We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location on the shore of lake maggiore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Camin Colmegna
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Amazing location with fantastic views across the lake, with a beautiful outside area to spend the evening. The restaurant has glass frontage allowing views across the lake the food was very good. Rooms were adequate but very clean and usable. Ideal location would love the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

We loved this hotel. We stayed in Casa Lago Maggiorre located right above the lake- we could see the lake and mountains right from our bed, and have an easy swim at any time!! Hotel itself is surrounded by beautiful garden right on the beach, with lots of private romantic hiding places to spent with your spouse or just relax and meditate. Hotel owner Lara (gracious and in charge) and her international staff are very hospitable and helpful, e.g. Lisa (from Kyrgyzstan) at the front desk who speaks many languages was always available when in we were in a bind (e.g. once on a Wednesday Market day in Luino, she gave us a ride back), Angie (from Sri Lanka) was always patient and made us feel attended too.
Food at the hotel restaurant was the best we had during our 2 week trip in Italy.
Points of consideration: a) Casa is located on a busy highway; going to/ fro and crossing requires caution for some 100-200m; b) there is a 70 step walk up; c) TV receives no English-speaking channels.

Room Tip: we stayed not in a main building but in 1-bedroom suite located about 300m from hotel. It is very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olgagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Like being in a romantic movie with the lake sunset and nice weather. People were very professional and friendly, especially the Asian girl (Lisa?) at the reception and the owner Lara. A place worth spending more time enjoing the peace and the amazing surroundings. Advisable for couples searching a romantic week-end or just to relax in the terrasse watching the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank takashikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel delivers quality beyond the prices it charges. A dreamlike location on the eastern shore of Lake Maggiore; probably the best view from any hotel window in Europe. The grounds/gardens are wonderful, with an unending choice of the perfect place to sit at any time of day. Fantastic welcome and continued great service from a staff team that reflects the passion and attention to detail of the owner.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PietroRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We found this place last year, almost by accident, and so loved it that we returned, en route from further south to Switzerland. It's on the quiet but sunnier east side of Maggiore, and has quite stunning views over the lake, and gorgeous terraces and gardens. We loved the lawned swimming area - straight into the crystal clear waters of the lake - and the open air jacuzzi. Several staff warmly remembered us from last year, which was touching, and the food was generous and tasty. Staff all seem to speak English, so our limited Italian was never tested. It's very child-friendly too, but you come to expect that in Italy. Many guests bring their dogs, too. It's not cheap, and the road might be intrusive for some rooms (it's not that bad, a B-road by UK standards), but we have always felt it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rudyrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed in July 2009, the hotel was wonderful, staff were friendly, views were amazing, rooms comfortable, the perfect getaway for a relaxing break! and that was it is for, it is not a nighlife place!! It is in on the quiet side and a do stock up on the essentials - books, magazines, etc. etc. as Luino is the nearest town but you cannot really walk it as there's a tunnel!! Having a car would be advisable, but taxi's are widely availble. All in all, its a wonderful place! ten out of ten!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Great hotel and friendly staff. It was near the end of the season so just a word of advice.
Have a car with you for getting around. It is not advisable to walk to either of the nearest boat piers as the busy road has no pavement. Also, there was only one taxi (apparently) in Luino. Trains are every two hours from the halt near the hotel, but from Luino southwards there are up to 5 hour gaps in the timetable (!).
May be less of a problem in mid-season.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrackTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luino
1.8 mi away
Camin Hotel Luino
Camin Hotel Luino
#2 of 3 in Luino
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#2 of 2 in Maccagno
43 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Il Porticciolo Hotel
Il Porticciolo Hotel
#2 of 3 in Laveno-Mombello
65 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Rondinella
Hotel La Rondinella
#6 of 6 in Cannero Riviera
37 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Margherita
Hotel Villa Margherita
#1 of 2 in Oggebbio
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camin Colmegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camin Colmegna

Address: Via Angelo Palazzi 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Price Range: $205 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Camin Colmegna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camin Hotel Colmegna: an historic villa surrounded by a centuries-old park Meticulous attention to detail, a restful ambience and a range of facilities for families with children but also for sports enthusiasts. Here you will find numerous golf courses and trails for cyclists, as well as plenty of opportunities for sailing and boat trips on Lake Maggiore. Come and stay with us, whether you want to relax, explore the unspoilt nature that surrounds us or enjoy the splendid views, you will find a magical corner of paradise awaiting you. Our 30 rooms are all different as to decoration and size, yet they share a common feature: they were expressly designed and intended to pamper our guests. All rooms are furnished in Mediterranean style and have flatscreen TV sets with satellite reception, direct phone line, minibar, air conditioning, safe-deposit box and free WiFi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Camin Colmegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing