We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel overlooking Sorrento in the hills”
Review of Hotel Royal Hills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Royal Hills
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights for a family wedding in June 2013. We had a wonderful time and can honestly say we found staff friendly and helpful, the food is very good and the rooms spotlessly clean. I would love to return to it and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at side away from the road quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for 14 nights and had a wonderful time. Antonino and staff really deserve praise and credit for their unfailing desire to please with nothing being to much trouble. This hotel is spotlessly clean: floor, walls, upholstery, bedding, towels, fixtures and fittings. As an experienced traveler (and I am very well traveled) I can assure you that you cannot have any more for less, indeed I thought the hotel was something of a bargain. The food was really very good with the Chateaubriand (yes - the Irony, our favourite dish wasn't of Italian origin) being a particular highlight; though you should not infer that this is high end cuisine, it's not, but it is very good value and commensurate with excellent Italian restaurants.
The Hotel is well placed high above Sorrento and is ideal as a base from which you can explore both sides of the peninsula, the only caveat being the need of a car or a powerful scooter and the cojones to drive here - for the Brit used to polite considerate driving, the experience will have your eyes wide open, it is truly terrifying. My mother commented that she had not heard me swear so much and would characterise the Neapolitan driver's as recklessly impatient.
So would I recommend this hotel - yes without reservation, Of course the onus is on you to pin down what you want. If it's a pool, glitz, boutiques and bar's on the doorstep then perhaps this hotel isn't for you - for us it turned out to be a fine choice.

Room Tip: The best rooms are probably second floor, either facing you or on the left side as you look at the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank senca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently renovated & under new management, this is like home from home, spotlessly clean & a real gem overlooking the Sorrento coast.We chose this hotel as only 7 kms from Positano without the 100s of steps & expensive daily parking. Regular bus service from outside the hotel taking only 10 minutes to the main Positano Square without the tiring climbing, hair pin bends & parking. Looking forward to returning but feel will have to book well in advance as this hotel is bound to get re rated & full in Season, once it becomes known. On Saturday nights all the locals come for Latino American/Tango Dance

Room Tip: Higher you go, better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonDellLondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRManagerCSP, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Royal Hills, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your detailed review!

We hope to have soon many guests as you, that can appreciate our services and the warmth we'd like to transmit to make you feel as "home from home" .
We are happy you had a wonderfull holiday on the Amalfi Coast and will be glad to welcome you and your family again for a relaxing stay in the area.

Thank you so much
Antonino and the complete staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Federico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mechi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank frachecco2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Annarita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#3 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
308 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
366 reviews
1 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#7 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antico Casale Russo
Antico Casale Russo
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Hills

Address: Via Meta Amalfi 84, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy (Formerly Hotel Colli San Pietro)
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $61 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Hills is located on the hills surrounding the town of Sorrento, along the way to Positano, just a few steps away from one of the most renowned Italian UNESCO heritage sites: the Amalfi Coast. We are precisely midway between Positano, the Amalfi coast pearl, and Sorrento, the sunny harbor town from where you can board the ferry or hydrofoil towards the islands of Capri and Ischia.Completely refurbished and elegantly furnished, this small family run Hotel offers the possibility of a relaxing stay, out of the traffic of the coastal towns and fully immersed in the green hills of the Sorrento peninsula. From the solarium-roof terrace you can overlook the two gulfs: southwards, towards the open sea of the Gulf of Salerno and westwards towards the Gulf of Naples, with the imposing profile of the Vesuvius.The 25 rooms of the hotel are fitted with the main comforts: Air Conditioning and heating, LCD TV, safe and en-suite bathroom with shower. The Hotel features a Bar service with an open air garden and a Restaurant with an excellent local cuisine made by genuine produces.This friendly Hotel is located in front of the bus station on the line between Meta and Amalfi by which you can easily reach all places of the Amalfi Coast and the Circumvesuviana Railway in direction of Pompei, Ercolano and Naples. If you love hiking you might enjoy starting your day directly out of the Hotel on the trails leading you on the Monti Lattari (Lattari Mountains).Furthermore, we offer a competent travel office within the hotel that can help you organizing and booking excursions, guides, transfers, events or night activities, boat trips and whatelse you would like to do or would like us to suggest you to do during your sunny holidays on the two gulfs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Royal Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing