We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing fresh and natural food”
Review of Verde Caffe

Verde Caffe
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 9/15
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 173 Restaurants in Macerata
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 24, 2019 via mobile

Visited with family - 7 in total - despite us speaking poco Italiano the waitresses were very helpful and guided us through the fantastic menu.
Great food, veggie and tasty - what more can you ask for - highly recommend!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 1970BlueNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2019

Verde Caffè is THE place to have lunch in the historical center of Macerata. All the professors of the university go there. I even saw the rector of the university himself. I had lunch there three days in a row: it was always different, delicious, original, and cheap. A lot of organic food. I recommend the mix (misto) of small portions of different dishes you can choose yourself, so you can taste from a lot of specialties. The complete portions of each dish are so large. Very kind and attentive service, although it is always busy at lunch. Try to be there well before 1 pm, that is before the rush hour.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travellerfromfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

We were seduced by the menu board outside and could find the last table in the shadow. There is a vast choice of salads that are freshly prepared and somewhat 'alternative'.
Not all salads are light as potatoe is considered a vegetable in Italy and the potatoe-tuna-bean salad we had contained too much of potatoe to be good.
The caprese of our daughter was originally presented and very tastey.
Recommendation if you want a light lunch in Macerata.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JurgenVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019

We booked ahead last summer before attending the opera at the Sferisterio on a Saturday evening. When we arrived (on time as, the same with many other people eating there, we needed to be at the opera house two hours later) the tables hadn't been set up. We waited for ten minutes or so, sat a table, to be told after five minutes that we had to move because that table was always used by a particular client. We objected, there was no reservation sign and we had already been there over 15 minutes, and the guy serving us then said we could stay. He then said he wasn't sure the particular client was coming anyway. Not a great start to the evening, and it went downhill from there. Three main issues. The service was so slow, we barely made it to the opera house on time. People who arrived after us and were going to the opera were still waiting for their main courses when we left. When we ordered a second bottle of the white wine we were drinking, they'd run out. How can you run out of an ordinary wine early on a Saturday evening? The waiter said, in fact, they had had only one bottle of the wine we had ordered: pity he didn't tell us that before. Worst of all, this place prides itself on being vegetarian. We hadn't expected the presentation to be more like aircraft food than a restaurant, but so be it. The waiter was at pains to tell us that the mayonnaise was vegan, which was great. As three of us are vegetarian, we felt confident we had chosen a good place to eat. Pity that the waiter didn't tell us the Russian Salad contained tuna! Tuna is not vegetarian, and who puts tuna in a Russian Salad? So, if you need to be somewhere else two hours later, be aware you might have a problem; and if you're vegetarian, don't assume the food is, in fact, vegetarian.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank JohnT0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

An intriguing and delicious menu. The quality of the ingredients is obvious whatever you order, and the friendly staff are knowledgeable about the dishes. The desserts are not to be missed.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susanjwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verde Caffe also viewed

Macerata, Province of Macerata
Macerata, Province of Macerata
 
Macerata, Province of Macerata
Macerata, Province of Macerata
 
Macerata, Province of Macerata
Macerata, Province of Macerata
 

Been to Verde Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing