We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Greensborough
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macleod
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked a standard unit with queen size bed for 5 nights at this motel to catch up with family in Melbourne. It didn’t quite live up to the reviews I’d researched and we were disappointed with the standard of accommodation usually associated with a 3.1/2 star classification. The room contained few furnishings, no seating apart from one straight-backed chair, no drawer/storage space, just limited hanging space which also acted as storage for the miniature ironing board and iron and extra blanket. A very small bar fridge sat below the unit for the microwave and tea/coffee making. Despite these shortcomings, the room was clean and fairly spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine, but the towels were not up to the usual quality provided by a 3.1/2 star motel, they weren’t very absorbent and were smaller than the standard bathsheets usually provided. We didn’t use the dining room as we were out and about each day and evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Greensborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We appreciate guests taking the time to post reviews, it is disappointing to read you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We are reviewed annually by a certified independant body - AAA Tourism, who grade us 3.5 star, in order to achieve this rating we need to meet specific criteria set by AAA. Nevertheless we respect the fact that one is entitled to their own opinion and are sorry we did not meet your particular expectation this stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband my brother from Tassie and me stayed in a family room, and my sister and her husband also from Tassie stayed in a double room for 3 nights to be with another sister celebrating her 80th birthday. We found the rooms very comfortable, affordable, staff very helpfull and extremly friendly and it was close to family just around the corner.
As we live in Victoria we no hesitation of staying here again.
Thank you
Regards Teresa and Mike Rutherglen

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Greensborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Teresa and Mike,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased your stay was comfortable and appreciate your wonderful feedback. We hope to see again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here when we had a party in the next area - the rooms were clean and tidy (it's been refurbished at some point), and it was perfectly located for what we were after. The staff were lovely, and their communication before and after our stay was great. The train station was also about 1km up the road so we were able to easily get from there to the city on public transport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenfromsunnyqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Greensborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Jen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online. We are appreciative of your kind words and agree our location is fabulous with easy access to abundance of shopping and dining out options and yes we agree our great road networks and easy access to the train make our location superior to other motels. We have been enjoying further positive feedback on our great breakfasts and our new loyalty program Choice Privileges where guests can join for free and earn points towards free night stays at any of our sister motels both in Australia and overseas. You will have to join up next visit with us! Thanks again for a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

dissapointed.. $160 for a night, the only thing great about it was the spa bath. the rooms are cold and theres no doona just a sheet and blanket so in this weather its very chilly. i know its not the hosts fault but the other people staying there thought it was okay to be shouting and laughing, drinking and visiting one another at 1am, we had our door and windows knocked on, betwen the other guests and the road noise didnt get any sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Greensborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We regret learning about your experience by reading it online. We do have a night bell service available had we known other guests were being disruptive we would of assisted in this area, we have taken on board your comments and have improved our communication of the night bell service to avoid other guests experiencing this type of disturbance. We thank you for your kind comments on other aspects you enjoyed and are pleased to advise we provide electric blankets for guest comfort. We also have reverse heating and cooling throughout each room. Our motel operates a no party policy so we would like to think the noise disturbance you experienced was an isolated incident. We hope to see you again if you have the need to stay in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a day exploring in Melbourne and couldn't find a hotel room. So we googled nearby hotels and the Greensborough Motor Inn popped up. We rang and it was already 9 pm and even though checkin was closed the receptionist was kind and gave us directions. We weren't expecting much now to be honest for $120 a night but wow. The staff were so nice and welcoming even though it was now close to 10! Our room was amazing, the bed was comfortable and the shower was great. The space is quite relaxing and we are so happy we found such a great room with friendly service at such an affordable cost!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Greensborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Anna,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to ensure our motel is as friendly and helpful to our guests as possible. We appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I guess for $125 per night this is all you can really expect - rooms which are old and a bit run down, the coldest and noisiest bathroom I've ever been in and with the very busy road outside not easy to get any sleep. The bed was quite good but only came with one blanket, so unless you wanted to leave the heater on all night it was a bit chilly. The rooms were bare and had a very old and small television - this place needs a whole facelift to bring it up to what the average person would expect of a suburban motel. And a warning - if you are bringing a car, bring the smallest one you can find, you will find the smallest car spots in all of Australia here. Overall, its a bit grubby and cold.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Greensborough, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Mark,

It is disappointing to read you were not 100% satisfied with your stay here. We are continuing to improve our motel having recently joined with Choice Hotels under the Comfort Inn brand, to help us strive towards making our guests feel comfortable with their stay here. I am pleased to inform you we have upgraded all our televisions in all our suites and have spare blankets available in each room. We would like to welcome you back and demonstrate your last experience is not our usual standard. We appreciate your feedback as this gives us helpful information on how to improve our guests stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Hmm.......look to be honest, it is ok for a 2.5 star motel. But it is tired, run down and worn out. The beds are less than comfortable, the road extremely noisy that made it practically impossible to sleep and I was concerned to find a 'pest bomb' in the middle of the floor plus a can of mortein in the cupboard. Fortunately it was a brief stay for work purposes but next time, I will make the effort to drive back in to the city and stay in one of my old favourites (see my other reviews). I think the price is rather over-inflated given what you get in return and I have to question one or two of the other reviews that rated this a 5!!! Appears a little 'dodgy' to me. Sorry - I'm sure you try hard, but you need to refurbish and get doors that block out the terrible traffic noise that goes all night long.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay here - try and get a room as far down the back as possible, away from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyKafoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macleod
4.3 mi away
BreakFree Bell City
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,433 reviews
4.8 mi away
Eltham Gateway Hotel & Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Mantra Bell City
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Mill Park Motel
4.1 mi away
Quest Ivanhoe
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
325 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Mahoney's Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Greensborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Greensborough

Address: 245 Greensborough Rd, Macleod, Banyule, Victoria 3085, Australia (Formerly Greensborough Motor Inn)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Banyule > Macleod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macleod
Price Range: $108 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Greensborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Greensborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing