We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, ok for a pool holiday but not much more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villaggio Costa Alta
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our cabin was ok - bed comfortable, air conditioned, table and chairs outside to eat at, though no chairs inside despite there being a TV. However it didn't smell great, and the shower was rather dingy and barely room to move in the bathroom. But the worst part was that our cabin was right next to the swimming pool so at night from about 10pm until after midnight our bed was just a few metres away from the loudspeakers which were blasting out karaoke and (generally bad) music. Whilst this is ok if all you are planning to do all day is lounge by the pool, it was not good when we wanted to get up early to go touring. Also we were anyway woken before 7 every day by the bins being emptied directly behind our cabin, and something being cleaned with water sprays. Few positives - nice pool, 10 minute walk from Piano di Sorrento train station, nice view point over port nearby, owner picked us up from the centre of Piano when we arrived. I think we were particularly unlucky with the position of our cabin, but I wouldn't recommend this place unless you are a family (preferably Italian so you understand all the late night entertainment!) planning to spend all day by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin far from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia26_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 288 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

We've had another break at Costa Alta, this time for 10 days. The are really the most lovely, friendly & genuine people. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the surroundings to the bungalows is stunning.

Its a great place to base your self if you are looking to be independent & want to get into the more genuine side of Italian life. Station is a 15 min walk but its not a problem, there is also the most fantastic pizzeria across the road that is excellent value for money.
There is a great restaurant on site that offers excellent but basic choice freshly prepared & served.

One thing to be aware of is that you do get a lot of teenage groups - we had 2 whilst we were there. One was very well controlled and organised, the other who were 18/19yr old German students were very loud & inconsiderate - I had to tell them to move from the back of our apartment on 2 separate occasions (late at night once it was 4:00a.m.) and their lecturers really didn't care about the impact they had on anyone else. The night staff do deal with any complaints but it is best to be aware.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julesy82000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We've just come back from a week at Costa Alta. We had 2 appartments for us and the size was amazing - my mum & dad had a 2 bedroom, myself & my 15yr old nephew had a huge one bed, that could sleep up to 6. The entrance is down a narrow lane that has fig trees over hanging and the chalets we had were in lush greenery and we had olive trees growing outside; the view from the rear of the property was incredible. I have to say that the staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. Costa Alta is family run and everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The pool area is beautiful, full size and well maintained with lots of space to accommodate everyone. Its about a 15 minute walk to the train station to take the Circumvesuvia and tickets are valid for 24hours. Will definately stay at Costa Alta again and would recommend it to every one who likes their independence.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julesy82000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

If you're considering staying here do yourself a favour and book somewhere else.

We booked based on the reviews on tripadvisor, which is normally fairly reliable, but I cannot understand how anyone with any sense of dignity, and over the age of 16, could like this place.

We arrived and were shown to our shed, which smelt of mildew and was cornered on all sides by other sheds full of Italian families. To give an idea of space, our outside table was about one metre from the table of the adjoining shed.

We had a bedroom with a double bed, but the living room housed a bunk bed and a single bed.

The swimming pool could have been nice, but for some unknown and probably startling reason there was a DJ who played bad music VERY loudly for the whole time we were there. He would occasionally sing along to it.

We retired to a nearby bar for drinks and food. On return we heard the birdy song (in Italian) being played at deafening levels. This was around 11pm and the noise continued until around midnight.

The generator noise, barking dogs, sounds of urination and cistern refills added to our discomfort.

We could not let this be our holiday and left the next day, spending several great nights at real 4 star hotels.

We returned in passing and the Italian families had been replaced by a coach load of German teenagers playing techno music at club-levels in their sheds. We saw them fighting each other with brooms.

I presume the 4 star rating of Costa alta is self-certified.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
5  Thank chungwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Stayed with a group and had a great time. Staff very helpful and accomodating, food good and fantastic large pool with room for all. We liked the sitting areas outside the chalets- very social for groups.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed here for one week. Piano di Sorrento is about 4km from Sorrento proper. It is in a lovely spot that overlooks the water. The cabins are OK although we had noisy neighbours that kept us up until 2am in the morning. Beds were uncomfortable. Cabins are not cleaned daily. The family that run the place are really lovely and Guy on reception was extremely helpful with any request. Pool is really nice. Meals in restaurant were good. There is a supermarket just up the road and you can pay for wifi. Restaurants nearby aren't that great. We were able to get a great rate for the week.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Beautiful and Run by Wonderful Aiello Family with Friendly Staff
Rooms are clean and a Huge Swimming Pool and Costa Alta Restaurant Food was Delicious excellent value for accommodation excellent location as base in sorrento nice walking distance to the center of Piano Di Sorrento for Restaurants and Shopping

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedyterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
1 mi away
Hotel Club Sorrento
Hotel Club Sorrento
#14 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
592 reviews
1 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
30 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel O Sole Mio
Hotel O Sole Mio
#22 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
64 reviews
2 mi away
Residence L'Incanto
Residence L'Incanto
#6 of 17 in Piano di Sorrento
74 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Maresca
Villa Maresca
#2 of 27 in Piano di Sorrento
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Costa Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Costa Alta

Address: Via Madonna di Roselle 20/A, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $62 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Costa Alta 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moderns and comfortables bungalows in stone are ready to give hospitality to customers with 2/6 bedden rooms.The structures are equipped with shower, wc, small kitchen (included corckery and cutlery), Refrigerator. In all the bungalows there is air conditioning.The village is far from the city traffic, on a flat platform on the sea.In the centre of the village there is the swimming pool (10x25 mt.) Open from the end of May to the begin of october.Piano di Sorrento is a quiet place but offer a simple acces to cultural and fun places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villaggio Costa Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Costa Alta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing