We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarnano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa San Raffaello
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed for 3 weeks in apartment Grazia while house hunting in Le Marche. Since we arrived in May and the other apartments were empty, Damien let us see all of the apartments. They are all very spacious with well appointed kitchens and bathrooms.

The views from San Raffaello are a pleasure on the eye, the light sometimes making the view of the old town of Sarnano truly spectacular.

A particular feature of the property is the 14 metre swimming pool. However, the star of the show is Damien Conrad. His knowledge of the area is truly encyclopedic. He seems personally to have taken every hike for miles around and visited every church, castle, museum and restaurant within striking distance. Unlike many Brits abroad, Damien has also made a point of becoming an integral part of the local community. This means he can introduce you to some of those rare cultural experiences that only come with someone who has rich local knowledge. Culture and cuisine are our 2 main interests when travelling, and I can't think of a better place to get both in southern Marche than Villa San Raffaello.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cramsdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 203 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stay early May for 4 nights and we all had a great time , the apartment was very comfortable and had all we needed . Damien plugged us into all the right places to go and see and eat . If your going to stay in Sarnano it would hard to go wrong at this Villa

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrantMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

This was our second visit , we had also stayed in August 2009. Once again we had a fabulous time. We loved the beautiful surroundings, beautiful accomodation and friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I was looking over my holiday pics this past week-end and I came across our trip to Sarnano and realised I had not posted the review of Villa San Raffaelo that I had meant to (back in Oct).

This lovingly restored farm house is the perfect place to stay if you are after a relaxing getaway. My husband and I stayed here following a recommendation from friends and we were not disappointed. Damian, the owner was lovely and very accomodating. The villa itself was cozy, clean and for the most part perfect. The view of Sarnano and the mountains from our balcony was stunning.

Great food, great wine, great scenery!! We can't wait to go back (and this time we're taking family and friends).

Jenny Harding

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jdharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We, family of five with children aged 7, 5 and 3, had a great holiday at the villa of Damian and Sharon: a beautiful villa with great apartments in wonderful Le Marche. Damien and Sharon are excellent hosts with very good suggestions for day trips to nearby villages, mountain lake, Adriatic beaches, restaurants etc. The apartment we rented was beautiful, spacious and very well equipped. The lovely garden with home grown vegetables had lovely "eat-out-terraces" and a great pool with a stunning view of the nearby city of Sarnano. We highly recommend Villa San Raffaello for a relaxed holiday in a lovely home, located in a wonderful region of Italy where scenery is equally beautiful but prices are much better than Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JorisFloorBrechtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Beautiful surroundings and a lovely village, a perfect family holiday destination and a great place to stay, the rooms were comfortable, the complex was friendly and very helpful. Would defiantly recommend this for a great family holiday!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zambuca94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Holidays at Villa San Raffaello,
For starters we were very enchanted by the website, which is very complete and informative. There was no need for second thoughts at all, seeing the pictures, reviews and guiding info’s, so we did an early booking.
Arriving at San Raffaello was quite a relief, not only for the car journey and the heat at the time but we arrived too early (we watch Top Gear) and Damian gave us possibilities for sanitary and swimming pool instantly , which were very welcome for some of us. This actually means that you relax, the moment you arrive. Having the opportunity, at arrival, of comparing the website pictures with reality, I must say the pictures are almost as promising as things are for real.
The apartment was very nice, clean and well taken care of. The hot-cold water and water pressure in the bathroom and kitchen worked perfectly (not common in Italian villa’s). Lots of dvd’s and games for kids and family and an impressive collection of literature (marvellous history of British Punk too). Even when storm, one couldn’t get bored. Fresh veggies from the villa’s garden and very very welcome; the herbal garden (parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme - from the song - and fresh basil too), along with the regional specialties of the local shops, the best to fix your Italian diners.
You have any questions about what to do? In comparison with Italian holiday standards and Italians themselves (believe me, we know), we have the most certain impression that Sharon and Damian are much more aware about the who, which, where, what and to do’s, not only in Sarnano, but in the whole region of Le Marche. There’s loads to see concerning culture and history, towns, villages and Borgia’s. It’s quite simple, just follow the info’s Sharon and Damian give you on eating, drinking, sports and culture and simply enjoy it (don’t miss the hang gliding – Suuuper).Villa San Raffaello is the first Italian holiday in about 12 years where all 4 of us are unanimous: we will go back. There will probably be some minors, but we simply forgot about them, the plusses were over present.
Luc, Lieve, Robin and Zoë Janssen, Belgium.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gohehe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarnano hotels
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Serpanera
Agriturismo Serpanera
#3 of 7 in Sarnano
37 reviews
2 mi away
Antica Dimora
Antica Dimora
#4 of 7 in Sarnano
82 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence - B&B VerdeQuiete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Raffaello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Raffaello

Address: Contrada Case Rosse 278 | Sarnano, 62028 Sarnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Marche > Province of Macerata > Sarnano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Sarnano
Price Range: $35 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Italian farmhouse; nestling in 8 acres of wonderful Le Marche countryside, divided into 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with original architectural features, stylish interiors, gardens, loggia, vineyard and a large pool with stunning 360' views. Situated 1km outside the bustling medieval town of Sarnano and the mountainous Sibillini National Park, the area boasts a dramatic landscape, medieval villages, art, history, beaches, delicious food & wine, over 20 great restaurants and bars and fantastic summer festas within 5 minutes of the Villa. Baby sitting service, high speed internet throughout, board games, movies, music and book library, pick our own free organic fruit, vegetables and herbs. Free hiking and cycling intineraries, comprehensive tips on where to go and what to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing