We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Massimino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Massimino
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

great hotel ,we had been on a cruise the week before and wanted a non Rome city hotel. This hotel is approx 3km from the lake and old town(beautiful place) A five minute walk to the station which takes you into Rome-the fast train approx 30 mins , slow train 50. Only 10mins into Braccioni(where tom cruise got married). The family running their hotel couldn`t do enough for you , from offering to take your washing to the local launderette or even if you got lost picking you up. Ok Italian breakfasts not the best but that aside the restaurant food excellent on an evening-try their local sparkling wine to go with fantastic food. Our 14 and 16 year old loved the friendliness from the owners and locals. If you want anymore info email me on john1edmondson@aol.com. trust me i`m fussy but loved this hotel. p.s car recommended if you want to explore the lake

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    113
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
92
108
20
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Together with my husband and two friends we spent three nights at the Hotel Massimino, the perfect location for our trips to Rome. However, our stay proved to be much more than that as it appeared to be the perfect homecoming every evening. We were welcomed, given cool drinks and antipasta and after having taken a shower and changed clothes, were spoilt by diner and drinks. Davido, who speaks English perfectly, was soon trusted to serve us what he thought would suit us. For us no menucards, but the delicious home-made Italian food recommended by him. His mum, being one of the cooks, must be one of the best makers of tiramisu and panna-cotta. His grandfather, whom we would have liked to adopt, was seen to buy fresh vegetables and fruit at the corner every day and contibuted in the kitchen as well. A true family run hotel we recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massimin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We must admit when we first arrived at the hotel, we were a little skeptical because it was on a commercial strip of road and there was construction going on, but after we got settled we realized what good hands we were in. There is nothing that Ottavio, Davide or Max would not do for us to make our time there as nice as they could. And we're sorry we discovered the restaurant on our last night because the food and and the service was terrific. We tried many different dishes but most of all we loved the pasta and the pizza.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flankenshteaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed at Massimino on June 12-13. The hotel is located about 200 m from the train station, which is very convenient, and about 4 km from downtown (lake shore). One can take local buses which run every half hour and charge one Euro. This is a fairly new hotel, and thus all furniture and appliances are in great condition. The rooms are large and the bathroom is huge and ventilated. The room has independent air conditioning unit, large TV with cable, frig., phone, wireless internet, and large closet.

The room price includes a very decent buffet. The restaurant offers great meals at very reasonable prices, service is great in general.

This seems to be a family operated hotel, but they are all very friendly and try to help in any way, and also to cook some foods not in the menu....my wife really wanted to eat eggs for breakfeast, and they did cook scramble eggs with ham for her, Splendid!

Should you want to go to Bracciano? just jump on the train (1.3 Euro) which runs every half hour to Bracciano and back to Rome through Anguillara...it is only a 20 minutes ride.

We strongly recommend Massimino hotel. We plan to come back! ...oh, and by the way, we live in Houston, Texas!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My parents and I stayed in a triple at this hotel for two days and two nights. The staff was incredibly welcoming and friendly, and extremely hospitable.

The rooms are incredibly clean, and they are also quite large and well-lit. Also, each room has air conditioning that you control, allowing one to set their own preferred climate. Having come from a hotel in Rome that randomly turned on the AC, this was a wonderful treat. The rooms also come equipped with tvs with cable, so if you want to stay in one night and watch some television, you can easily do so.

The hotel is conveniently located two blocks from the train station, and right across the street from the local bus station. Thus, although it is located on the outskirts of the city, it is very easy to get around Anguillara, and it is also easy to take the train to the other lake towns.

We ate at the hotel restaurant twice, and the food was delicious! The service was fantastic, as it is the same staff (which appears to all be family). Moreover, the hotel provides a tasty breakfast buffet as well.

I would definitely recommend Hotel Massimino to anyone wishing to have a relaxing stay on Lake Bracciano. The attention to detail, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the excellent service will guarantee you a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindayolid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2009

If you are looking for great hospitality, amazing food, and exceptional service, when you think of the traditional old world style Italian hospitality, look no further than Hotel Massimino is your place. Its safe- great for kids, its quiet, its clean, well kept, its well priced, and very convenient too. Since Ive been iving in New York, I often have to travel on behalf of my firm, and have stayed at many nice upscale hotels around the world, where I have been spoiled and enjoyed great service. But Ive never been in a hotel where Ive been treated as family, where with the standards of the hotel being traditional and comfortable 3 star, have I had staff go out of their way and be as caring, thoughtful, and thorough as if I was family. Its a 3 start hotel with 10 star service, with increases the stars in my opinion. You are greeted from the beginning with a smile, and after that you are family with them. For us Ottavio Catarci was especially friendly and helpful, but everyone was great. From late night phone calls, to help retreiving lost luggage, to helping a family member to get medical help, to helping with small items too. Hotels everywhere should learn a few tips from this hotel, and it seems like the hotel enjoys many regulars as well. And the restaurant is amazing, with friendly service as well. Especially the melt in your mouth gnocchi, Ive never tasted a better gnocchi while in New York, traveling, or living in Northern Italy. It might be better than my Italian grandma's, and she was known to be an great cook. The hotel is also conveniently located, its close to Rome, there is a train station less than a mile away that departs from Fiumicino and Rome, while being close enough to visit the Lazio country side, Tivoli, and Etruscan sites. Even if you are passing through, its worth to stop by this charming hotel for lunch or dinner, and visit the near by towns of Anguillara Sabazia. I guarantee you wont be disappointed. and if you happen to forget your passport at the Hotel, the staff is prompt at fully taking care of and expediting it immediately to your next destination in Italy. Even on a Saturday, now thats service!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlineB35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights and would definitely recommend staying here. The staff are extremely nice and helpful. We ate lunch and dinner there and both meals were excellent ,prepared from fresh ingredients. The rooms are generous in size but basic. The only criticism I would have is not of the hotel itself but of the transport system in Anguillara. There is no bus service after 9.30pm from Anguillara village back to the hotel. Furthermore, there is no taxi service in the town either.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSheane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anguillara Sabazia
2.3 mi away
Country Relais I Due Laghi
Country Relais I Due Laghi
#3 of 5 in Anguillara Sabazia
103 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Clementina SPA & Resort
6.8 mi away
Alfredo Hotel
Alfredo Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bracciano
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante da Vittorio
Albergo Ristorante da Vittorio
#2 of 5 in Anguillara Sabazia
9 reviews
9.1 mi away
Villa Clodia
Villa Clodia
#1 of 1 in Manziana
83 reviews
6.3 mi away
Albergo della Posta
Albergo della Posta
#3 of 5 in Bracciano
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Massimino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimino

Property: Hotel Massimino
Address: 200 92 Via Anguillarese 94 | vicino stazione ferroviaria Anguillara Sabazia, 00061 Anguillara Sabazia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Anguillara Sabazia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anguillara Sabazia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massimino 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Massimino has 24 recently restored rooms. Provided with every comforts: bathroom and hairdryer, satellite link up tv color with 6 sky channels, telephone, air-conditioning. All type of accommodation available: single room, double room, triple room or suite for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Massimino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimino Hotel Anguillara Sabazia
Hotel Massimino Italy/Anguillara Sabazia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing