We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay...”
Review of Cascina Incocco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascina Incocco
Ranked #3 of 10 Arona B&B and Inns
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in Cascina Incocco for 4 nights in August 2012 with our 2 young kids, and we strongly recommend it. The location is perfect, close to the beautiful lake Orta and lake Major. The area is full of treasures to discover, and your hosts will perfectly indicate you the nicest places to go. The rooms are giants, the beds are confortable, everything is clean, pleasant, convenient. The place is cute, with a little farm and a church where you will have a wonderful breakfast with diverse fresh products - already having breakfast in a church is something very special ;-). And there is no good word to say how much the hosts, Marjie and Fiorenzo - as well as their son and four-legs family, are lovely. In Cascina Incocco, you will feel like in family. They are full of attention for their guests, always dealing with all their tasks with a lot of humor, and very comprehensive with families... Altogether, we strongly recommend this place, and really hope to have the opportunity to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
31
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Navasota, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

If we had only known how much we would love this place and the wonderful couple who made our stay so perfect, we would have stayed longer than the one night we had planned. Every detail was picture-perfect as evidenced by the many photos in my album. The house, its history, the decor, Marjie and Fiorenzo, the MATTRESS (handmade and soooo incredible!), and the food - the best food we had in our three weeks of travel in Europe - made for an unforgettable experience. We feel like we found long-lost family in M & F and are looking forward to our next visit. We're also hoping for a reciprocal visit from them to our place in Texas!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettersfromdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent just one night here at the end of a two-week trip. I chose it because of its location within easy driving distance of Malpensa airport and would recommend it for first/last night if that is your airport. However, it would also be well-suited for a longer visit if you are visiting the lake area or Milan but don't want to stay in the city.
This was the second agriturismo lodging in Italy that we used this time, and it was by far the better of the two, particularly in terms of the bed comfort. Our large, tidy, clean room was on the third floor, with views out front and back. Sadly, we were not there long enough to enjoy the day bed and comfy chair and desk, but we had a totally quiet night for sleeping.
The property has horses, chickens, turkeys, dogs, and cats (Margie is also a vet). The tiny church is a charming and unique place to have breakfast (and also has great acoustics!).
We had some difficulty finding it at first because we did not have a GPS, and I didn't notice at first that the property is actually outside of Paruzzaro (just west of Arona), not the town of Arona. GPS would probably be helpful if you do not have a detailed road map. Also take seriously the warning to drive slowly on the final approach road.
Margie is Canadian-Italian, and her Italian husband also speaks English, so you won't have communication problems with these friendly hosts. We especially appreciated Margie providing some Kaopectate for my husband the morning we left!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This place is AMAZING! Quiet, surrounded by fields, doesn't seem to be so close to Milan. Room extremely big, everything is new, the view from the windows is really nice, excellent home-made breakfast. Really worth to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericaC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent 9 glorious nights in this little gem. We were very lucky to secure a booking here. Because the owners like to keep things personalised, they don't always take visitors in. But once you are there, you are treated like family.

Location Location Location
Near to Malpensa airport (about 20 mins drive)
Nearby restaurants (there is a cow farm just down the road with a restaurant which serves local non-touristy food)
10 min drive to the gorgeous Lake Maggiore with more (lakeside) restaurants and a lovely little shopping area that is mostly patronised by Italians themselves.
1 hr drive to Switzerland, 1.5 hours to Milan and Torino (if you fancy a spot of shopping)

Our hosts
Marjie and Fiorenzo are so warm, lovely and ever obliging. They were sure to come and catch up with us at length, at the end of every day and provide suggestions for the next day. Marjie is Canadian and so speaks English which is a big plus because we had no communication difficulties. But they speak in Italian to each other so the whole experience never lacked the sense that we were very much in Italy. There is also a resident hunk-their 18 yr old son who found the time to bring my kids to pick raspberries from their own little tree.

Apart from them, their neighbour Francesca, her lovely little daughter and their donkey (on its walk) also made regular appearances. Because of this, we felt like we were part of a small Italian community

The farm
Our welcome party comprised 2 fluffy, friendly sheepdogs who were so good with the kids. Apart from them, there was a very tame cat, a chicken coop, horses, turkeys and the donkey and goat up the road. Quite the child's dream. For fruit, there were fig trees heavily laden with ripe figs, raspberries, veggies, apple trees, and best of all some grape vines which made the whole place smell like grape juice.

Our kid surprised us one morning by appearing at the breakfast area on a tractor ride with Fiorenzo.

Rooms
Our room was really large. In fact it was 2 rooms and so it fit us and two kids very comfortably. The rooms are fitted with charming window shutters so we were able to sleep with the windows open without having the bright sun shining in on us in the mornings.

The rooms are really clean and nice smelling. They are serviced daily. The owners have put a lot of effort into making the rooms comfortable and so our room had a Hastens mattress, a duravit sink and a jaccuzi with a rainshower! And yes, the rooms are en suite.

The breakfast
The setting for breakfast is in a lovely old church building. The doors are opened up to the greenery and so it lends it an alfresco feel. There is an abundance of food. A cheese plate, Italian hams, yoghurt, lots of fruit, eggs, freshly baked bread (you can smell it baking in the mornings) and freshly baked cake. On our last morning, we were surprised with chocolate pear.

Conclusion

We spent, 9 very happy and restful days at Cascina Incocco. We had brought along my mother who had her reservations about staying on a farm since she is a hotels only type of person but at the end of the day, she was singing the praises of "Apple Tree Farm" as my kid has affectionately nicknamed it. We certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VQuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ter aar
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

we spent 3 nights in this fabulous B&B. It is nice and quiet and the hosts do everything to make your stay fantastic. We felt sorry we had to go; would have loved to stay longer!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlamwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We only decided to visit the Arona area at the last minute. We saw the reviews of Cascina Incocco online and decided to give it a try. What a gem this place is. The location is lovely and the short walks from the door meant that we didn't have to go out in the car. Our room was quiet, peaceful and very comfortable. We stayed three nights and had three good sleeps. The breakfasts were very good, and included freshly-laid boiled eggs every day. What particularly made the stay so good was the generous hospitality of Marjie. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was immensely considerate, attending to even small things to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. We hope to come here again. We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Cascina Incocco to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
220 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
164 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Arona
1.1 mi away
Castello Dal Pozzo
Castello Dal Pozzo
#1 of 2 in Oleggio Castello
470 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#5 of 7 in Arona
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascina Incocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Incocco

Property: Cascina Incocco
Address: Via Regione Cocco 1, 28041, Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascina Incocco, a historic countryside residence, is immersed in 10 enchanting hectares of green hills five minutes above Lake Maggiore in Arona, easily accessible to Malpensa airport. This oasis of tranquility has been completely renovated with modern amenities, transforming Incocco into a working farm with B&B. Accommodations entail the original manor, stables and an exquisite chapel converted for guest relaxation. Rooms retain many original features and are furnished with "Hastens" Swedish beds. Kilometers of woodland trails surround the property ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing