We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five stars without the five star costs”
Review of Il Pozzo e il Mare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piano di Sorrento
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Pozzo e il Mare
Reviewed August 25, 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMEND. FIVE STARS. mario is awesome. of hosts i've had, mario one of the kindest, flexible understanding (even when i missed the last SITA bus back from positano, got stuck there, and thus missed my supposed 8am checkout the next day). my time is sorrento was so terrific i kept wanting to extend my stay and mario kept saying "no problem". he brought up the most AMAZING breakfast selections every day. WAY better than any typical continental i have ever seen.

the home is mediterranean style, lovely and the rooms are situated above the house so you have MAJOR privacy--granted the next room over was vacant, but it was super quiet nonetheless. cathedral ceilings, lovely balconade windows with double shutters (for sleeping in if you like), sea view from right outside the room, beautiful tile floors and a super cute tile bathroom (only thing is if there were several people you might run out of hot water unless it was turned down for the winter). ample heating and ac in the room. overall very spacious and comfortable.

15 minute walk downhill grade (though mario graciously offered to retrieve me) (but remember you have to walk back up eventually) from the piano train station (circumvesuviana) and local (EAV) bus stops very near by. ONLY 5 MINUTE WALK to the seacliff. 2 towns over and 5 minute train ride from sorrento so you miss all the of the tourist trap congestion. SITA bus in centro to get to the amalfi coast and even solerno if you want to do the long tour versus the ferry or hydroboat.

THE PHOTOS ARE VERY REPRESENTATIVE, MARIO IS A GREAT GUY TOO!

i would totally stay here again, i recommend for you to book and enjoy...

Room Tip: 2 rooms to choose from 1 with 2 single beds, less view 1 with one double or queeen bed, more view...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EUwunderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
There are newer reviews for Il Pozzo e il Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Piano di Sorrento is a lovely little town. The B&B is in a VERY quiet part of town - make sure to ask/print a detailed map before you arrive otherwise you will have a bit of a hard time finding the place. If you want something more lively, this is not the place for you - I like quieter places, so it worked for me. About 15 - 20 minute walk to the train station and bit further for a bus. Sorrento 2 stops away on train.

Mario has two rooms available for guests, nice and big. Nice large shared bathroom. Each room has a bar fridge and aircon as well as fan. There is a kettle, but no coffee or tea.

There is a narrow street beneath the window, so no cars, but PLENTY of scooters. SO if you are a light sleeper, you wont be able to leave the windows open and will need earplugs as well.

Breakfast includes juice, cereal, fruit and some pastries, but no coffee.

Mario works, so is unavailable most of the time, but is happy for you to call him if you need assistance. Wi-fi signal was not super strong, but worked well on and off.

He has a lovely cat and small dog, but they are no bother and do not come into the rooms. Very friendly guy and he has some maps of the area for you.

A comment on Airbnb that I booked this through: The price of the room was very good, but after a 22 Euro booking fee, it pushed up the price with over 5 Euro per evening. I have found that many places on Airbnb are also listed under other websites and there are no additional fees. Airbnb's admin and communication is very good though.

Room Tip: I had the room with single beds, so no access to balcony ( or otherwise I just did not know how to g...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I found the stay very enjoyable. The rooms are nicely renovated, elegantly furnished and clean. The owners rents two guest rooms upstairs of his own home, a twin and a double. The two rooms share a bathroom, which is a also spotless and newly renovated & clean. Do note that there is no air condition. Anyhow the rooms didn't seem to get too hot and there was a big fan provided. The double we stayed in with my husband had a private balcony/terrace overlooking the village and even some sea view. In case you don't travel by car, be prepared to walk a bit to the Circumvesuviana train station or the bus stop to the center of the town of Piano. There are bus stops right nearby as well, but the service is not that frequent. This place was our peaceful home base for a week as we visited Sorrento, Naples, Pompeii, the Amalfi coast towns and Capri.

Room Tip: In case you like to have a balcony, ask for the double room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kameleontti_fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consuelita14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilpozzoeilmare, Proprietario at Il Pozzo e il Mare, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laudonico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piano di Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Maresca
Villa Maresca
#2 of 27 in Piano di Sorrento
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klein Wien
Hotel Klein Wien
#4 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Costa Alta
Villaggio Costa Alta
#14 of 17 in Piano di Sorrento
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cosmomare
Hotel Cosmomare
#2 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Pozzo e il Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pozzo e il Mare

Address: Via San Giovanni 33, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $24 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Piano di Sorrento, in the heart of the Sorrento Peninsula, collected from the Gulf of Naples and the Gulf of Salerno, lies our hotel: "The Pit and the Sea", a quiet bed and breakfast, housed in a converted nineteenth century villa, where you will find hospitality and cordiality. Piano di Sorrento is a natural terrace overlooking the sea offering a wide panorama from Vesuvius to Sorrento, passing, on a clear day, the islands of the Gulf. In an area rich in historical and natural resources, a few steps from the fishing village Marina di Cassano, conveniently located offers everything that can make unforgettable your holiday or weekend in Amalfi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing