We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet visit”
Review of Cascina Incocco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascina Incocco
Ranked #4 of 10 Arona B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent just one night here at the end of a two-week trip. I chose it because of its location within easy driving distance of Malpensa airport and would recommend it for first/last night if that is your airport. However, it would also be well-suited for a longer visit if you are visiting the lake area or Milan but don't want to stay in the city.
This was the second agriturismo lodging in Italy that we used this time, and it was by far the better of the two, particularly in terms of the bed comfort. Our large, tidy, clean room was on the third floor, with views out front and back. Sadly, we were not there long enough to enjoy the day bed and comfy chair and desk, but we had a totally quiet night for sleeping.
The property has horses, chickens, turkeys, dogs, and cats (Margie is also a vet). The tiny church is a charming and unique place to have breakfast (and also has great acoustics!).
We had some difficulty finding it at first because we did not have a GPS, and I didn't notice at first that the property is actually outside of Paruzzaro (just west of Arona), not the town of Arona. GPS would probably be helpful if you do not have a detailed road map. Also take seriously the warning to drive slowly on the final approach road.
Margie is Canadian-Italian, and her Italian husband also speaks English, so you won't have communication problems with these friendly hosts. We especially appreciated Margie providing some Kaopectate for my husband the morning we left!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

This place is AMAZING! Quiet, surrounded by fields, doesn't seem to be so close to Milan. Room extremely big, everything is new, the view from the windows is really nice, excellent home-made breakfast. Really worth to go.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FedericaC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent 9 glorious nights in this little gem. We were very lucky to secure a booking here. Because the owners like to keep things personalised, they don't always take visitors in. But once you are there, you are treated like family.

Location Location Location
Near to Malpensa airport (about 20 mins drive)
Nearby restaurants (there is a cow farm just down the road with a restaurant which serves local non-touristy food)
10 min drive to the gorgeous Lake Maggiore with more (lakeside) restaurants and a lovely little shopping area that is mostly patronised by Italians themselves.
1 hr drive to Switzerland, 1.5 hours to Milan and Torino (if you fancy a spot of shopping)

Our hosts
Marjie and Fiorenzo are so warm, lovely and ever obliging. They were sure to come and catch up with us at length, at the end of every day and provide suggestions for the next day. Marjie is Canadian and so speaks English which is a big plus because we had no communication difficulties. But they speak in Italian to each other so the whole experience never lacked the sense that we were very much in Italy. There is also a resident hunk-their 18 yr old son who found the time to bring my kids to pick raspberries from their own little tree.

Apart from them, their neighbour Francesca, her lovely little daughter and their donkey (on its walk) also made regular appearances. Because of this, we felt like we were part of a small Italian community

The farm
Our welcome party comprised 2 fluffy, friendly sheepdogs who were so good with the kids. Apart from them, there was a very tame cat, a chicken coop, horses, turkeys and the donkey and goat up the road. Quite the child's dream. For fruit, there were fig trees heavily laden with ripe figs, raspberries, veggies, apple trees, and best of all some grape vines which made the whole place smell like grape juice.

Our kid surprised us one morning by appearing at the breakfast area on a tractor ride with Fiorenzo.

Rooms
Our room was really large. In fact it was 2 rooms and so it fit us and two kids very comfortably. The rooms are fitted with charming window shutters so we were able to sleep with the windows open without having the bright sun shining in on us in the mornings.

The rooms are really clean and nice smelling. They are serviced daily. The owners have put a lot of effort into making the rooms comfortable and so our room had a Hastens mattress, a duravit sink and a jaccuzi with a rainshower! And yes, the rooms are en suite.

The breakfast
The setting for breakfast is in a lovely old church building. The doors are opened up to the greenery and so it lends it an alfresco feel. There is an abundance of food. A cheese plate, Italian hams, yoghurt, lots of fruit, eggs, freshly baked bread (you can smell it baking in the mornings) and freshly baked cake. On our last morning, we were surprised with chocolate pear.

Conclusion

We spent, 9 very happy and restful days at Cascina Incocco. We had brought along my mother who had her reservations about staying on a farm since she is a hotels only type of person but at the end of the day, she was singing the praises of "Apple Tree Farm" as my kid has affectionately nicknamed it. We certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VQuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

we spent 3 nights in this fabulous B&B. It is nice and quiet and the hosts do everything to make your stay fantastic. We felt sorry we had to go; would have loved to stay longer!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlamwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We only decided to visit the Arona area at the last minute. We saw the reviews of Cascina Incocco online and decided to give it a try. What a gem this place is. The location is lovely and the short walks from the door meant that we didn't have to go out in the car. Our room was quiet, peaceful and very comfortable. We stayed three nights and had three good sleeps. The breakfasts were very good, and included freshly-laid boiled eggs every day. What particularly made the stay so good was the generous hospitality of Marjie. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she was immensely considerate, attending to even small things to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. We hope to come here again. We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending Cascina Incocco to others.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This location is ideal if you are arriving into Milan airport (or leaving from Milan) -- only 20 minutes drive -- and if you've come from a long flight, getting to your first night stay is important to get some much needed sleep. The beds and pillows here are SUPER comfortable -- unlike most farm stays -- mattresses are hand made by a Swedish mattress company, sheets were soft and pillows were fluffy. (Beds and pillows are NOT like this at typical farm stays …fyi) But the other convenience is the close proximity to Arona – a place not in our guide book but we found to be one of the most delightful towns in our 9 weeks exploring Italy with the lake, the small islands and very good shopping and dining. (Definitely do a day trip to Lake Orta if you have time. Marjie the innkeeper - you will love her - recommended this and it was fantastic.)

Cascina Incocco is spotless and beautifuly peaceful. This agriturismo is in another class from other farm stays -- the room (I should say apartment) we stayed in was massive. Another important thing -- 4 large windows in the bedroom to allow lots of ventilation and spectacular peaceful views. Loved laying in the bed at dawn and listening to the birds – we did not want to move. There is a spacious sitting room - where you can be comfortable while using WiFi. The bathroom is large and very contemporary with a brand new (hi tech) Jacuzzi tub, plus a huge window overlooking the field -- spectacular view from your bath/shower! This is a country farm, but everything about Cascina Incocco is first class -- the construction materials, the decor, the bedding, the meals, the hospitality. The breakfasts we had were unlike any other farm stay we experienced in Italy -- over two months of farm stays in Italy and this had to be the best breakfast. Farm stays typically provide, cakes, breads, jams, cheese. But the quality and freshness here were so much better; freshly baked cakes and breads, fresh fruit (cut up for us) and an incredible hot from the oven quiche. Breakfast is generous and served on pretty tables set up in a small, renovated church with classical music – a great way to start your day. The small kitchen in the church is also available for guests all day, which we found helpful and very unusual for a farm stay. Marjie (a veterinarian) is fluent in English and Italian (and French?) and has great info about things to see in the area and restaurants to visit. (Ask Marjie for some off the beaten path restaurants where the tourists don’t go…) Coming from the big city we truly enjoyed the assortment of little animals and even berry picking on the property as well as hiking all around the area. I normally note things that I don’t like about a hotel/farm stay, but could not think of anything negative about Cascina Incocco. As a matter of fact this is one place where there were not flies or bees bugging us – which was a real problem at some farms… (There is no pool here, but you can get your exercise hiking all around the area.) Fantastic – loved it! We were treated wonderfully, like old friends. We will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aboutmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This place is an absolute gem for so many reasons: ROOMS: spacious and very comfortable beds -- we had a jacuzzi tub in our room -- that's a first for us! LOCATION; just a short drive from Malpensa airport and convenient to the Lakes region. OWNER: Marjie is fluent in English and SOOO helpful. Whatever she advises, take that advice and follow it! Whether it be for where to go, where to eat (only does breakfast there), or what to do. She has two super friendly Austrialian sheepdogs -- wanted to take them home with us. BREAKFAST: much more than other agriturismos we've stayed at -- variety of cheeses, meat, fresh fruit, eggs, cakes, breads, jams, and honey with juices. Beautiful setting for breakfast (converted church on the property). All the little touches to make this place special are there. Convenient to Lake Orta -- so glad Marjie recommended a side trip there to that historic little village. Summary: this is the standard by which all others will be judged in our opinion - - excellent all the way -- don't miss this one!

Room Tip: get the one with the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodfoodguy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arona hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#1 of 10 in Arona
144 reviews
2 mi away
Bella Vita B&B
Bella Vita B&B
#2 of 10 in Arona
37 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
177 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#5 of 7 in Arona
75 reviews
2 mi away
B&B Dieci
B&B Dieci
#5 of 10 in Arona
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascina Incocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Incocco

Address: Regione Cocco 1, 28041, Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Arona
Price Range: $123 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascina Incocco, a historic countryside residence, is immersed in 10 enchanting hectares of green hills five minutes above Lake Maggiore in Arona, easily accessible to Malpensa airport. This oasis of tranquility has been completely renovated with modern amenities, transforming Incocco into a working farm with B&B. Accommodations entail the original manor, stables and an exquisite chapel converted for guest relaxation. Rooms retain many original features and are furnished with "Hastens" Swedish beds. Kilometers of woodland trails surround the property ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing