We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Antico Parco del Principe
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I never before stayed in such a poor hotel. The images on the webpage do not come any close to what the hotel looks like. You should know that the hotel has only 9 rooms in the main building, from which 3 could not be used due to water damages.
Therefore, we had to stay in a small one bedroom apartment, 0,5km away from the hotel, without having towels etc.
They told us there would be a shuttle bus to the main building. However, whenever we wanted to take it, the driver was not available. In the end we had to find out that it was not worth going to the breakfast anyway, as you'd only get one croissant per person - no breakfast buffet, nothing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

The pictures that are available on web site are NOT pictures of this hotel but of a home residence that has the same name and is near by. Also the swimming pool is NOT part of this hotel, so if you want a swim, forget it! Rooms are clean, but the service is terrible, very unhelpful receptionist who will not give any information or help with problems! Also, forget about breakfast, we stayed 10 days and got ONE croissant each every day plus some prepacked toast with butter and jam. That was it. Sometimes water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmichLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We booked this hotel after being misled by the lovely photo's of the place, we arrived in Sorrentto & the taxi driver took us to the Parco Del Principe which looked really nice despite the swimming pool being empty & the weather was boiling, we were over the moon when the receptionist told us this was'nt our hotel as we were all looking forward to a dip in the pool as it was around 30 degrees, until we arrived at Antico Parco del Principe ( our correct hotel ). The receptionist made Basil Fawlty look friendly ( although she was much prettier than Basil ) when my wife asked for a drink from the bar she was told by the receptionist/barmaid that she could'nt have 1 as she was far too busy, customer service really wasn't her strong point. The beautiful castle shown on the photo's was closed, the pool which looks fantastic on the photo's also had 1 missing ingredient ( water ) & the most annoying thing about this hotel is that there was no restaurant ( despite the huge fliers advertising 1 in the foyer & on the back of every door in the hotel rooms ) if you arrived in the evening after 10pm you had to starve until the next moning when you could enjoy the delights of Breakfast which was of the continental variety although the toast was pre toasted & packed into vacuum packed bags ( vile ). 1 plus point was the views which cannot be faulted. 25-30 Euro's for a taxi ride to Sorrentto, although is bus was much cheaper at around 2 Euro's. Sorrento itself is absolutely beautiful & I'd recommend it to anyone ( although very expensive ) but as for the hotel, nah!! I'd have to say book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StavrosNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We found this hotel on Bookings.com the pictures looked great but were very outdated. The place was extremely hard to find as we drove around Sorrento for 2 hours looking for it with miss guided directions from everyone. When we arrived the room seemed lovely but in 1 hour we found it to be infested with baby ants in our bed and all over. They gave us another room and it had no ants but you had to be an ant in order to get in and out . It was tinyer than a Cruise ship cabin room. The pool was way up the hill, you had to sit in the back of a truck to get taken there, they had no towels so we chose not to swim. I would have thought they could have told us that before we went there. Breakfast consisted of coffee , thin sliced white bread jand and plastic wrapped cheese. We were not at all impressed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank memmabaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

The hotel is perched on a cliff overlooking the Basy of Naples, with views towards Vesuvius and Naples. We booked a sea view room for 2 nights. It was spacious and comfortable (although the decor looked a bit old fashioned) and the balcony with superb sea views was splendid! Service in the hotel was good on the whole and the staff were pretty friendly. The grounds of the hotel are large, beautifully tended and very attractive and restful. They run along the cliff and so there are lovely views all along (actually a garden view room would be quite good). As the hotel is accessed along via a long path, it is very quiet. Surprisingly for a Sorrento hotel, the food in the restaurant is very good indeed - better than many of the restaurants in town actually. The main disadvantage is that it is rather far from town (about 30 minutes walk) and the courtesy coach is limited.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LondonBig_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

The 4 of us have just returned from a half term break here (mum, dad, 2 kids). We were booked into the Vicalvano Apartments, but on arrival we were offered an apartment in the castle instead. We happily accepted but it turned out to be a poisoned chalice as the weather turned bad and strong winds whistled through the huge, draughty, unheated living room. It had 2 bedrooms, one of which had the same draught problems, the kids room didn't however, and I slept in their room one night to escape the howling wind, rattling windows and creaking shutters. On the plus side the views were amazing, the wind having blown away the constant haze the bay of Naples appears to be shrouded in. The pool was large, very clean, had crystal clear water and was nestled in a secluded area on the hillside, and once the sunshine returned we couldn't fault it. The castle apartment is not for toddlers, however, because of some odd sliding doors about 2 ft high at floor level to let in light into the bedrooms from the rooms below, it is complicated to explain, but trust me if a toddler fell through to the room below they'd be seriously hurt. The Vicalvano Apartments were a little way up the hillside, we only saw them from the outside but they looked perfectly ok.

The property is not walking distance to anywhere of note, you would need a car. There is plenty of free parking. It was a good base as we were able to visit: Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Naples, Solfatara crater, Pompei and generally explore the Amalfi coast.

The castle grounds were nicely kept. There is a great walk along a pathway up the hill that takes you above the level of the castle where you can see the sea on both sides of the penisula and watch spectacular sunsets. To get there walk up to the vicalvano apartments and take the track to the right.

We had a great time.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calmdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Our room had incredible views. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. It was an average european breakfast. The shuttle would take us to the drop off and it is an easy walk to town. This hotel was a great value for the price considering the view of the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. The grounds of this hotel are landscaped so beautifully.

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank CincinnatiMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piano di Sorrento
1.7 mi away
Fiori d'Arancio
Fiori d'Arancio
#12 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
30 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro Azzurro
Tui Sensimar Grand Hotel Nastro ...
#1 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
1,857 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Hills
Hotel Royal Hills
#5 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Ripetta
La Ripetta
#8 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
365 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Principi
Hotel Parco dei Principi
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
1,042 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Soleluna
Hotel Soleluna
#6 of 12 in Piano di Sorrento
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Parco del Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Parco del Principe

Address: Via San Pietro 8, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range: $69 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Parco del Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antico Parco del Principe is situated on the Amalfi Coast, near the National Road 163, 4 km (2.5 miles) from Sorrento and 7 km (4.3 miles) from Positano. The 15 rooms have air-conditioning, Tv colour and refrigerator. They are different in colours, but all of them are refined. Guests of the hotel have free admittance in the swimming-pool, tennis and beach-volley courts, table tennis of the tourist complex nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Antico Parco del Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing