We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel plus a Great Staff = A Great Time”
Review of Hotel Soleluna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Soleluna
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Reviewed September 18, 2012

In my search for an Italian Cooking School, I had the fortune to find Mama Camilla located in the Hotel Soleluna. The hotel was located in a local neighborhood and was less than 10 minutes from center of the city or train station and it was just around the corner from beach access. The hotel is located on the second floor of a small restaurant and cafe, both which were very busy due to the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. Upon our arrival we were met by Chef and his daughter who immediately welcomed us to our home for the next week. The entire staff at the hotel was welcoming and we were greeted by name through out our stay which made us feel more like we were staying with friends and not guest of a hotel. Our room was bright and large and we had a view of of the bay and Naples on a clear day, we could ask for nothing more. The breakfast choices were bountiful and offered a variety each morning, my favorites were the Caprese Salads and wonderful breads and pastries that were class projects from the cooking school students.

The cooking school was wonderful, we took the Camilla curriculum which consisted of 8 classes, 6 afternoon and 2 mid day classes. Each class consisted of preparing a four course meal under the artful direction of the Chef Longo and Chef Palmara. The school also has interns from various cooking schools around the world assisting in the preparation of the evening meal. Even if you do not have the opportunity to take a class, make sure you stop by for dinner; they offer outstanding food at a value price. I would highly recommend the Hotel Soleluna and look forward to hopefully returning one day, not only for the hotel but more cooking lessons.

The hospitality shown by all members of the staff made our stay enjoyable and created a lifetime of memories for my travel companions and myself.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have high ceilings and a view to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here in August 2011. Great place! The room we had was spacious and the staff very helpful. Recommended us a great tour to Capri. The restaurant downstairs had amazing pizza, and it was fun to see lots of locals there, not getting much of a touristy vibe. We never took the bus to Sorrento, it was confusing on how to buy a ticket and they didn't come very frequently. But the train was super convenient, but was a bit of a walk with our luggage. The cost for our room was much more affordable than places in Sorrento. We liked it there so much we wanted to stay an extra day but unfortunately they had no availability but they put us up in one of their rentals, which we weren't too happy with (didn't seem very secure, mosquitos, and no fan!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's not like most hotels, It seems to be family run and slightly casual in greeting guests but open and friendly. The rooms were very pleasant as were the staff. They were very helpful in information and a guy that is around most days does trips that may be of interest. The location of the hotel is problematic. But there are beaches with recliners and sun-shades for hire. The sand is the dark volcanic variety. There is a little row of shops with a nice gelateria and up the road a villa worth a look. Some of the views are spectacular and the way people have built around the coast is staggering.

Though It is a fair drag to the station a character who sells the tickets is very helpful. We arrived from Naples on the circumvesuviana (a cheap way to travel) and used that railway to visit Sorrento, Pompeii, Vesuvius and took a bus from Sorrento to Amalfi, the cathedral and square is astonishing.

though the hotel seems isolated and in an inconvenient location it is actually easy to visit some not to be missed sights including an amazing lightening storm.

The food at the hotel was very good - made by the cookery school - about 18 euro per person the restaurant pizzeria next door was also very good with a delicious dry sparkling red wine for 5 euro a bottle, suits me.

We enjoyed our 5 day stay enormously and would recommend the hotel as a quiet off the beaten track kinda place.

Just be aware the location is not at first appearances very inviting but you can swim or lie in the sun for 6 euro a day at the camping ground opposite or go to the beach or visit historic Italy. Not bad all in all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andytravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in a quad room with no complaints aside from no elevator. But not to worry got help getting the luggage up from staff.

The Breakfast was one of the best of our long europe vacation. Best ingredients used and you can taste the quality. Cappachino if you ask.

Next door was an amazing resturant with fantastic food. Very inexpensive and large portions. My personal favorite was the zuccini flower stuffed with cheese then dripped in batter and fried.

Also grocery store with affordable snacks/water/wine across street. But our favorite was the fruit market that sold homemade wine for about 2E in unmarked bottles. We would buy fruit, get cheese and have a snack at night with local wine.

You can walk to the beach, then for 1E each you can take the white van that will deliver you directly to the hotel. We also drove the almalfi coast as we had a car which was fun and exciting but parking is expensive. Only for the good brave drivers! At the hotel we paid 5E per day to park at the camping site across street in secure gate.

Room Tip: Best Beach is in Maiori right in town. Parking is 3E hour Almafi beach is not as nice and Parking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

On the plus side, the room was a good size and fairly clean. Now for the negatives; staff were a little evasive and hard to get hold of. When we first walked in we waited about 45mins before anyone actually appeared to greet us. The hotel location is awful, there is not much around in terms of shops or restaurants at all and although we had a car it was still a problem. The site also seems to be a local hang about for the teenagers and we found it was constantly very noisy late into the night with bikes and teenagers making noise. On the plus side, there is a beautiful restaurant below which is very fresh and well run. It is very well respected but quite small and limited in the menu. You also have to book and decide on your food at least 24hours in advance. Parking was also such a nightmare and incredibly expensive and not very secure. The room itself was fairly large but incredibly basic and very over priced. Would not really recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is a jewel if you're visiting the Almalfi Coast. There are very few tourists in this area and it's very easy to get anywhere you want in the area. The food downstairs at the restaurant was fantastic; some of the best we've had in all of Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked a double room with air con, an orthopaedic bed, wifi and a minibar. When we arrived we were shown to a room that had no room number (109) and was behind a curtain off the reception, overlooking the main internal courtyard. That wasn’t the problem per se- it was the fact it didn’t have air con, wifi or a fridge!
Once we complained and were shown to the room we believe we had actually reserved, things were fine, but it didn’t start our holiday on a good footing.
We cannot comment on the food as we refused to pay anymore at the hotel than we had to, and ate at the excellent and cheap pizza restaurant next door.

The location is excellent- 10 min to the train station and a great service between Napoli and Sorrento. The piazza in Piano is buzzing and sells excellent gelato.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, despite the request of room change. We just wish that they didn’t try to scam us by giving us an inferior room at the beginning.

Room Tip: Avoid room 109!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 353lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
263 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Antico Casale Russo
Antico Casale Russo
#3 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
122 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#11 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soleluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleluna

Address: Via Madonna di Roselle 29, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $69 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soleluna 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Soleluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing