We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“overpriced for what it offers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Concorde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Concorde
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arona
Barga, Italy
Level Contributor
371 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“overpriced for what it offers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

we stayed one night in room 446; it is a small room; the furniture is a bit out of fashion; there is a view on the lake, but limited because of cement wall on the balcony; there is the noise of the main road below, even with triple glazing; we heard lots of noises from nearby rooms, including one drunken guy shouting in the middle of the night; breakfast is ok; we paid 140 EUR, and I think we should have negociated the price down to 80 EUR, or continued on the road north along the lake: next day we saw plenty more places (in Meina and further on) that looked like a better choice; the service is somewhat anonymous; the mattress was made of two parts, and the pillow insufficient...

Room Tip: rooms on the back have no view on the lake, but at least they might be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pietro b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    42
    52
    24
    19
See reviews for
12
44
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in room 230 for one night : TO BE AVOIDED. Staff was nice but the hotel is old and ugly. The bathroom was disguting... definitly not worth the price. Te location is convenient but on the main road...

Room Tip: AVOID ROOM 230 ! Request the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreFrenchTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arona hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here on business for four weeks. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant serves some excellent food in the evening. Breakfast is a typical European buffet that I cant get excited about. The views of the lake and mountains are outstanding. The WiFi isn't the most reliable but free nor the air conditioning but then after travelling to Italy on a few occasions I've come to expect this from tired Italian hotels. The gym is what I can only describe as terrible, the equipment is very outdated what's left of it anyway.
But all said I would be more than happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a forward facing room over looking the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Powell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
192 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love staying at Hotel Concorde because of the wonderful views of Lake Magggiore. It's a 5-min walk from here to the town.
The beds are not very comfortable and the pillows are hard. But it's a clean place and the shower is good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 weeks recently, and as a hotel, I have stayed in worse. It is functional, and does the job, but is 'quirky'!

The room I stayed in was comfy, with a double bed, Sky TV, fridge (asked reception to remove all chargeable contents on day one), bath/shower and a room safe. Wifi was available free of charge throughout the hotel. I also had a balcony facing the lake, with views that were superb!

Not too sure on the functionality of the safe, as it wasn't open, and wasn't bolted down, so could be removed with ease from the room.

There were numerous (I am assuming light) switches next to the bed - after much experimentation I could only find one that worked.

The Sky TV is cranky, sometimes refusing to play at all, other times very good.

The WiFi is intermittent, and reception ranged from really good to pathetically poor.

I did use the laundry service whilst staying, and if you tell reception you have laundry as you leave the hotel then normally it will be returned that same evening.

The hotel also advertised a gym/fitness suite - which - if you are that way inclined - is not to be relied upon. It was in a poor state of repair, and the swimming pool was also closed. DO NOT rely on the photos on the website!

The bar/restaurant was very good, the food from the restaurant very good. In fact I recently emailed the hotel for a recipe from the restaurant, the request for which the chef was more than happy to oblige with.

In terms of location, it is a 5 minute walk from Arona town along a busy road, but also offers its own car park, so is extremely handy if you have a vehicle, and don't wish to try your luck finding one of the parking bays in town if you stay elsewhere.

The hotel staff are all friendly, can (mainly) speak good English, and are more than happy to assist /help where required.

Overall the hotel is a conundrum, some things good, other things not so good (but not bad)!

Would I stay here again? Having stayed elsewhere in Arona, I think yes!

Room Tip: Request Lake View - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leg2ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Business trip, hotel is definately showing its age. Rooms are ok, but dated, Wifi a bit hit and miss, SKY tv in the rooms, forget it, it doesn't work. Lake view rooms are well worth the stay. Easy walk into Arona, great bars and restaurants. Pretty good value for money overall.

Room Tip: Lake view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rattler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Read the previous reviews, it is obvious that this is NOT a flash 5 star lobby hotel and resort and you will be disappointed to come here for that. But.... It has a great location, an incredible view, cleaning staff who are amazingly diligent and helpful and even went the extra yards to dry my soaking boots (thanks Rosana and Marion)! It has good parking and foot access for the brave to the most picturesque village of Arona for drinks and dinners that were hard to beat. Close to Milan on the train, Malpensa for the airport, and Stressa for the islands and Montrone and only two and 1/2 easy hours drive to Zermatt.

Gym and pool closed while we were there, but walking up to San Carlos and further was great exercise indeed.

Hard to beat for value for money for couples, friends and business....and did we mention THAT view???

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arona
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#1 of 7 in Arona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Arona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 7 in Arona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#1 of 1 in Dormelletto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#7 of 7 in Arona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Hotel Villa Carlotta
#2 of 3 in Belgirate
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concorde

Property: Hotel Concorde
Address: Via Verbano 1, 28041, Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concorde 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Concorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing