We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal villa venue for exploring Marche” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa San Raffaello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarnano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa San Raffaello
Certificate of Excellence
Southgate
1 review
“Ideal villa venue for exploring Marche”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

Comfortable apartment and ensuite bedroom.
Swimming pool with views of mountains.
Individual private outside dining area.
20 min. walk to shops, cafes, restaurants, park , in nearby Sarnano.
Best feature was daytime mountain view, nightime town view.
Walk into town along busy roadside, not so pleasant. Would have preferred shorter distance along footpaths.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clitherow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

Damien, Sharon and the 2 children were wonderful hosts and we were very comfortable in the villa. It was decorated to a high standard with all that you would need, thoroughly enjoying the food, the wine, the country, the refreshing pool and our stay!

Sarnano was a gem and there was so much history and beautiful villages / towns to visit close by.

The pace was ideal and with the hire car available we explored further afield as well.....

Sarnano and the Marche region are a must to visit........beautiful!

  • Liked — The hospitality, the apartment and the pool.......wonderful
  • Disliked — nothing, no issues!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kada1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andycam108
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

Imagine my surprise when booking a short business trip to what I thought was a remote, semi-industrial town in the heart of Italy.

I googled the website (which by the way is superbly designed and very informative) and was immediately taken in by what the region of Le Marche seemed to have to offer. I had day free in my trip and, as a keen hiker, was keen to explore some of the Sibiliini mountains which extended up from the historic town of Sarnano.

Everything about this trip was 'spot on'. The villa itself was superb - a thoughtfully and very tastefully renovated typical Italian farmhouse which had been majestically transformed into four beautiful apartments by the owners Damien and Sharon Conrad, an English couple who moved out there from the UK with their two children four years ago.

My apartment was great with all the facilities you need and more - I was very pleasantly surprised. The scenery was unexpectedly breathtaking - the villa lies in the foothills of the Sibillini mountains with expansive views of both Sarnano and the mountains.

I managed to get that walking in with Damien and Sharon up to a small ski resort called Sassotetto - what a great day!

This trip has opened my eyes. Previously fond of Tuscany and Umbria, I think I've found a new Italian gem. My wife will be coming out with me next year for a proper holiday. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — Tasteful yet modern furniture in keeping with the Italian rustic style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andycam108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

We said we'd go back and we did! Our previous visit was in July last year, so this time we decided to sample the delights of Marche in autumn and weren't disappointed - far from it! If anything this holiday surpassed the first one. The villa in autumn is even more attractive; set as it is amongst gilding trees and vines and with the first dusting of snow on the mountain tops in the distance. The whole family couldn't have made us more welcome and this time generously gave us supplies of fresh organic vegetables from the Villa's own garden!

The whole week was very special with long al fresco lunches, glorious walks, snoozing in a hammock in the autumn sun, helping a neighbour harvest her grapes, visiting cantinas and consuming the results, watching our 16 month old grandson enjoying real freedom ....... blissfully relaxing.

Well done Damien,Sharon, Louis & Grace - the Villa San Raffaello goes from strength to strength!

  • Liked — Comfort, setting and delightful hosts
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rspjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Villa San Raffaello is a piece of paradise. It's situated in the Le Marche region of Italy between the Sibillini Mountains and the Adriatic. This lovingly restored farmhouse is within walking distance of the quaint hillside town, Sarnano. The area is gorgeous, sunflower fields, tall mountains, olive orchards and high meadows.

My husband, myself and our two daughters, ages 5 and 7 stayed for a week at the end of June and early July. It was quite a bit warmer than our coastal CA climate, but the cool pool, and trips to the gelateria saved us. The girls had a blast playing with the owners' children, they were both very sweet and hospitable, they must've gotten it from their parents, Sharon and Damien. We felt as though we were visiting friends at their estate with Sharon and Damien's easy personalities and warm demeanor. The whole family speaks Italian fluently and will bend over backwards to accommodate your needs and desires.

We loved taking lovely day trips from here, to the mountains, the sea and the Frassasi Caves, which we highly recommend. Definitely allow yourself some time to get used to road signs and travel time, we were constantly getting lost, but maybe that's just us :)

If you're looking for peace, relaxation, freedom, comfort and ease, this is the place for you. If you have children, it doesn't get better than this, it's kid friendly, you can feed them at will and make everyone's favorite meals. Grocery shopping is quite easy, and you can pick produce right from their garden, too, but if you'd like to go out, there are many options.

Choose this place if you're headed to Le Marche.

  • Liked — The comfort and the location.
  • Disliked — The lack of a/c or at least a fan and could use more towels.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coastalCAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Villa San Raffaello, is a large farmhouse and barn which has been converted in to four well equipped apartments. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment located on the 1st floor of the barn. Off the lounge there is a large balcony that overlooks a small courtyard and affords a spectacular view of the Sibbilini Mountains, is a fantastic place to eat a meal or just sit and relax with a glass of wine! The owners, Damien and Sharon have a large organic vegetable plot which is for the use of the guests; this is just one of the small touches that made our week at the villa so memorable. This being our 1st visit to the area, we can’t state enough how helpful Damien and Sharon were, supplying information about local events/festivities, walking itineraries etc.
Sarnano is a very nice town with thriving bars and restaurants’ (some of the décor is very 70’s but the food is of the highest standard and very reasonable in price). It seems to come alive after 9 pm with families out for an evening stroll or bars that have live music, the Italians do like their tribute bands, the two we saw were quite good.
To sum up the week at Villa San Raffaello: Great accommodation, great location, great time!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Grey_Moptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

We are a bit late writing this review as we came back from Villa San Rafaello at the end of July and its now middle of September but hope it will be useful for next years travellers.

We, (myself, wife, 4 year old, 2 year old and grandparents for 1 of the weeks) stayed in the upstairs x2 bed apartment (Elise I think it was called) which was superbly appointed as was the rest of the Villa. Secure, child friendly (with stair gates and netting over the balcony railings for extra security) so we could be pretty relaxed about the children. Eating on the balcony in the evening was a pleasure as the views to Sarnarno and the sibilini mountains were fabulous. The swimming pool was a good size, warm and the main attraction for the children. If I had one suggestion it would be for a little more shade in the nature of parrasols but that's a minor point and didnt seem to worry the 2 year old even though she's a red-head.

Sarnarno was a pretty little villlage with most everyting you need in the way of food and daily necessaries but our favourate was probably Amandola, about 10 mins south with a lovely square ringed with cafe/pattisseries/pizzeria etc. The area had some excellent restaurants many of which are reviewed in the information compiled by Damien and Sharon for the guests.

Le marche itself is rural, very pretty and sometimes spectacular in its scenery with lakes, mountains, gorges to explore although very young children make it hard to go off the beaten track. The beaches on the Adriatic are accessible (although at least an hour's drive), clean and in the first half of July remarkably quiet.

Damien and Sharon have worked hard to provide a comfortable, safe, relaxing and friendly holiday environment and I wish them all the best for the future. got to go now, the baby's pulling at my leg!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Matildahilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnano
18.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
#1 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novidra Resort & Spa
Novidra Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Sarnano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Serpanera
Agriturismo Serpanera
#3 of 7 in Sarnano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Agriturismo Ramuse
Agriturismo Ramuse
#1 of 1 in Force
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence - B&B VerdeQuiete
4.1 mi away
La Sibilla Parco Hotel
La Sibilla Parco Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sarnano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Raffaello

Property: Villa San Raffaello
Address: Contrada Case Rosse 278 | Sarnano, 62028 Sarnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Macerata > Sarnano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sarnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Italian farmhouse; nestling in 8 acres of wonderful Le Marche countryside, divided into 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with original architectural features, stylish interiors, gardens, loggia, vineyard and a large pool with stunning 360' views. Situated 1km outside the bustling medieval town of Sarnano and the mountainous Sibillini National Park, the area boasts a dramatic landscape, medieval villages, art, history, beaches, delicious food & wine, over 20 great restaurants and bars and fantastic summer festas within 5 minutes of the Villa. Baby sitting service, high speed internet throughout, board games, movies, music and book library, pick our own free organic fruit, vegetables and herbs. Free hiking and cycling intineraries, comprehensive tips on where to go and what to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing