We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot - would revisit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Camin Colmegna
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

GIven the 4 star rating we have given Hotel Camin you are probably expecting less glowing report. The 4 stars relate to the fact that we had to clime 90+ steps to reach our appt. and that the appt. had several faults - no mirror in bathroom, no washing machine etc. That aside we absolutely love this place. The appt. is otherwise well equipped and comfy and has the most spectacular view of Lake Maggiore and is entirely private (we had the top appt) which is recommended apart from the clime!

We stayed in the Hotel years ago and loved it. We love this appt more.

Room Tip: Get the highest Appartment only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Direttore at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 276 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

we chose the camin hotel for the location, we where not wrong, we stayed in one of the new top rooms. it was very stylish,clean,crisp with wonderful views over the lake. to wake up here and the first thing you see is the lake and the mountains, heaven.from the manager [ lara ] to the cleaning staff everybody was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.the terraces are ideal for al fresco breakfast to dinner with little quite places to read or rest around the hotel grounds, the food is very good, the wine list excellent. we had a wonderful holiday here and will return again. jag

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag21traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Proprietario at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guests!
Thanks a lot for your marvelous comments on our hotel!
We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel soon.
Kind Regards,
Camin Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I should make it clear we did not stay in the hotel, but dropped in for lunch one hot day. The terrace has a fabulous view over the lake and the food, although not strikingly original, is good, as is the service and the wine list is impressive. The only drawback was that the sheltered location of the terrace, which was entirely covered by an awning, meant that the bulid up of heat beame excessive - some fans to move the hot air on still days are needed. After lunch, we took a stroll inthe gardens, which are stunning, and make you feel that you have stepped back into another era (no one would be able to afford to buy such extensive grounds these days).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank NPK209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

First things first - this is truly a beautiful hotel in a superb location and is stylish and very well managed by Lara Luz and her very pleasant staff. But - be aware that there are only two rooms (one standard and one suite) with balconies, so you will not have a private area to sit or sunbathe. However the gardens are extensive and we had no problem finding a quiet spot.

Also note that none of the rooms (including the suites) have a bath tub in the bathroom. Some things didn't feel right - the towels in the bathroom were painfully thin - we've had better at Premier Inns. We were only given bath robes if we asked for them. The hairdryer in the bathroom overheated.

There is a keen eye for the fast buck in the hotel - use the coffee making machine in your room at your peril,as you will be charged every time you do, and this is the first hotel, in more than 40 years of travelling, where we have been charged for sunbed towels.

Lara's response when we raised concerns about out room (pre-booked ad paid for last October) was interesting - she immediately asked if we wanted to leave rather than listening to and responding to our concerns,.

We stayed for the week - and had a really relaxing holiday once we set aside the hotel's limitations. It has aspirations to be a grand hotel in the style of those across the lake, but doesn't quite pay enough attention to detail. Interestingly, there were no other UK guests or any guests from the USA.
So - don't be put off by our rather bathroom-centric review (it just happens to be important to us) but do be aware of what you will find when you get there!

Oh - and check out their sister hotel in Luino - it may be better equipped, but we didn't investigate.

Room Tip: Check that you have a balcony if you want one and that you have air conditioning - some have fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brymac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Direttore generale at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We thank you very much for having chosen Camin Hotel Colmegna for your holiday and we are happy that you spend a beautiful and relaxing week in our hotel. We thank you also for your review that will help us to improve so that we can make unforgettable the holiday of our guests.
Concerning your complains:
We are sorry that you didn’t like the towels in the rooms, we ensure you that they are high quality towels.
Concerning the towels for the beach, we inform you that you pay only the first (Euro 3,00) and the another are free of charge.
We thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again in the future as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wonderful old hotel, family run by Lara and great staff. Ask for room on the lake, and wander the gardens that date back to 1700's. Little nooks and crannies to explore and sit in privacy with incredible lake views. Only warning, they do lots of weddings in spring, summer and fall so just be aware but not enough to bother. We would recommend or stay again ourselves.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DavidLausanne1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After a smooth blast in our 6m boat across the lake from Stresa, we moored in the hotel marina before enjoying a sumptuous lunch with our business colleagues from New Zealand and Lugano. The usual terrace under the vines was booked for a wedding but the alternate setting of the side terrace overlooking the lake, was still beautiful. All of our guests loved their food, which ranged from Tempura style freshwater scampi to ravioli "pillows" which were by all accounts simply divine!
A great kids menu was a big hit and not that common at this type of classic restaurant. They even had Nesquick available for self help choclate drinks - my 6 year old wee man was impressed. Service was excellent and befitting the glorious location. After lunch we simply walked the 50 metres back to the marina and headed off across the lake with satisfaction beaming from all on board. We will be back with other visitors from NZ during the summer for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Straight off the lakeside road into the car park of this oasis, an older property tastefully maintained on a beautiful stretch of the lake. The staff could not have been more friendly, the comfortable room was furnished simply, firm bed for a good night's sleep, balcony with lovely lake view to sit out on, classy breakfast, such civilised relaxation. Good value for what is offered.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luino
1.8 mi away
Camin Hotel Luino
Camin Hotel Luino
#2 of 3 in Luino
109 reviews
18.0 mi away
Il Sole Di Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco
#1 of 2 in Ranco
154 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Del Pesce
Hotel Del Pesce
#3 of 3 in Luino
56 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
0.8 mi away
Albergo Torre Imperiale
Albergo Torre Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Maccagno
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camin Colmegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camin Colmegna

Address: Via Angelo Palazzi 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Price Range: $136 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camin Colmegna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camin Hotel Colmegna: an historic villa surrounded by a centuries-old park Meticulous attention to detail, a restful ambience and a range of facilities for families with children but also for sports enthusiasts. Here you will find numerous golf courses and trails for cyclists, as well as plenty of opportunities for sailing and boat trips on Lake Maggiore. Come and stay with us, whether you want to relax, explore the unspoilt nature that surrounds us or enjoy the splendid views, you will find a magical corner of paradise awaiting you. Our 30 rooms are all different as to decoration and size, yet they share a common feature: they were expressly designed and intended to pamper our guests. All rooms are furnished in Mediterranean style and have flatscreen TV sets with satellite reception, direct phone line, minibar, air conditioning, safe-deposit box and free WiFi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Camin Colmegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing