We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant time in a very special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarnano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa San Raffaello
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant time in a very special place”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Villa San Raffaello is a little bit of paradise in the hidden gem of Italy that is Le Marche. We loved the tranquility of the villa, a villa which must have one of the best views in Italy! It has been very tastefully renovated by Damien and Sharon the owners, who have real eye for detail and creative style. We loved the spacious apartment, the pool, hammocks and the outdoor pergolas nestled between the vineyards and maize fields that surround the villa - it all makes for a fantastic holiday. Sarnano was a real delight with great bars and restaurants - the tiny Memphis Belle bar is a "must visit" as are the many delights of the nearby mountains such as the restaurants and the idyllic lake. A great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

What an incredible opportunity for our extended family of 12 to be together at this Villa! It is central and is easy access to the many beautiful hillside villages of Le Marche. The owner, Damien, is a wealth of information. Upon our arrival, he mentioned a festival in the nearby village of Colmurano. Not only were our children mesmerized by the international performances, we had an incredible dinner with views of the hillside with an overwhelming sunset. We cooked delicious meals each night and our children played hide and seek and tag with families from Australia and England. The day trips to Lake Fiastra, Tolentino, and the beaches of the Adriatic were a highlight but the time spent over deliciously prepared meals at the villa's outdoor pergola and gardens topped the rest of the trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a fantastic time in the Villa and Damian was a great host who really helped us with advise where to go, where to eat, which wine to buy (5 liter for 8 euro at the bakery!! Excellent Rosso Piceno), and even which outlets to go for! We stayed in the Elisa apartment which offers great views over Sarnano. The pool was excellent and also offered great views over Sarnano and the mountains. The appartment had everything you needed, and Damian welcomed us with wine, water, juice, bread and some other things to get us going for the first night. Damian also has lots of games, music, books, DVDs and other stuff you dont think about bringing but we appreciated having available. We were so content with the villa that we ended up spending a lot of time relaxing near the pool instead of venturing out. We were very lucky to share the week with a great family from Norway and England and we ended up enjoying evenings at the campfire with everyone including Damian. He is a walking tourguide and a proud owner of a very special place.

Room Tip: We loved the ELisa appartment as it offers great views from the balcony over Sarnano. Great for brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a pleasant surprise at the end of our first trip to Italy. Villa San Raffaello and its gracious host, Damien, provided great guidance and suggestions in our search for connections to ancestors. We would not have succeeed without suggestion from him. The Villa provides a very comfortable plce to relax after exploring this beautiful region. Not overrun by tourists, Sarnano is an easy walk with great restaurants and stores. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer to explore the countryside. We definetely will return again.

Room Tip: Explore this beautiful and relaxing region with its quaint towns and history. The viila is a haven t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobH1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Now of course we were lucky with the perfect early summer weather, the stunning wild flower displays on mountains and in lanes, the sighting of cuckoos and hoopoes (we even heard nightingales nearby!) and even the extraordinary Euro exchange rate. But Villa San Raffaelo (VSR) was the ideal launch pad for a wonderful and memorable holiday in this stunning part of La Marche.

We loved the house and grounds of VSR enjoying its many aspects from the large pool-with-a-view to gorgeous warm evenings sat around the fire pit barbecuing the local pork and watching the sunset over the Sybillian mountains. The Elisa apartment was comfortable and cool with a balcony that must boast one of the finest views in the region. The bird life and their songs were so distracting they nearly put us off our reading and from the pool we even saw hare gambolling in fields.

Hospitality from the owners was great; a lovely friendly welcome and they were a mine of useful information about the area from walks to markets and butchers to ‘must see’ sites and buildings.

We’ll definitely be back; VSR helped us fall in love with the Sybillian mountains, the under-stated but fascinating Sarnano and the stunning scenery, wildlife, food and hospitality of this part of La Marche which remains blissfully off the main tourist trails.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich-du-Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Ryanair got us there on time (which is all we expect from them!) and the drive from Ancona airport to the villa was easy and through attractive countryside. We knew immediately on arrival in Sarnano that we would love the town and we were right. And even more so for the villa itself. Beautifully restored accommodation in lovely grounds with a great pool - what more could you want? Well, if you do want more - the local area is rich with touring opportunity, from the mountains to the coast through some stunning towns and churches. Add to that great local food and wine, the thoughtfully prepared itineraries left by the owner, the several al fresco dining areas around the villa and the great company we had brought with us, which all meant a fantastic week's holiday in Le Marche.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

A week in ELISA lived up to expectations but nothing can quite describe the relaxation of sitting on the balcony after a good day's walking watching the light fade behind Sarnarno and the Sibillini mountains. An excellent base for visiting the national park which has botanical treasures galore in early June. Damien is an excellent host and it was lovely to arrive around midnight to find a welcoming note and a stock of essential supplies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnano
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Serpanera
Agriturismo Serpanera
#3 of 7 in Sarnano
34 reviews
5.8 mi away
Il Nascondiglio - The Hideaway
0.0 mi away
Antica Dimora
Antica Dimora
#4 of 7 in Sarnano
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Agriturismo Ramuse
Agriturismo Ramuse
#1 of 1 in Force
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence - B&B VerdeQuiete
1.1 mi away
Novidra Resort & Spa
Novidra Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Sarnano
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Raffaello

Property: Villa San Raffaello
Address: Contrada Case Rosse 278 | Sarnano, 62028 Sarnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Macerata > Sarnano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sarnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Italian farmhouse; nestling in 8 acres of wonderful Le Marche countryside, divided into 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with original architectural features, stylish interiors, gardens, loggia, vineyard and a large pool with stunning 360' views. Situated 1km outside the bustling medieval town of Sarnano and the mountainous Sibillini National Park, the area boasts a dramatic landscape, medieval villages, art, history, beaches, delicious food & wine, over 20 great restaurants and bars and fantastic summer festas within 5 minutes of the Villa. Baby sitting service, high speed internet throughout, board games, movies, music and book library, pick our own free organic fruit, vegetables and herbs. Free hiking and cycling intineraries, comprehensive tips on where to go and what to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing