We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful location; nice but not great hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Klein Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Klein Wien
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful location; nice but not great hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here with a high school group on our tour of Italy and Greece in June, 2013. Be mindful, as noted in some other reviews, of the check-in. Reception is on the 5th floor; you need to speak into an intercom in the foyer; beware the small step that leads into the darkened corridor to the lift: I did not see the step and fell flat on my face (resulting in a broken leg...my fault, sure, but just be careful when you step back from the intercom). Staff are very friendly; food is good enough, but nothing fantastic. The dining room has beautiful views of the sea and many rooms have lovely views over the water as well. It's a steep walk down to the beach below; however, our students were happy to walk down and splash around in the water. The hotel is centrally located; there was a street market nearby whilst we were there and the group wandered off to explore very happily. As some other reviews have suggested, this does seem to have a hostel feel to it; however, perhaps this is only during high season. There seemed to be other school groups there, which might put off some. However, our students were happy, and it was quiet at night - so it's certainly not squalid or unpleasant in any way. Perhaps the location is its best quality; the views are splendid. A good hotel for a budget stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    70
    22
    14
    27
See reviews for
50
69
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Klein Wien three times in the past year. Every time I have been met with a friendly face and a warm welcome. As a single female traveller they have always placed my room in a quiet safe part of the hotel. The food is traditional italian and always served with a smile. It is never anything but delicious.The waiters will even advise you how to cook each dish when you get back home. The staff speak fantastic English and are helpful in any matter I have ever saught help on. The rooms have always been spacious with wonderful view (unlike some hotels whereby a single room has been no bigger than a broom cupboard and in the worst part of the hotel!) Every room has been clean with air conditioning and en suite. The roof top solarium offers a view to Capri and Vesuvius but with a lovely cooling breeze. The views are spectacular over the bay of Naples with the beach just a few mins walk away. Local people congregate on the pavement outside each night to watch the spectacular sunset over Capri, it is quite breathtaking. The train station to Sorrento and Naples is a ten minute walk away. There is an excellent traditional market every Monday in the next street. If you want to sample an authentic Italian hotel with genuine hospitality which used by many regular Italians again and again then the Hotel Klein Wien is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on the 5th Floor as this is flat and accessible using t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline9971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is well located with a beautiful view of the sea. Service was good and quick.

Dinner was good and the portions were enough.

The only hiccup is that the lobby is located on the 5th floor leaving the entrance not surveyed. It also seemed that this was more a hostel rather than a hotel.

WiFi was free on the lobby (it was full of teenagers because of this).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfield, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and we were really unhappy with your stay.
Firstly, the shower screen and the shower head were filthy. Plus there was no soap dish in the shower which made washing difficult. Also, the water was cold.

Secondly, the tv did not work although Sky TV was advertised in the front door.

Thirdly, security was an issue as he balcony door did no close properly and the front door had of joys signs of being recently forced open and had not been repaired.

Fourthly, the air conditioning leaked directly onto the bed which made the bed very damp.

Positive points included - average food, entertainment offered (although it was a Saturday night and secure parking. Although you had to pay and it was a 2min walk from the hotel.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first time abroad and on a field trip to another country, the service was very good as well as the hospitality. The people who work in the hotel spoke very good English as most of us British students spoke very little Italian.The food was absolutely delicious,The rooms had air conditioning and TV, the maids cleaned the rooms daily.the view from the window and the roof top was amazing the local area (streets) were very clean, there were a few supermarkets and ice cream parer's with-in walking distance,you got the view of the sea from outside the hotel, just around the corner theirs a .beach football/soccer,it was very hot from about 7 am all day long. we went to Pompeii, Capri, and Mt Vesuvius." I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone if they were to go to Naples, and i would definitely go there again :).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was my first time as a teacher from a secondary school in Cheltenham, to take a group of students (33 students and 5 staff) on a fieldtrip abroad. We went here to enjoy the wonderful sights (Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius) & landscapes (Capri island) that the bay of Naples has to offer. From the first moment we arrived in hotel Klein Win, to the moment we departed, there service, hospitality and attitude was first class. The accommodation was clean, food tasty, staff excellent, and the owners amazing. They made our group stay enjoyable and effortless. The views from the roof top terrace and balconies are perfect. This hotel can cater for all groups of people, and I am already planning a trip back in 2015. This is a truly run family business that puts its customers first who genuinely care about you. Grazie mille!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had the most gorgeous view out to sea from my room as well as the restaurant area. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff and owner who were really welcoming. Rooms are a bit basic but spotlessly clean. Besides with lovely views and a quick train ride into Sorrento you don't pay much attention to how much furniture there is!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ribby34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mar Hotel Alimuri
Mar Hotel Alimuri
#1 of 7 in Meta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#9 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Antico Casale Russo
Antico Casale Russo
#3 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klein Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klein Wien

Property: Hotel Klein Wien
Address: Via Ripa di Cassano 55, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klein Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea from the best panoramic point of the Sorrentine Penninsula. From the terraces of our hotel your eyes can freely roam the numerous beauties of the Gulf. The Klein Wein Hotel offers rooms with large terraces or private balconies which overlook the sea or the famous Sorrentine Orangeries. The cuisine is typically Italian. The Hotel also has a large garage, lift and solarium. Easy access to the only sandy beach in the area. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Klein Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing