to walk around the ground of the villa.

Also, don't miss Forte di Fenestrelle, which is one of the largest fortification in all of Europe. It is an amazing place and makes for a good day trip if you take the longer tour (and hike up the fortifications).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed for only 2 nights at the villa but enjoyed it very much. We stayed at the beginning of September and it was very quiet with seemingly only 2 other couples there at that time. While there were preparations for a wedding in progress in the courtyard, it did not have any impact on our stay. Unfortunately the wedding did not take place until after we had left. We would have been very interested to have seen it. We had booked a double room but were upgraded on our arrival to a suite. This included a small kitchen area within one of the cupboards, a small dining table, a lounge area and the bedroom area partitioned off with shelving. Our two large windows opened out onto the long driveway and surrounding countryside and it was so lovely to hear the cowbells of a nearby herd ringing throughout the day. The grounds of the villa were beautiful and we took advantage of the complimentary bicycles and rode around the property. Magnificent! The pool was well maintained and surrounded by lawns and pretty garden beds. Breakfast was beautifully presented and plentiful. Marella, the manager, even sought us out during the day while we were strolling around the grounds, to see if we would like an ice-cream. Very thoughtful on such a warm day. Pinerolo itself is a lovely town. Unfortunately it is a little far to walk to from the villa, but the drive is easy and only about 5 minutes. The roads around the villa are very quiet to walk and provide lovely views across the
farmland to the mountains. All in all, a lovely quiet retreat in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b00bytrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed for one week at "Il torrione" and loved it very much. Especially Doria, the owner of the place, was very charming, helpful and nice with the children, even though they could not understand each other. We will return for sure one day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willswing77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hollandaise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinerolo
2.0 mi away
Relais Barrage
Relais Barrage
#1 of 5 in Pinerolo
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Glicini
Hotel Villa Glicini
#1 of 1 in San Secondo di Pinerolo
439 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tenuta la Cascinetta
Tenuta la Cascinetta
#1 of 1 in Buriasco
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Albergo Regina
Hotel Albergo Regina
#2 of 5 in Pinerolo
72 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B La Taupiniere
B&B La Taupiniere
#1 of 11 in Pinerolo
194 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Carla
Casa Carla
#2 of 11 in Pinerolo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Doria il Torrione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Doria il Torrione

Address: Strada Galoppatoio 20, 10064 Pinerolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Pinerolo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pinerolo
Price Range: $104 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Doria il Torrione 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Doria il Torrione is a neoclassic building with a wonderful park of 20 hectares. Next to the villa therea€™s a B&B that offers guests a suggestive stay amid the quiet of the Piedmontese countryside. Apartments and rooms have been finely restored combining the charm of an antique place with modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Doria il Torrione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing