We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly staff, bungalows set in pretty, quiet gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villaggio Costa Alta
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a lovely, week long stay at costa alta. we stayed in the stone bungalow set in quiet gardens overlooking the sea. It was a lovely setting and easy to access the town of piano and ten minute walk from train to sorrento.
We arrived on 6th sept and found the resort to be quiet and the staff to be only too happy to help out, e.g giving us a lift to our bus to the airport and showing us where to wait without accepting any money for this.
The rooms were basic but very clean and all we needed on our holiday as we spent much of our time exploring or when
We were at the resort we sat in the gardens or by the big pool. Overall, excellent service and very good holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshies00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Manager at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi

thanks a lot for you opinion left on TA. We are improving day by day with our guest advice, in order to satisfy all guest's requests. We always try to give lift to our guest anytime we can, cause is partof our way of working. Hope to see you again ...

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very safe child friendly site. Close to sorrento with lots of amenities and great staff had a great holiday would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattyslatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at beginning of July 2012, having read the reviews of others we weren't expecting much in accommodation, it was a cabin with a covered deck. Good news was the air-con, which was desperately needed as they were in the middle of a (32C) heatwave! Clean and functional are the words I would use, main bedroom had TV and bunk beds in the same room as the cooker/sink/fridge. Swimming pool main feature of site,no open areas for games, I didn't get a view of the sea from the site as it is quite close to another camping site and there are some high fences dividing the two, also tall trees. There was a choice of beaches nearby, within walking distance(10 mins), but be aware of the cost of deck chairs and sun lounger rental. We opted for bed/breakfast, the breakfast was plentiful if lacking in choice, the usual continental fare. We had a rented car allowing us to explore, going to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Ravello, Amalfi, all within reasonable travel time, although take care on the roads,The're mad drivers! The train station is about 10 mins walk away with shops a bit further. The owners of the site were extremely helpful and provided timetables for trains and ferry service to Capri. Student groups tend to use this site a lot and can be a bit noisy and hog the pool when returning from their daily trips, so just relax when they are away!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Location is good for visiting sorrento, Capri and the amalfi coast plenty of place to eat near buy nice pool area and great views if you get the villas around the back and the staff are nice . Thats the good points but the accommodation was very poor kitchen really poor dishes dirty was told it was a hotel when i booked it and i was booking an appartment its definetly not a 4 star Its a lot smaller than it looks online and the spa that it says it has is not even close by nor are there any sports fields that it also says it has but the beach is in walking distance and is nice

Room Tip: if you are a couple ask for rooms around the back they have great views out to sea and a lovely gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisam445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was the second Hotel booked on-line before leaving the UK. There was a choice of accommodaton, a bungalow or a chalet. As the price of the chalet was higher than the bungalow I assumed it would be slightly superior accommodation especially as it was a 4* Hotel?
On a positive note, the directions and signposting to reach the place were very good, although the description of just outside Sorrento was more than a little exaggerated. The overall appearance of the resort was good, but as soon as we were shown to our Chalet we realised that this was not what we expected for 4*. Our chalet was at the end of a row, in a dark little corner. The brochure really does exaggerate the facilities, as the accommodation was extremely basic. We had to ask for towels as none were provided, the swimming pool was good, although there was no information at all in the chalet relating to meal times, pool times etc, or the fact that swimming caps had to be worn in the pool, which could of course be purchased in reception. The breakfast was very basic, and another couple we spoke to told us to make sure we were there before 9am as otherwise you would be severely frowned upon.
We compensated for this accommodation by spending a great evening in Sorrento town re-visiting places seen on other trips there,and sitting in the main Piazza, watching the world go by while enjoying great Italian food.
We had planned to perhaps stay at this resort for another night but decided that one night was more than enough so onward to our next destination.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

A small cabin with two bedrooms and bath. Nice pool on the property. A good breakfast in the morning. What really made it special was the staff. Very nice and helpful people.
I would go back any time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnaStromberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our cabin was ok - bed comfortable, air conditioned, table and chairs outside to eat at, though no chairs inside despite there being a TV. However it didn't smell great, and the shower was rather dingy and barely room to move in the bathroom. But the worst part was that our cabin was right next to the swimming pool so at night from about 10pm until after midnight our bed was just a few metres away from the loudspeakers which were blasting out karaoke and (generally bad) music. Whilst this is ok if all you are planning to do all day is lounge by the pool, it was not good when we wanted to get up early to go touring. Also we were anyway woken before 7 every day by the bins being emptied directly behind our cabin, and something being cleaned with water sprays. Few positives - nice pool, 10 minute walk from Piano di Sorrento train station, nice view point over port nearby, owner picked us up from the centre of Piano when we arrived. I think we were particularly unlucky with the position of our cabin, but I wouldn't recommend this place unless you are a family (preferably Italian so you understand all the late night entertainment!) planning to spend all day by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin far from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
1 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#14 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
592 reviews
1 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
30 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel O Sole Mio
Hotel O Sole Mio
#22 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
64 reviews
2 mi away
Residence L'Incanto
Residence L'Incanto
#6 of 17 in Piano di Sorrento
74 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Maresca
Villa Maresca
#1 of 27 in Piano di Sorrento
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Costa Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Costa Alta

Address: Via Madonna di Roselle 20/A, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $62 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Costa Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moderns and comfortables bungalows in stone are ready to give hospitality to customers with 2/6 bedden rooms.The structures are equipped with shower, wc, small kitchen (included corckery and cutlery), Refrigerator. In all the bungalows there is air conditioning.The village is far from the city traffic, on a flat platform on the sea.In the centre of the village there is the swimming pool (10x25 mt.) Open from the end of May to the begin of october.Piano di Sorrento is a quiet place but offer a simple acces to cultural and fun places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villaggio Costa Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Costa Alta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing