We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel for 1 night-stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Camin Colmegna
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel itself is very well located, on the river of the lake. If you get a room on the lake side it's better, otherwise you have the road on the other side which is never pleasant...
The little terrace on the river of the lake is really the perfect spot to enjoy a beer at the sunset.
The room was clean and comfy. The breakfast was abundant and well presented. I'd definitely come back even though a little bit expensive...

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side (parking side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 283 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have chosen this hotel because we read that it is the building from 18th century, and we wanted to feel the spirit of past. And it was perfect!
If you want wide open balconies or elevator, this is not a place for you. But we were really enjoying every minute of our stay. We had de luxe room in the attic; windows on the floor and two very steep stairways to get in; but it was part of its charm.
Room was very clean and comfortable, bathroom large and clean, towels changing every day, all staff very kind and helpful. Breakfast buffet style, with great variety of food.
But garden and bar are above all; really fantastic! Not only to walk beside the lake, but with few hidden corners where you can seat and relax. We also had a dinner in restaurant with some friends, and everything was perfect.
The only fault is that you have to pay for using coffee machine in the room, what is not usual in some other hotels that range. Also internet signal in our room was poor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edobosarevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Hotel looked great on the website but is even more beautiful in reality. The fabulous gardens and sun lounge area beside the lake are well spaced out and there is a lovely drinks cabin to keep you refreshed lakeside. We had a lovely spacious standard room (only room left) with a well equipped shower room. Dinner was really good, taken on the elegant terrace overlooking the lake and cute little harbour, breakfast was very good and taken on a different lakeside terrace. There are cute places with comfy cushioned sofas dotted around the hotel, perfect for drinks or coffee and complimentary homemade cake, fab. The gardens are amazing and extensive with lots of shade for reading or strolling, and a lovely jacuzzi by the lake, bliss but here even the car park is attractively tree covered. Both the owner and her very pleasant staff really know how to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

GIven the 4 star rating we have given Hotel Camin you are probably expecting less glowing report. The 4 stars relate to the fact that we had to clime 90+ steps to reach our appt. and that the appt. had several faults - no mirror in bathroom, no washing machine etc. That aside we absolutely love this place. The appt. is otherwise well equipped and comfy and has the most spectacular view of Lake Maggiore and is entirely private (we had the top appt) which is recommended apart from the clime!

We stayed in the Hotel years ago and loved it. We love this appt more.

Room Tip: Get the highest Appartment only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Direttore at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we chose the camin hotel for the location, we where not wrong, we stayed in one of the new top rooms. it was very stylish,clean,crisp with wonderful views over the lake. to wake up here and the first thing you see is the lake and the mountains, heaven.from the manager [ lara ] to the cleaning staff everybody was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.the terraces are ideal for al fresco breakfast to dinner with little quite places to read or rest around the hotel grounds, the food is very good, the wine list excellent. we had a wonderful holiday here and will return again. jag

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag21traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Proprietario at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guests!
Thanks a lot for your marvelous comments on our hotel!
We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel soon.
Kind Regards,
Camin Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I should make it clear we did not stay in the hotel, but dropped in for lunch one hot day. The terrace has a fabulous view over the lake and the food, although not strikingly original, is good, as is the service and the wine list is impressive. The only drawback was that the sheltered location of the terrace, which was entirely covered by an awning, meant that the bulid up of heat beame excessive - some fans to move the hot air on still days are needed. After lunch, we took a stroll inthe gardens, which are stunning, and make you feel that you have stepped back into another era (no one would be able to afford to buy such extensive grounds these days).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NPK209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First things first - this is truly a beautiful hotel in a superb location and is stylish and very well managed by Lara Luz and her very pleasant staff. But - be aware that there are only two rooms (one standard and one suite) with balconies, so you will not have a private area to sit or sunbathe. However the gardens are extensive and we had no problem finding a quiet spot.

Also note that none of the rooms (including the suites) have a bath tub in the bathroom. Some things didn't feel right - the towels in the bathroom were painfully thin - we've had better at Premier Inns. We were only given bath robes if we asked for them. The hairdryer in the bathroom overheated.

There is a keen eye for the fast buck in the hotel - use the coffee making machine in your room at your peril,as you will be charged every time you do, and this is the first hotel, in more than 40 years of travelling, where we have been charged for sunbed towels.

Lara's response when we raised concerns about out room (pre-booked ad paid for last October) was interesting - she immediately asked if we wanted to leave rather than listening to and responding to our concerns,.

We stayed for the week - and had a really relaxing holiday once we set aside the hotel's limitations. It has aspirations to be a grand hotel in the style of those across the lake, but doesn't quite pay enough attention to detail. Interestingly, there were no other UK guests or any guests from the USA.
So - don't be put off by our rather bathroom-centric review (it just happens to be important to us) but do be aware of what you will find when you get there!

Oh - and check out their sister hotel in Luino - it may be better equipped, but we didn't investigate.

Room Tip: Check that you have a balcony if you want one and that you have air conditioning - some have fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brymac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Direttore generale at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We thank you very much for having chosen Camin Hotel Colmegna for your holiday and we are happy that you spend a beautiful and relaxing week in our hotel. We thank you also for your review that will help us to improve so that we can make unforgettable the holiday of our guests.
Concerning your complains:
We are sorry that you didn’t like the towels in the rooms, we ensure you that they are high quality towels.
Concerning the towels for the beach, we inform you that you pay only the first (Euro 3,00) and the another are free of charge.
We thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again in the future as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luino
1.8 mi away
Camin Hotel Luino
Camin Hotel Luino
#2 of 3 in Luino
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#2 of 2 in Maccagno
42 reviews
10.6 mi away
Il Porticciolo Hotel
Il Porticciolo Hotel
#2 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
202 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rondinella
Hotel La Rondinella
#6 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
37 reviews
18 mi away
Il Sole Di Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco
#1 of 2 in Ranco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camin Colmegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camin Colmegna

Address: Via Angelo Palazzi 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Price Range: $203 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camin Colmegna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camin Hotel Colmegna: an historic villa surrounded by a centuries-old park Meticulous attention to detail, a restful ambience and a range of facilities for families with children but also for sports enthusiasts. Here you will find numerous golf courses and trails for cyclists, as well as plenty of opportunities for sailing and boat trips on Lake Maggiore. Come and stay with us, whether you want to relax, explore the unspoilt nature that surrounds us or enjoy the splendid views, you will find a magical corner of paradise awaiting you. Our 30 rooms are all different as to decoration and size, yet they share a common feature: they were expressly designed and intended to pamper our guests. All rooms are furnished in Mediterranean style and have flatscreen TV sets with satellite reception, direct phone line, minibar, air conditioning, safe-deposit box and free WiFi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Camin Colmegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing